We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit of a shame...”
Review of Bar Envy

Bar Envy
Ranked #228 of 346 Restaurants in Torquay
Price range: US$1 - US$8
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Outdoor Seating
Description: Affordable fresh food prepared to order. Range of American style Burgers (with Handcut chips and fresh Coleslaw) and traditional English dishes (Cottage Pie, Gammon with fresh Pineapple, homemade soups and Devonshire Clotted Cream Teas featuring Daily Baked Scones and homemade Jam). Newest offering 'Mrs Cobley's handmade Steak, Mushroom and Guinness Ale Pies', with Handcut chips and veg, 3.95 - and that's our most expensive dish!
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A bit of a shame...”
Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

Really wanted to like this place. From what I could see, most of the negatives stemmed from the place being extremely understaffed.
One person cooking burgers, making drinks, serving, clearing tables & taking the money appeared to be a recipe for disaster.
Super-friendly service, but our table was never cleared or cleaned from the previous customers, and it all felt a bit awkward as the guy working there raced around, doing about three people's jobs.
This place has lots of potential bit I think they need to re-think employing more staff and making the menu more varied (veggie option = chips & coleslaw. Ouch.
My boyfriend enjoyed his (huge) burger though, and the food & drinks were very reasonably priced.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Frankie_112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    2
    2
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Warminster, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit.”
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Just stopped off for a coffee because it was raining and decided to have a burger as well, glad to say it was the right decision.
Coffee was superb and the hand made burger was as good as you get in the States.
Friendly and helpful staff , warm and welcoming.
Thanks guys

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fab Food :)”
Reviewed 11 September 2013

I have been to Envy twice now and each time I have had lovely fresh food at good value for money prices. The atmosphere is so nice and the staff are friendly. They really do excell on the food with a cordon bleu style. The tea and coffee is by far the best in town :)

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sharonteena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
1,209 reviews
842 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 484 helpful votes
“envy”
Reviewed 28 August 2013

my hotel was at the top of abbey road so i would stop here after walking around the town and the mariner also shopping,a great place to stop and have a drink the staff are friendly so are the locals they have tvs and do food well worth a visit.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jamesthewedge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Coffee.... Best in town”
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Friendly guys, coffee was best in the town and the burgers top class. Would ignore previous comments as I would certainly go back

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Neilbonner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bar Envy also viewed

Torquay, English Riviera
 
Torquay, English Riviera
Torquay, English Riviera
 

Been to Bar Envy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing