We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good”
Review of Mount Edgcombe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mount Edgcombe
Ranked #12 of 149 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Mount Edgcombe is very good family run hotel in Torque (Devon, England, The United Kingdom). The hotel is very hospitality, clean and pretty comfortable. It is good location. All Torque's entertaining places and beach are very close by walk or short car trip.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yuri C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (462)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

323 - 329 of 462 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2013

Stayed here for the second time and it was again lovely. The rooms are comfortable and quite. They offer lots of choice for all meals etc and I really love the menu for breakfast so you have lots of choice :-) and it taste lovely. The location is a good walk to the town through the Abbey and by the bowling green then along sea front all stunning :-)

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank h2o78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

We decided on Sunday morning to get in the car and go to Torquay, on arrival we called at the Mount Edgecombe to see Pam and David, we had stayed here last year, and they accommodated us with a 4 nights stay in the edgecombe suite room 5,situated at the back of hotel very quiet and private... the bathroom having a double jacuzzi and seperate double shower all with fresh clean towels and all toiletteries...Bedroom as a lovely comfy bed..bedside tables with drawers..bedside lamps...radio...tea/coffee... mugs... kettle...biscuits...small fridge with quaint glass bottle of fresh milk...t.towel... easy chair...wardrobe plenty of hanging space with coat hangers drawers beneath...dressing table /chair with drawers and mirror...alittle dish of sweets...a container with needle and cottons..cottonwool balls...shower cap...box of tissues... hairdryer...bible...full length mirror...flat screen tv/dvd on the wall...the hotel lounge is cosy as tv...books... dvd's to borrow to watch in your room...laptop for guests to use...wi.fi. which is an added touch for those that need it...cosy little bar stocked with wine bottle beers and spirits...dining room well furnished bright and clean...breakfast is well cooked and presented lovely...theres a wide choice to choose from the menu...served with a bright and cheerful manner always asking if you need or want any more...evening meals,bar meals or bar snacks and picnic lunches are available...the hotel throughout is spotlessly clean...Pam and David are so welcoming and nothing is any bother, you only have to ask and if they can help with any requests they are obliging...The carpark is kept clean and sufficient parking for all 10rooms.. hanging baskets adorn the front entrance which look bright and cheerful....there is a little garden area leading out from the dining room with lovely colourful flowers and huge orange and yellow flowered hanging baskets...a key provided so no restrictions as to getting in at any time day/night... The hotel is about 10/15 minutes walk through the Torre Abbey gardens into the harbour seafront and shops all on flat level (no hill climbing) the railway station is several yards up the road from hotel and lots of local buses to use nearby...ferry to Brixham is £2 return... Cockington village is a must to visit catch the local bus takes you right into the village...Paignton £5.10p day rider on the number 12 bus or free if you have a bus pass...All in all you will not be dissapointed with this hotel...don't hessitate to book it... 'Thankyou' once again Pam and David for a wonderful stay...

Room Tip: All the rooms are excellent...comfy and spotlessly clean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GertDerbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

my husband and I had a lovely stay at mount edgcombe pam and dave made us feel very welcome the breakfast and evening meal was very nice a very good choice of food also room was very nice with a small fridge

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank keith h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

We were happy here, the owners are friendly and happy who Cleary take pride in there bnb and there's no surprise why. Its a warm and clean place and you feel welcome there. Its a short but lovly walk to the beach and town. Definitely coming back next year. Thank you.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Becks&Paul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at Mount Edgcombe. Pam and David were very friendly and helpful and the breakfasts were delicious with a very good choice of food. We had a basic double room but even this had a small fridge and a very comfortable settee next to the window. The bed was also very comfortable and everything was spotless. The location is good as it is only a short walk to the seafront through the Abbey Gardens. If you don`t have a car then buses are nearby and run regularly, plus the ferry from Torquay to Brixham is great value at £2 return and is only about 15 mins walk away. There is a cosy lounge with a wide choice of DVD`s which you can take to your room, books you can borrow and even a laptop you can use. The hotel has free wi fi which was great and is one of the things I look for when booking anywhere. The only slight downside was that we had a front room next to the busy road with traffic late at night and early morning. However, this is probably not an issue with a lot of people, but we don`t live near a road where traffic noise is an issue and so are not used to it. I would thoroughly recommend this hotel and would certainly go again but book a rear room next time :-)

Room Tip: The hotel is situated on a busy road so rear facing rooms will probably be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandra w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2013

We stayed for four days in this cosy, wunderful hotel. Although we booked a "small double room" - the room contained in addition to the bed a sofa and there was enough space for all our lugage.

The start in the morning (although you need to show up for breakfast between 08:15 and 09:15 ... for us personally rather early) is simply "delicious" - as the owner prepares freshly for you, the various choices that you crossed the evening before on the breakfast order list.

We appreciated very much this service - and are certainly staying again in this house, if we will have the occasion to come back to the Torquay area.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roli_CH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torquay
2.5 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#9 of 85 in Torquay
624 reviews
20.5 mi away
Gidleigh Park
Gidleigh Park
#1 of 2 in Chagford
1,193 reviews
0.4 mi away
Torcroft Boutique B&B
Torcroft Boutique B&B
#9 of 149 in Torquay
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Westgate
The Westgate
#11 of 149 in Torquay
330 reviews
0 mi away
The 25 Boutique B&B
The 25 Boutique B&B
#1 of 149 in Torquay
382 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Charterhouse
The Charterhouse
#5 of 149 in Torquay
814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Edgcombe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Edgcombe

Address: 23 Avenue Road, Torquay TQ2 5LB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range: £67 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mount Edgcombe 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mount Edgcombe, an attractive detached Victorian Villa built in 1880. Situated in a conservation area on a tree lined road, within easy walking distance of the sea front, town and conference centre, local attractions as well as the train and coach station (free courtesy transport available to and from the stations). All rooms are individually decorated to a high standard and are en suite. All rooms have as a minimum a 26 inch flat screen colour TV, with FreeView. The Guest House has a large car park, a residents lounge, licensed bar and free Wi-Fi throughout and is totally NON SMOKING. We have Superior and Executive ground floor rooms, and all Executive and Superior Room has a fridge. The light and airy dining room is located on the ground floor serving breakfast and an optional fabulous 4 course home cooked dinner menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Mount Edgcombe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Edgcombe Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing