We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mount Edgcombe
Nearby Hotels
The Richwood(Torquay)
US$139
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$165
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Elmington Hotel(Torquay)(Great Value!)
US$99
US$96
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$116
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Cimon(Torquay)
US$126
US$122
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$160
US$141
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Travelodge Torquay(Torquay)(Great Value!)
US$85
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Marquis Hotel(Torquay)
US$126
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Yardley Manor Hotel(Torquay)(Great Value!)
US$86
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$146
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (471)
Filter reviews
471 results
Traveller rating
437
30
2
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
437
30
2
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjacuzzi bathb bsea fronttorre abbeynothing is too much troublecooked to perfectionevening meals arehotel is spotlessly cleangreat hostsguest housefresh milkmini fridgehome cookedrecommend this hotelon arrivalwouldn't stay anywhere elsefirst class
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
352 - 357 of 471 reviews
Reviewed 12 April 2013

Very comfortable room and good facilities. Had room 3 - was exceptionally clean, Staff very attentive and kind. Lovely breakfast choices and the full English was cooked to perfection. Its only a short walk to Torre abbey and the gardens, sea front, leisure centre and the shops of Torquay.

Room Tip: Had room 3 (road facing) but the double glazing kept traffic noise to an acceptable level,
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrij W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2013 via mobile

We returned to Mount Edgcombe for our second visit in April 2013 for 3 nights. After our last visit in July 2012 we wouldn't stay anywhere else in South Devon.

Once again, Pam and David's guesthouse was spotlessly clean, brimming with unintrusive hospitality and generally fabulous. The price we paid was excellent value for money.

We stayed in room 2 which is enormous with a massive bed. We love the high quality bedding which is used. A change from last year was that there was a really cute Kilner bottle of fresh milk in the little fridge to use with the tea and coffee. This is a lovely and very welcome touch. Everything you might need is provided; plenty of towels and a flannel, shower cap, cotton wool and cotton buds, tissues, complimentary toiletries, hair dryer and my parter was over the moon to find the alarm clock had a dock for his beloved iPhone!

We love to while away some time in the evenings in the bar with David, who is a brilliantly entertaining host. At least this time we made it to breakfast each morning!

Breakfast is exceptional. We had a cooked breakfast each morning, but there is lots of choice of alternatives. Our breakfast was piping hot, beautifully cooked and delicious. We liked the fact that the portion was just right and not piled high on the plate so as to be off putting. There was also extras like cereal, yogurt and fruit available. The coffee, served in cafetieres was very good and decaf was happily provided for me.

We are quite pinickety people and we just cannot find fault with Mount Edgcombe. Staying anywhere else in the area would now feel like cheating! Besides, I doubt anywhere else would be up to Pam and David's standards.

We've already enquired about returning in a couple of months time.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wellychic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2013

Another visit to our favourite guest house in Torquay - this time to also celebrate an 18th Birthday. Pam and David were fantastic as ever, assisting in planning a 'balloon decorated' champagne breakfast and looking after all our needs. Brilliant hosts, accommodation, food and location. Pam and David always welcome our family too - who live in Plymouth - when they visit us at Mount Edgcombe. Torquay, Mount Edgcombe and catching-up with Pam and David is becoming a family tradition and long may it continue!! Highly recommended - thank you Pam and David for looking after us :)

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tru U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

booked a weekend away with groupon or kgb deal up graded to a sea view room on arrival a warm and friendly welcome shown to our room with lovely views of the sea room big and very clean breakfast was plenty and the owners could not do enough had a excellent weekend and would definatly be returning to stay again

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dawn n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2013

We booked the night before on a last minute decision to get away for a bit. We arrived in the afternoon and we were warmly welcomed and showed to our room, we then had a choice between two rooms - we chose number 9. The room was smallish, but when we booked we knew it would be a small room. There was everything we needed - coffee, tea, hot chocolate, milk, towels, plenty of cupboard space etc. and the TV was really easy to operate. The breakfast was lovely and you could choose what you wanted as well. The hotel is a nice walk away from the beach and town. We recommend this hotel and will certainly stay again. Thank you Pam and David.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Estelle23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews