We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful long weekend”
Review of Mount Edgcombe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mount Edgcombe
Ranked #18 of 149 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful long weekend”
Reviewed 26 June 2012

Everything was first class. Hotel, "superior room", lounge, dining area - all high standard and welcoming.
Pam's cooking is faultless, the evening meals were scrumptious. You can order a picnic and have your flask filled as well.
So much to see in the area - Babbington model village and cliff railway, Cockington, Buckfast Abbey, South Devon Railway with Butterfly/Otter House, Widdecombe, Little Pony centre (NW of Bovey Tracy), to name but a few.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beak138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    363
    30
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
59
276
7
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2012

I stayed here recently with a couple of friends on a Weekend Break.
I must admit that my previous experiences of seaside hotels hasn't always been good so when I arrived here I was absolutely delighted.
The welcome couldn't have been nicer, the room was perfect and just a short stroll from the beach, ideal.
The breakfast was superb, the room was spotless and spacious and as I've already stated, really good location.
Definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rae R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 10 June 2012

We returned yesterday (09/06/2012) stayed for a week and the service we received was second to none. Pam and David made us feel so welcome. Breakfast was brilliant, cooked from fresh. the room was massive, ample storage, clean and very spacious. Lots of informative leaflets on display and in our room. We travelled down by train and we were picked up and dropped back to the station, at no extra cost. Easy access to the beach, shops, and public transports. We would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: I read what is available in a room, ie. DVD player, TV, bathrobe, slippers, Jacuzzi etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beverley P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2012

We just got back from a lovely week (shame about the weather lol) Would definitely recommend this lovely BB, Pam and Dave were very informative and Pam makes a wonderful breakfast :-)

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank h2o78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 3 June 2012

Room was great, bed was massive which was needed as me and my partner are both 6 foot tall! Breakfast was amazing! Pam and David were very friendly. If I'm ever in Torquay again I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2012

we`ve stayed in some b&b`s/hotels over the years wow this place tops them all we had a warm welcome pam the host gave us all the information we needed for our 2 days break then told we had a free upgrade wow what a room massive bed very clean/tidy all the things you would need, even room service after hours the food was always cooked fresh would return and recommend the mount edgecombe to anyone visiting torquay well done pam/dave for making our 2 days break worth while.

Room Tip: the king size bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank johno t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2012

Stayed 4 nights bed and breakfast,wish we had stayed longer. Arrived at 1pm and were allowed to check in straight away. Pam who did this was very informative telling all about local amenitives and local bus services. Excellellent display of leaflets.We stayed in room 2 on the ground floor. The bed was very comfortable and was as wide as it was in length. The room and bathroom were very clean and nicely decorated. The breakfast were lovely as was the dining room.The hotel is about 10 mins walk from the Railway Station and about 15/20 mins walk to the town centre. On the last day we asked if we could have our breakfasts at 8.00 instead of 8.15 because we had a train to catch. No problem was the reply. Well done Pam and Dave for giving us a lovely break at your hotel. Next time we stay in Torquay we know where we will be staying

Room Tip: looked in room 1 and 3, which both overlook the front of the hotel. we stayed in room 2 which has a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jwalsh747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.2 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#24 of 87 in Torquay
2,763 reviews
0.0 mi away
The 25 Boutique B&B
The 25 Boutique B&B
#1 of 149 in Torquay
305 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Cleveland
The Cleveland
#6 of 149 in Torquay
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Kingsholm Hotel
Kingsholm Hotel
#8 of 149 in Torquay
766 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Albaston Boutique B&B
The Albaston Boutique B&B
#2 of 149 in Torquay
238 reviews
0.1 mi away
Glendower Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Edgcombe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Edgcombe

Property: Mount Edgcombe
Address: 23 Avenue Road, Torquay TQ2 5LB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mount Edgcombe 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mount Edgcombe, an attractive detached Victorian Villa built in 1880. Situated in a conservation area on a tree lined road, within easy walking distance of the sea front, town and conference centre, local attractions as well as the train and coach station (free courtesy transport available to and from the stations). All rooms are individually decorated to a high standard and are en suite. All rooms have as a minimum a 26 inch flat screen colour TV, with FreeView. The Guest House has a large car park, a residents lounge, licensed bar and free Wi-Fi throughout and is totally NON SMOKING. We have Superior and Executive ground floor rooms, and all Executive and Superior Room has a fridge. The light and airy dining room is located on the ground floor serving breakfast and an optional fabulous 4 course home cooked dinner menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Mount Edgcombe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Edgcombe Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing