We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice, welcoming and friendly would go again.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Mount Edgcombe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mount Edgcombe
Ranked #24 of 153 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice, welcoming and friendly would go again.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2014

Good location, no need to use the car as do close to sea front. Really nice people and service excellent. Comfortable beds, which if you have a bad back is good and nice rooms. So many things to see and do. Drive to Shaldon for fab views.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rooney116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    337
    29
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
51
258
6
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
england
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2013

it is a lovely place to stay you are all ways given a first class service ,,, we have been and stayed with Dave and pam lots of time the hotel is clean all the rooms are well decorated and spacious I think we have stayed in all the rooms and they are all good and the food is all ways hot and the hospitality given is all ways fab

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annabell421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

It was a lovely stay at Mount Edgecombe, the hosts were welcoming and the breakfast delicious. Having lived in the area a number of years ago this was our base for a flying visit to meet up with the family and we weren't disappointed. The room was comfortable and well appointed, the decoration was fresh and up to date.Thanks for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gallygaskins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

We have always been unsure about staying in B&B's so have always opted for Travelodges etc. After reading the reviews on Trip Adviser we decided to take a chance and we were glad we did. We were greeted by David and Pam on our arrival and shown to a lovely clean and spacious room which had everything that you could possibly need for a comfortable stay. Breakfast was lovely and cooked to order. Overall we were so pleased we had chosen to stay at the Mount Edgcombe and will definitely be staying again when we next visit Devon. Thank you Pam and David. Sharon and steve from Bognor.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shazsteve2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

Upon arrival, we were warmly greeted, and given a map of the area, along with a brief overview of the local attractions, and a couple of recommendations of where to go to eat.
The hotel was nicely decorated and homely, and very clean (very important to my wife).
Our room was the Edgcombe Suite, which had a very modern bathroom, including a jet-spa bath. Very relaxing after a long day of walking up and down the all of the hills in the area.
There were plenty of sockets in the room for laptops, phone chargers etc., although the wifi was somewhat sketchy, and the signal wasn't very strong in the room, but the residents lounge downstairs offered much better wifi reception, so it wasn't really a problem. Also, you could borrow DVD's to watch in your room, as the TV in the room had built in DVD capability.
The breakfast selection was excellent, and expertly prepared, with cereals, fruit and cooked food all available. Everything was freshly prepared, and our hosts were keen to ensure that we had plenty to eat.
There is on site parking, which is a big plus, and as the town is within easy walking distance, we didn't need to move the car the whole time we were here.
All in all, my wife and I couldn't recommend this hotel enough, and will definitely visit again when in the area.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

I took my mum away for a few days & stayed at Mount Edgcombe, a lovely, clean (very high on my priorities) very, very welcoming b&b. I booked late & had a twin room on ground floor which was very clean, warm & comfortable with everything you need including tea & coffee, a mini fridge, you are able to borrow dvds from the lounge to watch in your own room or in the lounge. Lovely bar area & the breakfast was superb with a very varied choice, we did not have an evening meal but, I'm sure it would of been to the same excellent standard as the breakfast. It is a short walk to the seafront so location is ideal, you can hear traffic but, only slightly if at the front but, I am a very light sleeper & wear earplugs all the time not just whilst away so not a problem. Pam & David are very welcoming & friendly & would definately stay again when next visiting Torquay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suz187047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

My Partner and I have just returned from our stay of 3 nights in the Edgcombe Suite, at Mount Edgcombe.

Upon arrival we were greeted and welcomed by Pam, showed around the communal facilities and then up to our room. Each room was tastefully decorated and Clean. Pam ensured we were settled and should we need anything was more than willing to help where possible.

The residents lounge included a large flat screen TV (wall mounted), ample seating on Leather sofa's and arrange of Dvd's of which you were welcome to choose from throughout your stay.

Dining room was set out nicely, each morning your table was awaiting your arrival, Hot Coffee and Food was never a long wait and was tasteful, My Partner requested a large breakfast and it was plentiful.

The Bar was available each evening, however we did not use this.

The Edgcombe Suite was on the first floor at the back of the building, a Beautiful large Bathroom, Double shower and the reason we booked the room - Double Jacuzzi bath.
We really did enjoy the facilities in the bathroom. The room included a comfortable double bed, Dressing table, wardrobe, seating, wall mounted TV with Dvd player, Tea and Coffee Facilities and a mini fridge with fresh milk! We were very comfortable and happy through out our visit.

Other rooms were open and you could see each decorated nicely, and clean. Other rooms offered larger beds King and i believe bigger again - however not the same bathroom facilities.

Room Tip: Suite- has Double shower and Double Jacuzzi bath with Double bed and limited view. other rooms d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emu699
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.6 mi away
The Albaston Boutique B&B
The Albaston Boutique B&B
#3 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kings Lodge
Kings Lodge
#6 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bentley Lodge
Bentley Lodge
#7 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Torcroft Boutique B&B
Torcroft Boutique B&B
#11 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Redholme
The Redholme
#2 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
0.1 mi away
Briarfields
Briarfields
#12 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Edgcombe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Edgcombe

Property: Mount Edgcombe
Address: 23 Avenue Road, Torquay TQ2 5LB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 153 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mount Edgcombe 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mount Edgcombe, an attractive detached Victorian Villa built in 1880. Situated in a conservation area on a tree lined road, within easy walking distance of the sea front, town and conference centre, local attractions as well as the train and coach station (free courtesy transport available to and from the stations). All rooms are en suite on the ground or first floor, having TV / DVD players and a mini fridge. The Guest House has a large car park, a residents lounge, licensed bar and free Wi-Fi throughout and totally NON SMOKING. The light and airy dining room is located on the ground floor serving breakfast and an optional fabulous 4 course dinner menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Mount Edgcombe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Edgcombe Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing