We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disgusting holiday”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Inglewood Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Torquay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Inglewood Hotel
Ranked #83 of 88 Hotels in Torquay
West Midlands
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Disgusting holiday”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

We booked in all good faith to take our two grandchildren away to Torquay for a few days and after telephoning the hotel and explaining what we wanted we accepted the reservation and sent our deposit. We were completely let down with the hotel and accommodation. The room was certainly not adequate and up to the standard we were expecting, very, very small and the bath had two big cracks filled with sealant (photo's to support this). We had to pay the remaining money on arrival before being shown the room (which was refunded). We had to hunt around Torquay for alternative accommodation to avoid disappointing our grandchildren. We are still owed our deposit of £180 which is still outstanding.

Room Tip: Make sure before you accept anywhere to check the rooms before paying any money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank The-cedars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    42
    30
    14
    21
See reviews for
24
55
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2011

...which should be no excuse for lack of cleanliness or attention to detail (e.g. really dirty lightpull cord in bathroom; dirty tea/coffee crockery in room; hairs in bath and basin; bedside light switch not working).
Additionally, we arrived to find our allocated room was still occupied.
Got moved to another room. It hadn't been properly cleaned so we told the manageress, who sent a cleaner up to re-do it. Unfortunately it still wasn't done properly, so we told the manageress again. Third time, still not done properly!
Breakfast ingredients were very poor quality and was all too hurriedly served.
We planned a four night stay, ended up staying at another hotel for two of the four and breakfasting elsewhere for three mornings - won't be back to the Inglewood!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank the_stalli0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Torquay hotels

lichfield
Level Contributor
53 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2011

stayed 2 nights was a nice hotel but its noe in need of makeover .our room on main road noise atrocious trafic and noise from kittchen all hours of the night.great location near town and beach and tor abby park .free entertainment happy hour nice ballroom but still needs attention .staff great bar prices not bad after happy hour food snacks expensive.open air swiming pool in adverts but not in use had to go to sister hotel next door and better to eat there as well 2 meals bottle house wine £20 .pity i bet it was a great place a few years ago

Room Tip: dont stay on road side make sure you face park at rear
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kalosLichfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abertillery, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2011

had a mini break at this hotel and found the overall experience very good will return again

Room Tip: above ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank albufeira003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2011

I was on my own and I thought I would be stuck in a corner and not have any one to talk to, I stayed for four days and enjoyed every minute.
The staff were all friendly and helpful and the other residents made me feel welcome.
Although i did not have much of a view from my room(not important anyway)it was warm ;clean and comfortable.The food was excellent breakfast and dinner agood variety which i am sure catered for everyones needs.
The hotel is in a good location just a few minutes to the front and buses.
Take no notice what others may say; at the Inglewood you wont be disappointed and i will most certainly come back agin.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deanna011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llanelli, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2011

We went on a coach trip to the Inglewood Hotel and stayed 4 nights. The room was very clean, sheets and towels were changed daily, entertainment every night and they have a beautiful veranda for guests to sit and soak up the sun with good views.
Food is very good, with a good menu choice and served to your table.
The staff in the restaurant are happy and helpful, nothing is too much trouble for them. My advice to anyone going to stay is to ASK the staff if you need anything. I asked for a hairdryer as I didn't bring mine and they found me one with no trouble at all.
For service and value, this hotel is very good. The staff make this hotel...the best ever. Thank you Inglewood Hotel staff, we will be back again and again.

Room Tip: if you find your food protions are small, just ask for more. Staff make you feel you are important t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llanelli
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2011

My partner and I spent 5 days there, the first time we had been to Torquay. We will definetly return to the Inglewood. All staff were polite, efficient, nothing to much rouble for them. Food was excellent, good choice, but keep away from the poached plaice served on Monday evenings. It's centrally located and near the sea front. Rooms were spotless, bedding and towels changed everyday.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank colinllanelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.2 mi away
The Cimon
The Cimon
#15 of 88 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#25 of 88 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,602 reviews
0.0 mi away
Marquis Hotel
Marquis Hotel
#39 of 88 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#22 of 88 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,049 reviews
0.6 mi away
Livermead House Hotel
Livermead House Hotel
#50 of 88 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#54 of 88 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inglewood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inglewood Hotel

Property: Inglewood Hotel
Address: Belgrave Road, Torquay TQ2 5HR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #83 of 88 Hotels in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 52
Also Known As:
Inglewood Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing