We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXCELLENT, DEFINITELY WOULD GO BACK AGAIN”
Review of Mount Edgcombe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mount Edgcombe
Ranked #14 of 149 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
bury
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT, DEFINITELY WOULD GO BACK AGAIN”
Reviewed 6 June 2011

very friendly owners, first class service, fab breakfast, lovely rooms, very clean and comfortable, within easy walking distance of shops bars and other restaurants.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank becky_manchester58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    389
    30
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
61
295
8
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St Austell, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 June 2011

Pam and Dave run a excellent hotel good sevice, Top comfort and relaxing , all round the hotel was very clean ,the rooms we have stayed in the decor has been stunning
The food was always good and hot
The hotel is in a very good location for waking in to the town or taking the car out again to the main road
We have found this lovely hotel and will book again Trevor and Ann

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank casyjane2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forfar, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2011

The hotel was ideally situated for us, near the rail station (where Dave picked us up) and within level walking distance of local sights and beaches. The town's harbour and shopping centre are a short bus ride away.
Pam's cooking was of the highest class with plenty of choice and varied menus.
This was our first time in Torquay and we found Mount Edgcombe an ideal centre for touring in Devon.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank turfbeg5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidenhead, Berkshire.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2011

What a friendly place - Pam and David made us most welcome and were very accommodating. The room was clean and comfortable. You are given a breakfast menu each day to select what you'd like the next day - excellent idea - and the Full English Breakfast was very good. They also have a small bar area and provide evening meals / snacks on request. We will most definitely return.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank STROUD08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crawley, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 8 February 2011

very friendly owners who made us feel very at home.
breakfast was very tasty indeed,t.v. in room with d.v.d. and a good selection films
at no extra charge,nice touch.
bed was a bit on the soft side for us but that is personal preference,not a complaint.
would definately use again,worth a visit.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sussexbornandbred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
worcester
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2011

we stayed here for the first time having been to torquay many times in the past and have found a new favourite.Couldn't fault this hotel.friendly welcome,most comfy bed i've ever slept in,spotlessly clean and a lovely breakfast.we will definately be returning as soon as possible.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kevangWorcester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.5 mi away
The Meadfoot Bay
The Meadfoot Bay
#5 of 87 in Torquay
482 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay
0.1 mi away
Glendower Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Cleveland
The Cleveland
#5 of 149 in Torquay
373 reviews
0.0 mi away
The 25 Boutique B&B
The 25 Boutique B&B
#1 of 149 in Torquay
339 reviews
0.2 mi away
Avenue Park Guest House
Avenue Park Guest House
#37 of 149 in Torquay
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Edgcombe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Edgcombe

Property: Mount Edgcombe
Address: 23 Avenue Road, Torquay TQ2 5LB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mount Edgcombe 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mount Edgcombe, an attractive detached Victorian Villa built in 1880. Situated in a conservation area on a tree lined road, within easy walking distance of the sea front, town and conference centre, local attractions as well as the train and coach station (free courtesy transport available to and from the stations). All rooms are individually decorated to a high standard and are en suite. All rooms have as a minimum a 26 inch flat screen colour TV, with FreeView. The Guest House has a large car park, a residents lounge, licensed bar and free Wi-Fi throughout and is totally NON SMOKING. We have Superior and Executive ground floor rooms, and all Executive and Superior Room has a fridge. The light and airy dining room is located on the ground floor serving breakfast and an optional fabulous 4 course home cooked dinner menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and LateRooms so you can book your Mount Edgcombe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Edgcombe Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing