We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a find!”
Review of Mount Edgcombe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mount Edgcombe
Ranked #15 of 149 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
surrey
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“What a find!”
Reviewed 25 July 2012

Just returned from our three night stay here with Pam and David who made us feel very welcome from the start.Our room(1)was a good size with a huge,very comfortable bed,and plenty of room.Bathroom was a little' tight',but all you need...shower,hand basin and loo....all spotlessly clean as was the whole hotel.Lots of lovely whilte towels of all sizes.... and room for all our clothes.(There are other rooms available with baths and showers etc etc)
Mount Edgcombe is in a great position....an easy walk into Torquay town centre,marina,harbour and the main beach,through Torre Abbey grounds.Torre Abbey gardens are free entry at the moment and well worth a look and a quiet sit to smell the lavender....very peaceful!You can leave your car in the car park just by your room and explore on foot.
We ate in on the first night,having a bar meal(fully stocked bar).....wow....all home cooked food by Pam.....chicken curry for my husband and a lasagne for me...lovely!!The breakfasts were great....all freshly cooked if you wanted it,kippers,fruit salad,cereals etc etcfull English,or cheese on toast.You can also order a picnic if you wish.....they seem to have thought of everything and certainly both work very hard to maintain an excellent standard.Having said all that,the prices are extremely reasonable and we would have no hesitation in recommending the Mount Egdcombe to anyone wanting a very affordable,comfortable stay in Torquay.We will certainly be back if we are in the area again in the future.

Room Tip: Ask what the room facilities are when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stickiesurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    390
    30
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
61
296
8
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oldham
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 July 2012

This was our third year staying at this hotel. The very high standards of cleanliness, friendly service and excellent food which we experienced on our first visit have been very well maintained. It is a credit to Pam and David.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teenagerrecycled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2012

Phenomenal. Clean, tidy, welcoming and everything you could want from a B and B. Breakfast was awesome and everything is cooked to perfection. My husband and I had a fantastic few days stay. The B and B is a credit to Dave and Pam.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gill R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2012

a great b&b with all home comforts.you are made to feel very welcome.food at breakfast and their evening meals are served to perfection and hot which makes a change.
we stayed in what they called the small double and it was more then adequate for our needs with all toiletries supplied.
it was situated within a 10 minute walk to the railway station and with a 25 minute gentle stroll along the seafront to the centre of Torquay.
The owners Pam and Dave are very welcoming to their home and are very helpful, anything you need just ask them.hubby wanted his coffee stronger we asked at night and the next morning Dave gave him his coffee and even made sure it was strong enough for him.
A lovely place to stay highly recommended and hopefully we will be returning soon for another pleasant weekend.

Room Tip: all rooms are suitable you are set back off a road with very little traffic noise and we had the win...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debbie186220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2012

My partner and I are currently staying here as part of this years holidays. Sadly not abroad this year. We are a same sex couple and though there is no mention of this being a gay friendly establishment. We have been made to feel very welcome by both Pam and David. This is certainly a "nothing is too much trouble" kind of place. They even agreed to put the plants we purchased today, one in the residents lounge, the rest in their courtyard garden. Even offering to give they some water, should they need it. Our room on the ground floor, faces the road. We were not troubled by traffic noise and slept well in the very comfortable king size bed. As per previous reviews, the breakfast smoothie made a very tasty addition to the wide choice available. So far, everything we have had at breakfast has been lovely. My partner who is disabled, couped well with getting into and out of building. There are only 3 steps and there is a hand rail to help. Ours was not the only ground floor room available.

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank bbri879
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2012

Just returned home from a wonderful trip in, Torquay We stayed in this lovely excellent B&B.
On arrival we were met by Owner Dave who was very friendly, welcoming and very informative. We were shown around the B&B prior to our room. The guest lounge, bar, dining room and B&B was clean, very spacious with lovely personal touches (you can see they take pride in their lovely B&B it was faultless) our room was beautiful, modern, clean and spacious.
Breakfast was brilliant! You receive a menu card in your room listing various breakfast options on what you would like to order etc- Full cooked English breakfast was excellent and cooked fresh to order. (By lovely Pam)There is also a breakfast buffet of various cereal, fruit, fruit juices and preserves (lovely). Pam and Dave also offer to make up a pack lunch if you request this.

This is an excellent B&B, the best that I have stayed in (and we have stayed in a few) I must say it’s a credit to Both Pam and Dave- you can see that there heart and soul's goes into this lovely B&B. Hats off to you both, you both made our stay very enjoyable and we would love to and will stay in you lovely B&B again " thank you" x
Mick and Jacqui

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacqui025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2012

Everything was first class. Hotel, "superior room", lounge, dining area - all high standard and welcoming.
Pam's cooking is faultless, the evening meals were scrumptious. You can order a picnic and have your flask filled as well.
So much to see in the area - Babbington model village and cliff railway, Cockington, Buckfast Abbey, South Devon Railway with Butterfly/Otter House, Widdecombe, Little Pony centre (NW of Bovey Tracy), to name but a few.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beak138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.5 mi away
The Meadfoot Bay
The Meadfoot Bay
#4 of 87 in Torquay
482 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay
0.1 mi away
Glendower Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Cleveland
The Cleveland
#4 of 149 in Torquay
373 reviews
0.0 mi away
The 25 Boutique B&B
The 25 Boutique B&B
#1 of 149 in Torquay
339 reviews
0.2 mi away
Avenue Park Guest House
Avenue Park Guest House
#36 of 149 in Torquay
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Edgcombe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Edgcombe

Property: Mount Edgcombe
Address: 23 Avenue Road, Torquay TQ2 5LB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mount Edgcombe 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mount Edgcombe, an attractive detached Victorian Villa built in 1880. Situated in a conservation area on a tree lined road, within easy walking distance of the sea front, town and conference centre, local attractions as well as the train and coach station (free courtesy transport available to and from the stations). All rooms are individually decorated to a high standard and are en suite. All rooms have as a minimum a 26 inch flat screen colour TV, with FreeView. The Guest House has a large car park, a residents lounge, licensed bar and free Wi-Fi throughout and is totally NON SMOKING. We have Superior and Executive ground floor rooms, and all Executive and Superior Room has a fridge. The light and airy dining room is located on the ground floor serving breakfast and an optional fabulous 4 course home cooked dinner menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and LateRooms so you can book your Mount Edgcombe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Edgcombe Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing