We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“we had a lovely stay here”
Review of Mount Edgcombe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mount Edgcombe
Ranked #13 of 149 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 August 2011

we could not have been treated any better anywhere else. we upgraded to the edgecombe suite and it was well worth it.

Room Tip: the edgecombe suite has a lovely bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mike p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (461)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

430 - 436 of 461 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2011

Wonderful room, delicious food, great location within easy walking distance of the beach and great service.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2011

What can I say, we had an amazing time in South Devon with Torquay our base.

With my wife, 5 yr old son and 2 yr old daughter, we stayed in the Family Room at Mount Edgcombe. Despite reading the reviews, we were still initially apprehensive on how the stay would turn out. I can tell you, that all our fears were put to rest once we met David and Pam, the owners and saw our room where we would spend 4 nights.

The room size was just fine for us and was decorated nicely. It was clean with high ceilings, tall bay windows overlooking a small but delightful courtyard, a large super king bed and a large sofa bed which the kids slept well on. An ensuite with shower and daily house keeping was provided. As well as towels, there was a flat tv/dvd player ( with an impressive collection of titles that could be borrowed from the communal room ), dressing table, mini fridge, hair drier, kettle and complimentary tea and coffee amenities.

Despite being vegetarian, we found the cooked Breakfast was great with a tasty home made smoothie that made sure we started our day with plenty of energy. David made our little daughter laugh a lot which added to our enjoyable stay. Pam helped us considerably with recommending the wonderful places to visit during our stay. In 5 days we covered:

Cockington village / Court
Babbacombe Model Village
Babbacombe Cliff Railway / Beach
Torquay marina / seafront / town walks / Torre abbey walk by
Balloon ride from Torquay seafront
Round Trip Boat to Dartmouth / Steam Train to Paignton and Bus ride back to Torquay
Paignton Zoo
Penny well Farm ( last day on our way to driving back home )

As a couple and family, we've done many trips around the world already including Mexico, Egypt, much of Europe, North America and Asia, but I can tell you this was one of our most memorable trips ever!

A highly recommended place to stay and visit. We loved the cream teas! We will come back

Ashish, Anu, Ayaan and Riya

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AshRani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2011

the welcome was great we were picked up from the train station ,the owner was very welcoming. Our room was very clean and the decor was modern and simple,everything we needed was in the room tv,small fridge,hairdryer,wi fi signal etc etc.The breakfast was delicious and there was plenty to choose from. its in a great location with a nice short stroll through a park to the sea front with lots to see and do on the way. The only thing I disliked was the showerl,I would have preferred an adjustable shower but I managed quite well with the one that was there. I would definately return to Mount Edgombe and would recommend to any one visiting Torquay.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Isin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2011

We have just spent a week at the Mount Edgcombe and thoroughly enjoyed our stay.
Upon our arrival we were met by the friendly and helpful owner who was keen to share with us their local knowledge, advising us how best to get around Torquay and where best to spend our time in Devon during our stay.

Our room which was spotlessly clean and tastefully furnished. There was a good sized TV with DVD player (there are good selection of DVDs to borrow if you so wish) and free wifi to access the internet. Tea and coffee was amply supplied and generously replenished throughout the week. Furthermore, the availability of information booklets and leaflets in the room were useful to refer to for ideas of where to visit .

The breakfast options offer plenty of choice and the food is of a high standard, no greasy breakfast here! The breakfast is always served with a smile and nothing seemed like too much trouble.

The hotel is well located on a main road into Torquay which makes it a good base for exploring the local area by car. Buses and trains are also easy to catch from nearby with about a five minute walk to the local railway station and bus stop. The town centre is a fair walk of about 15 minutes, however, the picturesque route through the Torre Abbey Gardens and along the seafront makes it a worthwhile trip by foot.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone going to Torquay. It is reasonably priced and very good value for money.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LouLou144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2011

The hotel itself was great. The welcome and the atmosphere of the place was wonderful. We had the spa suite and we expected a large bed room with a sitting room but the bed room was rather small with the bath room that seemed larger. Suite would not be the name I would have called it. Breakfast was very good and again the atmosphere made you feel welcome.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dcandmjbrooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2011

from the minute we arrived we were made to feel at home,we were shown straight to our room which was modern and very comfortable.it was about a 10 minute walk through torre abbey,to the sea front were you could walk in to torquay (10-15mins) or catch a bus (every 10 mins) there was plenty of things to see and do in the area with most things within a 50 min drive or through buses that were regular,the model village is perfect for children the beaches very clean.the food in the hotel was excellent good choices.the bar in the hotel was well stocked .the owners made us very welcome and would like to think we left as friends

Room Tip: we had room 10 at the front over looking the road we had windows open at night because it was warm a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anita w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torquay
2.5 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#8 of 85 in Torquay
618 reviews
20.5 mi away
Gidleigh Park
Gidleigh Park
#1 of 2 in Chagford
1,179 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Elmdene
The Elmdene
#17 of 149 in Torquay
521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
The Sandpiper Guest House
The Sandpiper Guest House
#23 of 149 in Torquay
346 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Albaston Boutique B&B
The Albaston Boutique B&B
#2 of 149 in Torquay
304 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#22 of 85 in Torquay
3,187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Edgcombe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Edgcombe

Address: 23 Avenue Road, Torquay TQ2 5LB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range: £67 - £77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mount Edgcombe 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mount Edgcombe, an attractive detached Victorian Villa built in 1880. Situated in a conservation area on a tree lined road, within easy walking distance of the sea front, town and conference centre, local attractions as well as the train and coach station (free courtesy transport available to and from the stations). All rooms are individually decorated to a high standard and are en suite. All rooms have as a minimum a 26 inch flat screen colour TV, with FreeView. The Guest House has a large car park, a residents lounge, licensed bar and free Wi-Fi throughout and is totally NON SMOKING. We have Superior and Executive ground floor rooms, and all Executive and Superior Room has a fridge. The light and airy dining room is located on the ground floor serving breakfast and an optional fabulous 4 course home cooked dinner menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mount Edgcombe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Edgcombe Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing