We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A big disappointment”
Review of Inglewood Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Torquay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Inglewood Hotel
Ranked #80 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Belfast
1 review
“A big disappointment”
Reviewed 1 September 2009

Location: Fair, but outside appearance is not inviting. It looks better from the rear, but run down.
Room: Our room,no.30, was a disaster. Very small, bare, no character. Overlooked main entrance. En suite:Extremely cramped, designed for midgets, strong smell of sewage all 6 nights.
Inside area: A rabbit-warren of corridors,ups and downs,would not be accessible for some older folk.
Food: A different story! Wonderful food, great variety, excellent restaurant staff. 5 stars.
Entertainment: Quite good.

  • Stayed August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    42
    30
    14
    21
See reviews for
24
55
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2009

My mum visited this dive 14 yrs ago with my father just before he died and she wanted to re-visit it for sentimental reasons. That is the ONLY reason why we didn't turn around and book elsewhere as soon as we went in.
I dont even know where to start! the place is filthy - just move the bedside cabinet away from the wall, its crawling behind there. You never hear a vacum cleaner swithed on, the restaurant stinks so bad that the clothes in our wardrobe all had to be washed as soon as we got home. There are no phones in the bedrooms, no room service, curtains are disgusting its just the most awful place to stay.
We spoke to several people who would definitely not return - just like ourselves however, we are at a loss as to who could possibly find this place to be ok. We have travelled the world, but are not by any means comparing this to say the Four Seasons, we are aware that it isn't in that league, but please just clean the place!! Even when people check out their old room isn't cleaned, they just change the bed and towels etc, they dont turn a vacum on so the new guests are walking on the dead skin and whatever else left behind by the previous guests!!! Eww
There is a premier inn around the corner facing the sea with a fab estaurat and guaranteed cleanliness at a reasoable rate ..... please dont stay at the inglewood!!!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank customerserviceagent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Torquay hotels

LondonHollydays
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2009

We were told when booking that the family room had a divider between the beds to separate the 2 children's bed to ours. When we got there all 4 beds were in a row. Shower didn't work. We asked for the cover to be removed from the outside pool so the children could go in it. They removed the cover but because the chemicals weren't right "due to the weather!!!" and you couldn't see the bottom we couldn't use it. Was told o go down to the sister hotel to use the inside pool. After complaining we were moved to the sister hotel Kistor hotel which was 100% better rooms, food and atmosphere were excellent and we had a lovely time.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonHollydays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leicester
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2009

Oh dear! This was probably a fantastic hotel - 50 years ago! Whilst the staff were friendly and very helpful and a credit to their employers, I am afraid that is the only good thing I can say about the place. We turned up on the offchance they had a vacancy and paid £66 for a double room and breakfast. The double room consisted of 2 single beds pushed together, one being higher than the other. The mattresses were hard and uncomfortable, the beds were made with sheets and blankets which had obviously seen better days, and the fascia of the furniture was peeling away. The tv only had 5 channels, none of which had been tuned in properly and the bathroom was small and not ventilated properly. A novelty to be provided with bars of soap as opposed to gels etc.! Breakfast was apalling - tiny plates with sub-standard produce and abysmal coffee. All in all an unfortunate overpriced disappointment!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeicesterFantasia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West - Midlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 August 2009

I have just returned from the Inglewood Hotel Torquay.The room was situated up on the third floor the lift only went to the second floor and we had to drag our suitcases up two flights of stairs. No porter to help us with our luggage both arriving and departing.)The room was small it was a fire exit .I thought that that was illegal. The fire door was in need of replacing and the window sills need a good clean. The carpet needed a good clean let alone a hoover! The counterpane over the bed smelt like old people who hadn't washed. It made me heave. The staff just were not interested in there guests. I had to ask for toilet paper for the loo down by the bar and she said she would arrange it but didn't put the paper in straight away. Whilst on about toilet paper it was cheap stuff.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonesee11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northampton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 August 2009

Like with the family from Potterspury a couple of days later we too booked a 3 day break at the Inglewood with our teenage daughter. On arrival the staff were keen to ask us to pay up the full balance immediatly. We were shown to a front bedroom opposite a nightclub. The room was shabby and grubby and the shower door was hanging off. We asked for another room in a quieter part of the hotel or for a transfer to the Kistor. We were then given the "dungeon" which was a basement room. I asked what was above this room which was the hotel bar and reception area. I accepted that the entertainment might go on til approx 11pm. Once this had finished we settled down only to be kept awake by the bar man walking up and down the bar. We heard every footstep and with this the ceiling creaked and the light fittings moving and creaking. By 1.30 my husband went to the bar and found just the bar man and 1 customer. He complained and was asked to take this up with the management.Once the bar closed we settled down again but then another nightmare occured. The hotels boiler system felt like it was rumbling within our room all night. This clicked on and off every 20 minutes and the endless rumbling continued for 5 minutes each time.Also the down pipe outside the window kept flushing through water which was also noisy. By morning we were all shattered and felt like we had been punched in our eyes through lack of sleep. We packed our bags and headed to make our complaint. The receptionist dismissed that there had been any previous complaints and more or less made us out to be liars. This made us angy and my husband asked if she would like to spend the night down there. She replied no. I kindly asked for a refund for the further 2 nights which we had no intention of using. I felt that we had a justified complaint. We were told that refunds are not given and to write to the manager. My daughter and I were so upset and my husband angry at the lack of customer service or help.We will be speaking and writing to the manager again. I would never recommend this Nightmare hotel to anyone. They say that the British seaside resorts are suffering during the recession at present but if there are any hotels ripping people off then you can see why. My regret is that i did not check this review site and see the comments duplicated 3 days before our arrival.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank allsaints_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
potterspury
1 review
Reviewed 14 August 2009

We were on a three day break and following a sleepness night at the Kistor (sister hotel) we transferred to the Inglewood in hope of a quite family room, we were given a lower ground room (Basement) which was dark and shabby and small, all we wanted was a good nights sleep and was assured this was a quiet room. This room was worst than our experience at the Kistor, the entertainment sounded like it was in our room, we were below reception with constant creeking floorboards, there was a large downpipe next to our window with constant flusing. at breakfast the noticed a number of people complaing about their rooms and the noise. After two nights with very little sleep we gave up and checked out, we explained why we were leaving, the response was nonplus and indifference. if you are looking for a tatty uncomfortable sleepness break these Hotels fit the bill

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank castlethorpe19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.1 mi away
Beverley Hotel
Beverley Hotel
#71 of 87 in Torquay
35 reviews
0.0 mi away
Marquis Hotel
Marquis Hotel
#38 of 87 in Torquay
349 reviews
0.1 mi away
Southbank Hotel
Southbank Hotel
#47 of 87 in Torquay
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Abbey Court Hotel
Abbey Court Hotel
#70 of 87 in Torquay
90 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#9 of 87 in Torquay
497 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#21 of 87 in Torquay
1,082 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inglewood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inglewood Hotel

Property: Inglewood Hotel
Address: Belgrave Road, Torquay TQ2 5HR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 52
Also Known As:
Inglewood Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing