We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Christmas Ever”
Review of Inglewood Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Torquay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Inglewood Hotel
Ranked #81 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Reviewed 26 January 2010

We stayed at the Inglewood over the Christmas period you just could not fault it. Great food and all top quality. Prize Bingo which I have to say I won one night and entertainment second to none. Sue the manager and all her staff were lovely. Going back in the spring.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sportscarno1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (145)
There are newer reviews for Inglewood Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

104 - 110 of 145 reviews

Reviewed 25 January 2010

There are a lot of bad reviews about this hotel - I think these are completely unfair as the hotel is clean, food is good and service is excellent. We had a great stay there

  • Stayed: January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lizprich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2010

Have just returned from the Inglewood having stayed 5 days. After reading the negative reviews was very pleasantly surprised to find the hotel to be very nice, clean rooms, good food and service excellent. I think we had very good value for the price. Anybody reading the bad reviews please look at the good as they far outweigh the bad
Mrs Claire Farrow Bridgend.

  • Stayed: January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lilyalys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2010

Fantastic New year break good entertainment good food and plenty of it.Will go again in spring when weather a bit warmer

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank odifluap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2009

This Hotel should not appear in the Torquay Tourist Guide. It is little more than a doss house. The first room we were placed in was a dark hovel and filthy. With dirty tissues and nail clipping. Plus a pair of nail sissors half hidden behind a cabinet. The dust lay in half inch layers. Two siigle beds with double size covers rolled up on the floor The bath room was a good place to grow penicillin or mushrooms. The seconed room was a little bit better. A childs nappy was found on the floor. The floor had not been cleaned after the last tenant had left. The beding did fit the beds this time. As we were part of a group booking and were not self travelling, we cleaned the place up the best we could and stuck it out for four nights. The room we would not except was given to people from another group who followed us in. No atempt was made to clean this room before reusing it. The food was average and the dining room staff efficient and cheerful. The swimming pool not in use.

  • Stayed: November 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheltenham_Disgusted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
inglewoodhotels, Proprietor at Inglewood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2010

It is very disappointing to see such a review posted and especially amazing and rather puzzling that such serious claims are made...but then not reported formally to either the Hotel or the Coach company. However we are pleased to report that following a recent anonymous overnight stay by a "Visit Britain" Hotel inspector we have been awarded 76% overall for cleanliness which is equivalent to a 4 star rating and is obviously considered good for a 2 star Hotel, This confirms the majority of reports on here regarding the cleanliness of the Hotel which is very important to us , It should also be noted that most outdoor pools in the UK are closed in November, although Inglewood guests are more than welcome to use the heated Indoor pool /Sauna/ Jacuzzi at our neighbouring sister Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2009

I have stoped at both the Inglewood and the Kistor on may ocassions, OK they are not the Ritz but then they are not Ritz prices, the staff have always been most helpfull and friendly and respond to any problems in a positive way. They are first class at organising re-unions and group gatherings.

  • Stayed: March 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PlymouthBaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2009

My mother my husband and myself,have just returned from inglewood hotel.On arrival we were showen the disabled accsses to the rear of hotel.Unfortunatly it was blocked so the staff did remove a mobility scooter for us and offered to help us with our bags.Not really sutible for wheelchair users,only if you can manage to walk short disstances.We were made very welcome by the bar man [think his name was dave] and the reception staff.When we booked in given keys and directed to rooms.Then the dissapointment for my mother set in.She was given a single groundfloor room over looking the kitchen.It was not very clean and shabby.Thre was a cover and old fashioned quilt on her bed which see was not happy about.Also the wardrobe door slates were very dirty.She wiped a facial tissue and showed it to the reception staff..She did say it was unexseptable.The window net was dirty also.This was changed by next day.The carpet was worn and wallpaper marked.Other wise ok.My husband and myself had a twin/family room on the 3rd floor.All nice and clean .Not shabby.Only small thing was the bed mattress was a bit worn and did boing as was said in a previous review.The main longe area was shabby and really needed a good coat of paint.Also the long chairs on the far wall needed re doing as ripped and old.The rest was good.Simple things that can make a big differance to the standared of a hotel.Bar food very good.We went to the dinning room were we were meet by lovely freindly staff.Our waitress louise was very kind and really worked hard as they all did.The food was excellent for the money.A good variaty and well cooked.All the dinning room was clean and well decorated.All in all we had a nice time.We would go again .Not sure about my mother as she was dissapointed at the single room.Very well done to all the staff there.They are a credit to the owners.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ginneyGosportHants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.1 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#21 of 87 in Torquay
1,132 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Headland Hotel
The Headland Hotel
#12 of 87 in Torquay
880 reviews
0.0 mi away
Marquis Hotel
Marquis Hotel
#37 of 87 in Torquay
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
TLH Derwent Hotel
TLH Derwent Hotel
#20 of 87 in Torquay
1,124 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#56 of 87 in Torquay
840 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Belgrave Sands Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inglewood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inglewood Hotel

Address: Belgrave Road, Torquay TQ2 5HR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Price Range: £25 - £50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 52
Also Known As:
Inglewood Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing