We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“we liked it”
Review of Mount Edgcombe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mount Edgcombe
Ranked #13 of 149 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 July 2011

very good place to stay ,room and food excellent,Pam &David run a very friendly hotel.Ideal base to visit the many locations of Devon

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pb7663
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (461)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

443 - 449 of 461 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2011

We were made very welcome and were accommodated on the ground floor since my wife is disabled.The room was clean and well maintained. Food was excellent since we had Bed, Breakfast and Evening Meal. A collection of DVD's were available to loan for use in the room.

Room Tip: Hotel was quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank billyboy47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2011

We have stayed at the Mount Edgcombe three times just because the owners are so friendly and helpful and they offer good old fashioned home cooking which is so rare in these times of celebrity chefs and cuisines from around the world.
The guesthouse is spotlessly clean with spacious modern and comfortable rooms and is conveniently situated with a level walk to the seafront. The dinner menu comprises regular favourites, a daily roast and specials - lovers of steamed puddings and custard can't go wrong! Free internet access is available throughout the day.
The only quibble was with the weather - but then it was Wimbledon week! Thanks - we will be back.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Devonish31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2011

very friendly owners, first class service, fab breakfast, lovely rooms, very clean and comfortable, within easy walking distance of shops bars and other restaurants.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank becky_manchester58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2011

Pam and Dave run a excellent hotel good sevice, Top comfort and relaxing , all round the hotel was very clean ,the rooms we have stayed in the decor has been stunning
The food was always good and hot
The hotel is in a very good location for waking in to the town or taking the car out again to the main road
We have found this lovely hotel and will book again Trevor and Ann

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank casyjane2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2011

The hotel was ideally situated for us, near the rail station (where Dave picked us up) and within level walking distance of local sights and beaches. The town's harbour and shopping centre are a short bus ride away.
Pam's cooking was of the highest class with plenty of choice and varied menus.
This was our first time in Torquay and we found Mount Edgcombe an ideal centre for touring in Devon.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank turfbeg5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2011

What a friendly place - Pam and David made us most welcome and were very accommodating. The room was clean and comfortable. You are given a breakfast menu each day to select what you'd like the next day - excellent idea - and the Full English Breakfast was very good. They also have a small bar area and provide evening meals / snacks on request. We will most definitely return.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank STROUD08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torquay
2.5 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#9 of 85 in Torquay
618 reviews
20.5 mi away
Gidleigh Park
Gidleigh Park
#1 of 2 in Chagford
1,179 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Elmdene
The Elmdene
#17 of 149 in Torquay
521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
The Sandpiper Guest House
The Sandpiper Guest House
#21 of 149 in Torquay
346 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Albaston Boutique B&B
The Albaston Boutique B&B
#2 of 149 in Torquay
304 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#22 of 85 in Torquay
3,186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Edgcombe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Edgcombe

Address: 23 Avenue Road, Torquay TQ2 5LB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range: £67 - £77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mount Edgcombe 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mount Edgcombe, an attractive detached Victorian Villa built in 1880. Situated in a conservation area on a tree lined road, within easy walking distance of the sea front, town and conference centre, local attractions as well as the train and coach station (free courtesy transport available to and from the stations). All rooms are individually decorated to a high standard and are en suite. All rooms have as a minimum a 26 inch flat screen colour TV, with FreeView. The Guest House has a large car park, a residents lounge, licensed bar and free Wi-Fi throughout and is totally NON SMOKING. We have Superior and Executive ground floor rooms, and all Executive and Superior Room has a fridge. The light and airy dining room is located on the ground floor serving breakfast and an optional fabulous 4 course home cooked dinner menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mount Edgcombe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Edgcombe Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing