We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dinner is poor !”
Review of Marquis Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Marquis Hotel
Ranked #39 of 88 Hotels in Torquay
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Dinner is poor !”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Stayed for 3 day break,good location,use short cut through garden into park. room 208 had nice sea-view,new bathroom. Breakfast very average most of the hot was luke warm or awaiting to be refilled!. Had dinner on last night ,staff tried hard to please but the "Chef" sent out a very sad looking two courses ,no dressings for limp ,boring salads ,after waiting 10 minutes for new potatos they arrived without butter,.Just very littlt flair and needs attention to detail before the season is over!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Avoid 211 facing busy road and is small. Room 2o8 nice sea view and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 600Alan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thomas m, Managing Director at Marquis Hotel, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
600 Alan

Thank you for taking the time to post a reply reference your recent stay at the Hotel. As you can see from all our reviews lately the food is now at an all time hard with our new Head Chef. Always aiming to deliver a fantastic meal for good value.
I very much hope you return in the future and try the Restaurant out again.

Best Wishes
Mr T Monnington
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    151
    99
    57
    23
    12
See reviews for
69
156
12
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cornish
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

I cannot understand some of the previous reviews that slate this hotel. For a very reasonable price for dinner bed and breakfast, you get a really clean, newly refurbished room, flat screen TV, a new bathroom with a great shower and modern fixtures. The restaurant is bright and airy with great views across the gardens and the sea beyond. Above the the restaurant is a roof terrace where you can enjoy the views and enjoy a drink or cream tea.
The staff are all lovely. I would return to this hotel time and again. Nothing but praise. Well done The Marquis .

Room Tip: Rooms facing south or west.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CornishNimblefingers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thomas m, General Manager at Marquis Hotel, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thank you so much

What a lovely review from myself and all the staff i really am so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.
Please come back and stay anytime don't forget to book direct for the best price.

T.Monnington
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gtr Manchester
Level Contributor
40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Just returned from a week-long stay at the Marquis Hotel.

The break was booked at the last minute, we booked a standard double room. Looking at the website the rooms all look large, airy and bright.

On arrival we were greeted by a very friendly receptionist, after checking in she took us to our room which was on the 3rd floor. The room looked nothing like the photo's on the website. Although it appeared to be very clean and bright it could not be described as large! It was very compact!

We had 1 small wardrobe and 1 very small drawer each within the bedside cabinets!

The bathroom was very clean. Complimentary shampoo, shower gel and soap is provided. The bathroom however did not have any towels rails or hooks!

As the bedroom was small furniture is kept to a minimum. A wardrobe, 2 bedside cabinets and 1 shelf for the kettle and cups. Complimentary tea, coffee, milk and biscuits are provided.

The room did not have a hairdryer as is normally provided elsewhere.

The car park is quite spacious, to the side and rear of the hotel.

Breakfast is served as a buffet, the room looks out onto the garden with a sea view. A very pleasant way to start the day. The food provided on the buffet does not vary from day to day.

The hotel does provide Evening Dinner, which you can book on a daily basis.

The hotel is very clean throughout and has undergone recent renovation. All of the staff are very friendly and all willing to help.

Towels are changed as required, leave the dirty towels on the bathroom floor.

There is a selection of brochures and information booklets in reception.
You are not supplied with a welcome pack of hotel information, useful numbers, places to visit etc. You do need to ask at reception for all information - meal times etc.

We did have an issue with the room door, which after reporting this to reception on 3 occasions was finally resolved.

We would stay at The Marquis Hotel again but would certainly ensure we would be in a room as shown on the website and not the compact room we occupied on this visit. As a previous reviewer has stated "You couldn't swing a cat" in the room and certainly couldn't both move around the room at the same time!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TakeItEasy59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thomas m, General Manager at Marquis Hotel, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Take it easy 59

All of our 44 bedrooms do come in different shapes and sizes i will take your comments fully on board and make sure all websites are updated immediately.
Since your review i have instructed the maintenance team to make sure all rooms are fitted with towel rails i hope to have this completed come the end of next week.
I hope you will return in the future

Enjoy there summer and thank you for the constructive feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

didn't know what to expect on a 2 day deal, and were very pleasantly surprised.
lovely hotel with good sized, clean bedrooms, simple white bedding which we like,
very nice staff, especially the reception manager, who even greeted us when we passed him in the town.
fabulous huge, high ceiling, dining room, with pretty views of the sea beyond the very nice hotel garden. no waiting for an empty table, or being squashed in here.
breakfast was help yourself and plentiful, being picky here, but the eggs were always hard even when first brought out, but everything else was good, and not at all rushed.
great location, parked in hotel car park and didn't ever need to use the car while we were there, everything within easy walking distance.
a 15 minute amble to the ferry boat to Brixham. This is a scenic half hour boatride and only costs £1 each way! amazing. runs every 45 minutes. lots to see and do in Brixham and we did this trip 3 times on our 2 night stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thomas m, General Manager at Marquis Hotel, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear Diane P

Wow thank you so much for such a fantastic review. Richard was very happy to see that his name has been mentioned in such a fantastic review. Myself and all the staff look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Please book direct for the best deals and prices.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Headcorn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

This hotel is in a great location. We arrived late, just after 11pm and was put in room 109. We had asked for a quite room and all I can say this is anything but quite!! It faces straight out on to the road and path and there was a constant stream of coaches and noisy traffic well into the small hours and then again from the crack of dawn!
The bed was nothing short of DISGUSTING! It creaked so badly at the slightest movement that between that and the traffic meant we got little sleep. GThe bed looked like it had been repaired with some wood at the headboard end.
The bathroom had a net curtain and no blind at the window which remember faces straight out onto the road and footpath! We looked the next day and you can CLEARLY see straight into the bathroom in line with the shower cubicle. There we no hooks to hang towels and no full length mirror nor pictures. It needed some love injected into it!
We were moved the next day without question to room 3 which is out the back of the hotel and has access from the hotel and via its own back door at the back. The doors and windows on all of the rooms really could use replacing for new as they are in a bit of a state/rotting and peeling paint. The room was much better than room 109 and had the little extras that lacked from 109. It was nice and clean.
We would come back again as the position is great - we would just insist on a quite room.

Room Tip: Do not have a room facing the road because if you need the windows open it is horrendously noisy!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thomas m, General Manager at Marquis Hotel, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Sally H

Thank-you for taking the time to leave a review based on your recent stay. Since reading your review i can confirm we have replaced the whole bed in 109 and made sure the bathroom has towel hooks and a stronger blind for the window. I can only apologise for this error made from the Hotel whilst undergoing the recent facelift.
We are always looking for feedback positive or negative to make sure all standards are constantly raised so we can achieve our goals as a new business.
I very hope to see you in the future.

Best Wishes
T. Monnington
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights. The hotel is well placed within Torquay and very close to the sea front. The staff were friendly and very accommodating. The room was clean, spacious and because it was below stairs we could park the car right outside and use the outer door when going out. Very convenient. Only downside we had was no key for the outer door to which the receptionist was quite apologetic. Breakfast was plentiful. All that was missing perhaps was some yoghurt with the fruit but that was definitely a 'nice to have'. To top it off the hotel has very charming decor a lovely reception areas to sit and have an evening drink. All in all it was a thoroughly nice stay and I'd definitely stay again.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jac D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thomas m, General Manager at Marquis Hotel, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear Jac D

Thank you for taking the time to post a review based on your recent stay at the Hotel.
Since your review we have added Yogurts and fresh fruit so thank you for pointing this out.
From myself and all the staff at the Hotel we look forward to seeing you again.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Stayed at this hotel for one night in June. The room was clean but had too much furniture in It and looked nothing like the picture that shows a double room! The ensuite was very small and the towel rail was red hot, beware of your knees when sat on the toilet!!! We had a sea view which was nice. The roof terrace decking was good as the weather was hot and sunny. Found the breakfast to be very disappointing there was not a great deal of choice of cereal and the vegetarian option of the cooked breakfast was very poor, beans and tomato!!! Didn't like the self service of the cooked breakfast as it had been there a while and was not hot and had become dry. However, the location of this hotel is good as it is only 15 mins walk to the harbour area.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fishdiver01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thomas m, General Manager at Marquis Hotel, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear Fishdiver01

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. A lot of your points made in your review are very constructive. The Hotel has made sure the breakfast quality is to the highest possible. We do have a vegetarian option available.
I do apologise if this was not offered.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.0 mi away
Rainbow International Hotel
0.4 mi away
Bancourt Hotel
Bancourt Hotel
#84 of 88 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Torquay Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Trecarn Hotel
Trecarn Hotel
#88 of 88 in Torquay
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,148 reviews
0.8 mi away
Yardley Manor Hotel
Yardley Manor Hotel
#49 of 88 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ashley Court Hotel
Ashley Court Hotel
#80 of 88 in Torquay
3.0 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marquis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marquis Hotel

Property: Marquis Hotel
Address: Belgrave Road, Torquay TQ2 5HQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 88 Hotels in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Marquis Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The beautiful Marquis Hotel was built in the 19th century as a holiday home for the 3rd Marquis of Bute. Around 1920 it was converted into a fine hotel and retains many of the original features a number of sea facing rooms.In 2013 the hotel has undergone a major renovation. The hotel has a private entrance to the Riviera Conference Centre with access to tennis, bowls and 9 hole pitch and putt. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Marquis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marquis Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing