We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You could be anywhere”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Anstey's Cove

Anstey's Cove
Ipswich, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“You could be anywhere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

Take a walk down the steep path to Ansteys Cove and you could be on a Greek Island.
Although the beach has been closed for a number of years now (due to rock falls) the Cove has not lost its charm.
It still has crystal clear water ideal for Divers. The Café is clean and reasonably prices. You can hire Canoe for a paddle round the cove or hire a Deck Chair and simply relax.
Toilets on site

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Lee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    18
    4
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St albans
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“great little find”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

Found this by accident, free car park. Bit of trek to the beach but well worth it. Views stunning. A little hut selling snacks as well very friendly, clean and tidy.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Wjdeedee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramsgate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Gorgeous”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

This is a little gem hidden from many tourist. First of all we were pleasantly surprised to find a free car park. We then wondered through the woods which are rather steep but there were moments when through the trees you could glimpse the bay, which was breath taking. We then climbed back up steep steps to the car park and found the correct route to the cove. Well ok there is a bit of a trek to get there but once there it is such a beautiful view, well worth the effort. We just wished we had taken our swimming costumes.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Helens130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Relaxed atmosphere in a lovely bay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

We enjoyed a late lunch at this cove. Very reasonable and good quality food - we had panini's and jacket potatoes followed by icecreams. Plenty of activities to watch to - good place to snorkel, hire canoe's from.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Marie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Love this place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

It's a nice walk down to the cove. It's a steep hill. But when your at the bottom it's worth it. The views are amazing! Every time I have been it's been very quiet. A few people fishing and a few boats in the sea. I think some tlc needs putting back into the cove and it will be an awesome day out. There is a little cafe/shop but never seen it open. There are toilet blocks but they seem to be shut. There's plenty of free parking at top of hill.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank teresamckean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Anstey's Cove also viewed

Torquay, English Riviera
Torquay, English Riviera
 
Torquay, English Riviera
 

Been to Anstey's Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing