We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent stay- wonderful walks and view”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Carlingford

Great views of the sea and Dartmoor, plenty of outside space
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Great views of the sea and Dartmoor, plenty of outside space
Spacious lounge with garden and sea views.  BT TV with Netflix.  Wifi. Comfortable dining.....
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
10 reviews
Great views of the sea and Dartmoor, plenty of outside space
Spacious lounge with garden and sea views.  BT TV with Netflix.  Wifi.
Comfortable dining.....
with woodburner
seats up to 12 comfortably
Modern fitted kitchen......
....equipped to a high standard
First floor double bedroom with sea and moorland views and en suite bathroom
Second first floor double bedroom with sea and garden views and en suite bathroom
Third double bedroom on ground floor.  Generous size with garden and sea views
Single bedroom on ground floor with french doors to patio and garden
Second single bedroom on ground floor
En suite bathroom
Patio area leading to garden
Al fresco dining with fountain and lavender and mediterranean feel
Fire pit with sea and moorland views.
Wood store
Large level garden
Plenty of space for all the family
Small wooded and orchard to the side
Open countryside and moorland
Labrador Bay....
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Torquay, English Riviera, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Emily H
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent stay- wonderful walks and view”
Reviewed 28 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed with 9 people in Carlingford and had a marvellous time. Its a beautiful property with an amazing garden, nice big kitchen and communal dining area. We spent one day walking along the coastal path to Teignmouth and the other day walking along the coastal path to Babbacombe- really amazing walks and breathtaking views.
We did not have a car. We got the train to Newton Abbott and then a Taxi to the property. it was 90% ok to not have a car the only issue was that getting to the pub (the Thatched cottage- which was lovely) was quite hairy on foot!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Would be fine if you had a car but we did not
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jastone75...
Witney, United Kingdom
1 review
“fantastic stay , would highly recommend !”
Reviewed 6 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

It's a great house and ideal for large groups. The kitchen is well equipped for those wanting to dine in / dinner parties and probably the first house that I have stayed in that is fully equipped with decent kitchen knives and large wine glasses. This theme is continued throughout the property with nice comfy beds, lovely clean bed linen and a couple of great log burners to take the chill off.

The house grounds are superb and the newly installed fire pit a great addition. The gardens are well established with nice areas of lawn (for the kids) and the view from the end of the garden across the bay is just the ticket with beer in hand and a pair of binoculars as you can while away the time observing the sailing boats and marine life.

The owner is exceptionally helpful and provides lots of info on places to eat, local beaches and the wonderful coastal walks. The Crab Shack is exceptional sea food / shell fish but you must book well in advance.

In summary : the question is would I go back ? The answer most definitely YES !!

Hope to be back in the autumn

Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzyr21
Chamonix, France
1 review
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 3 April 2014 for a stay in March 2014

We were a big group of 12 and had a fantastic time in this house. It is a great size, very clean and light, very well equipped, the photos don't do it justice! We were only there for a long weekend but I would be more than happy to spend a few weeks enjoying this lovely house and location. The owner, Robin, was extremely helpful and gave us a lot of tips for where we could eat etc as well as answering any questions we had beforehand. Perfect for a large groups having a week/weekend away or for families on holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
c e
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great location & lovely house”
Reviewed 13 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014

Just back from a fantastic 3 nights at Carlingford. We would definitely recommend it, the location is great close to a range of beaches. The house itself is lovely, very spacious, the photos do not do it justice. We had a group of 12 including young children and had plenty of room. Living room had enough places to sit as well as the dining table, which is more than I can say about other places we looked at! It is furnished very well with all the appliances we needed and definitely the most comfortable bed I have slept in. The garden is large and great for children to explore and let of steam. The owner is very helpful and gave us all the information we needed.
We had a brilliant time and would like to thank Robin for everything.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 November 2013 for a stay in October 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$272
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing