We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Hotel/Guest Accomodation”
Review of Mount Edgcombe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mount Edgcombe
Ranked #21 of 148 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic Hotel/Guest Accomodation”
Reviewed 27 May 2012

Wow, what a fantastic hotel, hosts David/Pam are very nice friendly people and go out of their way to make your stay enjoyable in every way they can.The room(9) we stayed in was facing out on to main road, but wasn't a problem as regards noise and we had windows open at night, very well provided for tea/coffee/biscuits,tv/dvd, shower gel/shampoo,hairdryer,soap, bath sheet,bath towel,handtowel,face cloth,Information pack about hotel and places to visit,clock/alarm, Shower room small but wasn't a problem after all your not in there for a party.Very comfortable bed and crisp clean bedding, Room bright cheerful and inviting, decorated and furnished to a high standard, as was the whole hotel, not a speck of dust anywhere.(Immaculate) Breakfast was cooked and served to a high standard and plenty of it. Had many a laugh and joke in the well stocked bar with David,(drank him dry of dumpling one evening). lounge with tv,dvd's,books and internet all to use free.No restrictions as to what time you came back of an evening as key fob provided.Car park in front of hotel. Approx 10/15mins walk to sea front/ harbour and town centre on flat level.Don't hesitate to book at this hotel you will not be dissappointed. Please don't be put off by the one bad review out of approx 60 reviews(speaks for itself) sounds to me they were staying somewhere else.We will not hesitate to stay here again as torquay a must to re-visit. 'Thankyou' David and Pam for making us so welcome, you are both hard working down to earth people and take my hat off to you both.

Room Tip: All rooms are of high standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GertDerbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    346
    29
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
53
264
6
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bridgend, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 21 May 2012

Pam and David are excellent hosts. The rooms are very comfortable and very clean, and we even got a free upgrade.
The food is great - freshly prepared and perhaps the nicest chips that I have ever tasted.
Although I had to leave before breakfast each morning the hosts insisted on doing a fresh bacon and egg roll to take on the road.
I recommend this hotel to any traveller who appreciates good food, good service and a comfortable nights sleep.

Room Tip: Room 7 is a great room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clevedon
1 review
Reviewed 14 May 2012

We were delighted with the choice at dinner, huge helpings of well cooked food. Breakfast also great in this clean friendly hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClevedonLinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 May 2012

Very friendly and lovely owners, good breakfast, very clean and nice rooms, hotel is in great location. We come definitely back again !!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ewwa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 2 May 2012

My wife and I came for a short stay here...the hotel,proprietors,service,food & cleaniness were faultless !!!
Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danlisa82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2012

Lovely friendly hotel in a great location in torquay.
Couldn't ask for a better service, breakfast was good quality, well made and served with a smile. The rooms are well decorated and spotless! Lovely bar area too!!

The owners were very knowledgable about the area and recommended brilliant restaurants for our evening meal.

Great value, can't fault it, hope to stay again!!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
1 review
Reviewed 16 April 2012

We stayed a weekend at Mount Edgecombe. I paid extra for a Superior room as I wanted a king sized bed for my husband, who is 6'4". Well, the bed was actually a Queen sized ( huge!), the room was clean, tidy and nicely decorated, and the breakfasts, as comments from other people had warned us, were superb! Fantastic value for money!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rose W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.6 mi away
The Albaston Boutique B&B
The Albaston Boutique B&B
#3 of 148 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kings Lodge
Kings Lodge
#5 of 148 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bentley Lodge
Bentley Lodge
#6 of 148 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Torcroft Boutique B&B
Torcroft Boutique B&B
#12 of 148 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Redholme
The Redholme
#2 of 148 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
0.1 mi away
Briarfields
Briarfields
#11 of 148 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Edgcombe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Edgcombe

Property: Mount Edgcombe
Address: 23 Avenue Road, Torquay TQ2 5LB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 148 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mount Edgcombe 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mount Edgcombe, an attractive detached Victorian Villa built in 1880. Situated in a conservation area on a tree lined road, within easy walking distance of the sea front, town and conference centre, local attractions as well as the train and coach station (free courtesy transport available to and from the stations). All rooms are individually decorated to a high standard and are en suite. All rooms have as a minimum a 26 inch flat screen colour TV, with FreeView. The Guest House has a large car park, a residents lounge, licensed bar and free Wi-Fi throughout and is totally NON SMOKING. We have Superior and Executive ground floor rooms, and all Executive and Superior Room has a fridge. The light and airy dining room is located on the ground floor serving breakfast and an optional fabulous 4 course home cooked dinner menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mount Edgcombe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Edgcombe Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing