We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mount Edgcombe the place to stay if your going to Torquay.”
Review of Mount Edgcombe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mount Edgcombe
Ranked #13 of 149 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 August 2012

Well what can you say about Mount Edgecome.
From the time we arrived to the time we left the welcome we recieved was outstanding.
Pam & David made us feel realy welcome,nothings to much trouble, they are a realy nice couple. The accomodation was exellent the room was huge with a king size bed,and settee plus side tables , a dressing table and even a small mini fridge that we could keep cold drinks in. The en- suite was immaculate and looked brand new. The room was serviced everyday & the place was spotlessly clean. The breakfasts are as big as you want and the food is exellent. We have stayed in some Hotels around the world that would be put to shame if they were to be compared to the Mount Edgcombe. It certainly is a great place to stay & is also quite a short walk to the harbour and front. We will defitintely be staying there again and will recomend it to our friends and family if there going to stay in Torquay. Top people and a top place.The reputation they have gained already is well deserved.
R.Robinson. Stafford. UK.

Room Tip: We had room (2) its huge and the bed is about 7ft wide & extreamly comfy and it looks out onto a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ross R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (461)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

377 - 383 of 461 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2012

We have stayed before and we will stay again !! Always very good service, very nice people and excellent food. When you start talking to other guests and most visit on a regular basis it speaks volumes.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mike l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2012

So much for kids to do in Torquay.
10 minute walk through gardens to the seafront.
could have spent a week here exploring instead of just the weekend.
lovely breakfast and hospitality.
Can't ask for more!

Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
Thank Nick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2012

As other reviewers have stated, super proprietors David & Pam make your stay a wonderful one. Always very welcoming with big beaming smiles, nothing too much trouble, and food plentiful and first class. Love my full English Breakfasts, and needed to do plenty of walking to justify clearing my plate every morning ! Didn't do the evening meals as we liked to get out and about, but everyone who did eat evening meals during our stay that we spoke to, seemed to echo our impressions of breakfast - top quality and delicious ! Anything we enquired about was dealt with instantly and with a smile - a genuine smile - how can you be so pleasant with everyone? Shows why I'm not in this business !
This was our second stay here, and although a five minute walk to seafront, we would not consider another guest house in Torquay after staying here. Some little gems you stumble upon and would like to keep to yourself, but Pam & David are diamonds to share !
Rooms very clean and comfortable, well stocked with extras and nice little touches. Laptop in the lounge and free wifi available throughout, which pleased our 11 year old as he was getting withdrawal symptoms from his x-box left at home. Plenty of parking out front, which was good as I never like leaving the car on the road. Recommend you looking at their website at all the facilities - cannot see anyone being disappointed after a stay here. Wonderful !

Room Tip: stayed in two different rooms now, and both equally as good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pedro54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2012

What a marvellous hotel to stay at. Pam & David are the most welcoming of hosts, who never thought anything was too much trouble, we thought the breaakfasts were to die for but the evening meals were out of this world!! We stayed 7 nights and found the rom we were in very comfortable (The Edcombe Suite). The hotel is decorated to a high standard, we couldn't fault anything during our stay. Perfect !!
Thanks to you both for making our holiday most enjoyable.
Les & Sue.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leslie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

Would recommend this hotel in Torquay, we stayed only one night but found the room very clean and comfortable, with excellent breakfast and very friendly proprietors. We propose to stay again as we have family close by.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012

What a find this little gem of a place was! We've just got back from 2 nights at Mount Edgcombe and were blown away by the standard of everything there. The welcome was fantastic. We took our guide dog and he was also made very welcome. The room was beautiful, enormous and spotlessly clean. Everything had been thought of. The breakfast was out of this world, fresh, tasty and piping hot. There's a lovely bar where David is a great host. We couldn't beleive what we got for the price we paid - excellent value. The only downside is that we had to leave! Highly recommend Mount Edgcombe to anyone visiting Torquay. We will certainly be returning to David and Pam and sooner rather than later.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wellychic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torquay
2.5 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#9 of 85 in Torquay
618 reviews
20.5 mi away
Gidleigh Park
Gidleigh Park
#1 of 2 in Chagford
1,179 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Elmdene
The Elmdene
#17 of 149 in Torquay
521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
The Sandpiper Guest House
The Sandpiper Guest House
#21 of 149 in Torquay
346 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Albaston Boutique B&B
The Albaston Boutique B&B
#2 of 149 in Torquay
304 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#22 of 85 in Torquay
3,186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Edgcombe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Edgcombe

Address: 23 Avenue Road, Torquay TQ2 5LB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range: £67 - £77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mount Edgcombe 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mount Edgcombe, an attractive detached Victorian Villa built in 1880. Situated in a conservation area on a tree lined road, within easy walking distance of the sea front, town and conference centre, local attractions as well as the train and coach station (free courtesy transport available to and from the stations). All rooms are individually decorated to a high standard and are en suite. All rooms have as a minimum a 26 inch flat screen colour TV, with FreeView. The Guest House has a large car park, a residents lounge, licensed bar and free Wi-Fi throughout and is totally NON SMOKING. We have Superior and Executive ground floor rooms, and all Executive and Superior Room has a fridge. The light and airy dining room is located on the ground floor serving breakfast and an optional fabulous 4 course home cooked dinner menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mount Edgcombe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Edgcombe Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing