We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Torquay Hotel”
Review of Marquis Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Marquis Hotel
Ranked #39 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Warwickshire, UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic Torquay Hotel”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We stayed at the Marquis from Thursday to Sunday at the end of July with a group of 7 girls and this honestly was the best holiday we've ever had in Torquay. The staff at the hotel literally couldn't do enough for us. We felt welcomed as soon as we stepped through the door. Absolutely everyone was incredibly friendly and helpful and full of local tips and info.
The view from the lovely large roof terrace is great and not something that they advertise but they should! It's perfect for a few quiet drinks whilst soaking up the sunshine.
They also have a fantastic restaurant with views over the gardens and down to the sea and the evening meal was delicious and the service is truly fab. Breakfast, again was tasty and the staff are so accommodating. Faultless. The rooms are nice and clean with new bathrooms, you can't ask for much more. The town is 10 minutes walk or a cheap taxi fare away so is a great location.
The staff really do this little gem of a hotel proud. Thank you to all the staff... Mike, Tom (my favorite) big Bart, little Bart, Colin, Zack & Richard, to only name a few for making it such a wonderful weekend. We will definitely be returning... and can't wait!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cookie_monster38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    153
    103
    57
    24
    12
See reviews for
70
160
12
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Stayed at the Marquis this weekend - 2nd Aug 14, with a group of 8 friends. Hotel was lovely, clean with some beautiful original features. Breakfast came with a sea view. Richard the reception manager was unbelievably helpful, and couldn't do enough to make us welcome after a bit of a mix up with the booking. There is a delightful roof terrace with views over the gardens to the sea. The reception staff were all very pleasant.as were the waiting staff at breakfast. The bar man was accommodating when we arrived back at the hotel for a nightcap in the evening . All the rooms were clean and looked recently refurbished. We walked into town and back,which was a flat 10-15 minute stroll each way.
Would definitely recommend this hotel and plan to return........it was great value for money. Thank you Marquis for a enjoyable weekend.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We stayed (a family of four) B B & EM as part of a coach party holiday from 20th to 26th July. This hotel is a beautiful old building with alot of the original decor. It has a lovely garden area with a path that leads down to Torre Abbey Gardens, which we used as a short cut down to the sea front. There is also a seated rooftop terrace (lovely place for a night cap) that has beautiful views over the surrounding area and down to the sea.
Our rooms were cleaned every day and they were spotless. Lovely comfy beds aswell. We were also given a downstairs room with walk-in shower as requested.
We enjoyed the buffet breakfasts. There was a very good selection on offer, bacon and eggs etc aswell as fruit, yoghurts and cereals. It is however, a shame that I can't say the same about the evening meals which we did have. There was always a delay of 15/20 mins between courses, which meant it took nearly an hour and a half to eat our meal. The waiters seemed unable to get food to the table quick enough before it went cold and also the quality of the food needs improving. The dining room Manager was very apologetic and assured us this will be rectified. The hotel was full that week. There was also another coach party in, so as this was something the hotel had not experienced before, it is probably the reason why things were not as they should be. We only ate in three times anyway as the weather was so hot, we didn't feel hungry enough to eat a three course dinner at 6 o'clock. Anyway enough of the negatives because that was the only downside to what was a brilliant holiday.
We would definately stay at the Marquis again. It's in a brilliant spot near to the beach, bus stops and only a 15 min walk into the town and harbour.
All the staff were very friendly and obliging especially Peter the catering manager who has a wicked sarky sense of humour, and Matt, a lovely pleasant young man who worked on the bar in the evenings.
Thank you all for a really enjoyable holiday and we hope to see you all again next year.


Jane Keith Scott and Lewis

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goonhavern, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Really pleased with this hotel great base for exploring Torquay. We had room 5 downstairs with a door that opened onto car park this suited us fine. The room was large with double bed and two singles so great family room. Lovely clean shower room. Enjoyed the breakfasts. The best thing about the hotel was the staff we found all the staff friendly and helpful and this makes such a difference to a stay. On two occasions we arrived back at the hotel ln evening with two tired children to find the car park full. On both occasions staff members moved their own cars to fit us in which was great. If I wanted to go to Torquay again I would use this hotel as it was situated in a good place to explore town. Lovely stay and I compliment the management team on their lovely friendly staff.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tanya728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Feltham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

Here we go, so stayed at this hotel with family during July 2014 for 3 nights. We paid for bed/breakfast and dinner. Decent size car park managed to park directly outside entrance which was helpful as my father is in a wheelchair. Ramp into hotel. Greeted by receptionist, all good, friendly and welcoming. We had room 110. This room was a decent size, good shower room which was a walk in shower. Room was clean and spacious. Downside our room faced a busy road, constant traffic noise through out the night. One the second day I had to get some earplugs because of the noise. Even with the window open the room was so hot, but this was due to the weather. So the only thing I can suggest is a fan, admittedly we didn't ask for one, so I don't know if they supply them on request. Big tv in room which has your standard digital channels available. No towel rail or hooks so we had to hang the wet towels over the door. Also no soap dish in the shower room.

Another family member had a room which faced the car park on the ground floor. She unfortunately on one morning had to listen to a couple of coaches outside her room with engines running at around 0630hrs with the drivers chatting loudly which went on for about 30 mins.

The hotel has a nice 24hr bar which has Cornish cider and lager on tap, there was also other lagers/beers and Guinness on tap.

The restaurant is very nice and large, overlooks the sea (just about). So the food...breakfast was a buffer, all good, food was nice. Dinner mixed feelings on this, the food was of a very high standard, however, we were pretty much the only people in the restaurant and the food took a long time to come out. I think we waited about 50 mins from finishing starter to get the main. Obviously, some people will probably like the gap between courses. Oddly we were told at least twice everyday 'sorry for the delay but the food is cocked to order', I didn't need to be told everyday (by the same person). On occasions the starters and deserts came out at different times, up to a gap of about 5 minutes. Steak we asked for med-Rare but came out very medium, but still very nice. Staff didn't know the menu, asked what soup of the day was, reply of don't know, I'll find out. This was the same reply for 'what is the fish of the day' and when we asked what 'taste of lemon was' from the dessert menu.

We had entertainment every night, various singers etc. They were all good, but they never seemed to be on for long. They also had bingo on a couple of the nights.

Hotel is a good location, 5 min walk to beach.

So overall, it is a nice, clean hotel. Staff are friendly and always helpful. Would I stay there again...yes but I would want a top floor back room.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Mr_smith_1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thomas m, Manager at Marquis Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Mr Smith
I am very sorry the Hotel didn't achieve a full 5 star review from yourself. However i am very pleased that you took the time to leave constructive feedback. Since your review we have taken all comments very seriously.
As a Hotel we aim to have triple glazing installed bye the end of the season.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ringwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

The hotel is set about 10/15 minutes from the harbour with a seaview from the dining room. Given the comments re small rooms we traded up to a family room. (the first night we had a cramped room but we were moved to a bigger room with doors onto the terrace (with sea views) so its worth asking for that. Found ringing the hotel gave the same prices as the internet sites. The bathrooms in both rooms had been recently done out to a high standard. This is one hotel where I sought out the manager and congratulated him on the staff - very friendly and helpfull, I mean really helpfull. There are a number of good resturants within walking (20 mins) distance so we only did B&B. We used this hotel to do bits of the coastal path (using buses and ferries). Car park can be cramped (its big enough) so we parked on arrival and left it

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grandpy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thomas m, Manager at Marquis Hotel, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Thank you so much for you recent feedback.
From myself and all the staff hear at the Marquis Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Stayed for 3 day break,good location,use short cut through garden into park. room 208 had nice sea-view,new bathroom. Breakfast very average most of the hot was luke warm or awaiting to be refilled!. Had dinner on last night ,staff tried hard to please but the "Chef" sent out a very sad looking two courses ,no dressings for limp ,boring salads ,after waiting 10 minutes for new potatos they arrived without butter,.Just very littlt flair and needs attention to detail before the season is over!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Avoid 211 facing busy road and is small. Room 2o8 nice sea view and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 600Alan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thomas m, Managing Director at Marquis Hotel, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
600 Alan

Thank you for taking the time to post a reply reference your recent stay at the Hotel. As you can see from all our reviews lately the food is now at an all time hard with our new Head Chef. Always aiming to deliver a fantastic meal for good value.
I very much hope you return in the future and try the Restaurant out again.

Best Wishes
Mr T Monnington
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.0 mi away
Rainbow International Hotel
1.3 mi away
Trecarn Hotel
Trecarn Hotel
#87 of 87 in Torquay
1,181 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bancourt Hotel
Bancourt Hotel
#84 of 87 in Torquay
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#21 of 87 in Torquay
1,083 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ashley Court Hotel
Ashley Court Hotel
#82 of 87 in Torquay
374 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Livermead Cliff Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marquis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marquis Hotel

Property: Marquis Hotel
Address: Belgrave Road, Torquay TQ2 5HQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Marquis Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The beautiful Marquis Hotel was built in the 19th century as a holiday home for the 3rd Marquis of Bute. Around 1920 it was converted into a fine hotel and retains many of the original features a number of sea facing rooms.In 2013 the hotel has undergone a major renovation. The hotel has a private entrance to the Riviera Conference Centre with access to tennis, bowls and 9 hole pitch and putt. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Marquis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marquis Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing