We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommended stay in Torquary”
Review of Mount Edgcombe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mount Edgcombe
Ranked #15 of 150 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Recommended stay in Torquary”
Reviewed 30 July 2012

Would recommend this hotel in Torquay, we stayed only one night but found the room very clean and comfortable, with excellent breakfast and very friendly proprietors. We propose to stay again as we have family close by.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    370
    30
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
60
280
7
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2012

What a find this little gem of a place was! We've just got back from 2 nights at Mount Edgcombe and were blown away by the standard of everything there. The welcome was fantastic. We took our guide dog and he was also made very welcome. The room was beautiful, enormous and spotlessly clean. Everything had been thought of. The breakfast was out of this world, fresh, tasty and piping hot. There's a lovely bar where David is a great host. We couldn't beleive what we got for the price we paid - excellent value. The only downside is that we had to leave! Highly recommend Mount Edgcombe to anyone visiting Torquay. We will certainly be returning to David and Pam and sooner rather than later.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wellychic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 29 July 2012

very clean and friendly B&B had a very nice short sta.y
my wife and I were made very welcome by Pam and David
bath room was a little tight but ok, our room was a bit hot as weather was lovely
excellent value for money, we enjoyed our short break very much

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wayne10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surrey
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2012

Just returned from our three night stay here with Pam and David who made us feel very welcome from the start.Our room(1)was a good size with a huge,very comfortable bed,and plenty of room.Bathroom was a little' tight',but all you need...shower,hand basin and loo....all spotlessly clean as was the whole hotel.Lots of lovely whilte towels of all sizes.... and room for all our clothes.(There are other rooms available with baths and showers etc etc)
Mount Edgcombe is in a great position....an easy walk into Torquay town centre,marina,harbour and the main beach,through Torre Abbey grounds.Torre Abbey gardens are free entry at the moment and well worth a look and a quiet sit to smell the lavender....very peaceful!You can leave your car in the car park just by your room and explore on foot.
We ate in on the first night,having a bar meal(fully stocked bar).....wow....all home cooked food by Pam.....chicken curry for my husband and a lasagne for me...lovely!!The breakfasts were great....all freshly cooked if you wanted it,kippers,fruit salad,cereals etc etcfull English,or cheese on toast.You can also order a picnic if you wish.....they seem to have thought of everything and certainly both work very hard to maintain an excellent standard.Having said all that,the prices are extremely reasonable and we would have no hesitation in recommending the Mount Egdcombe to anyone wanting a very affordable,comfortable stay in Torquay.We will certainly be back if we are in the area again in the future.

Room Tip: Ask what the room facilities are when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stickiesurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldham
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 July 2012

This was our third year staying at this hotel. The very high standards of cleanliness, friendly service and excellent food which we experienced on our first visit have been very well maintained. It is a credit to Pam and David.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teenagerrecycled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2012

Phenomenal. Clean, tidy, welcoming and everything you could want from a B and B. Breakfast was awesome and everything is cooked to perfection. My husband and I had a fantastic few days stay. The B and B is a credit to Dave and Pam.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gill R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2012

a great b&b with all home comforts.you are made to feel very welcome.food at breakfast and their evening meals are served to perfection and hot which makes a change.
we stayed in what they called the small double and it was more then adequate for our needs with all toiletries supplied.
it was situated within a 10 minute walk to the railway station and with a 25 minute gentle stroll along the seafront to the centre of Torquay.
The owners Pam and Dave are very welcoming to their home and are very helpful, anything you need just ask them.hubby wanted his coffee stronger we asked at night and the next morning Dave gave him his coffee and even made sure it was strong enough for him.
A lovely place to stay highly recommended and hopefully we will be returning soon for another pleasant weekend.

Room Tip: all rooms are suitable you are set back off a road with very little traffic noise and we had the win...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debbie186220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.5 mi away
The Meadfoot Bay
The Meadfoot Bay
#2 of 87 in Torquay
474 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#24 of 87 in Torquay
2,809 reviews
0.0 mi away
The 25 Boutique B&B
The 25 Boutique B&B
#1 of 150 in Torquay
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Glendower Bed and Breakfast
0.1 mi away
The Cleveland
The Cleveland
#5 of 150 in Torquay
368 reviews
1.1 mi away
Kingsholm Hotel
Kingsholm Hotel
#7 of 150 in Torquay
769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Edgcombe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Edgcombe

Property: Mount Edgcombe
Address: 23 Avenue Road, Torquay TQ2 5LB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 150 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mount Edgcombe 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mount Edgcombe, an attractive detached Victorian Villa built in 1880. Situated in a conservation area on a tree lined road, within easy walking distance of the sea front, town and conference centre, local attractions as well as the train and coach station (free courtesy transport available to and from the stations). All rooms are individually decorated to a high standard and are en suite. All rooms have as a minimum a 26 inch flat screen colour TV, with FreeView. The Guest House has a large car park, a residents lounge, licensed bar and free Wi-Fi throughout and is totally NON SMOKING. We have Superior and Executive ground floor rooms, and all Executive and Superior Room has a fridge. The light and airy dining room is located on the ground floor serving breakfast and an optional fabulous 4 course home cooked dinner menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mount Edgcombe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Edgcombe Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing