We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very welcoming hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Crimdon Dene Guest House
Ranked #58 of 150 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 September 2012

Stayed here at the end of August for a short break (weather was poor) but the hotel was excellent could not have asked for better. Would use again. Breakfast was fantastic just have to remember to tell Margaret if you want a change.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (236)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

122 - 128 of 236 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2012

Stayed here August 2012 whilst on business. Like a lot of hotels reviews, people tend to harp on about negative things, In this case you would find it very hard. This hotel is run by a lovely couple who can't do enough to help and like other reviews state their breakfast is fantastic with choices of cereal, fresh fruit,Yoghurt and of course the super cooked English. One thing people fail to mention is that this hotel also as a bar which is fully stocked with virtually every drink you can think of. So after a hard day you just want to sit down an unwind with a beer or wine whilst you have good conversation this is the place to be. Whenever I am in this vacinity again I will always try and get in this hotel first...really is excellent!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lee p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2012

Stayed here july 12 and have to say what a pleasant time we all had. The B&B is situated about 10 mins stroll from the front in a quiet road with free on road parking if needed. We parked in B&B car spaces (about six) On arrival we were made very welcome by Margaret&John and given lots of info about area and where to eat and drink. I must say we had 2 rooms and everything about them was faultless, they were spotlessly clean and tidy as was everywhere else in b&b. Now onto the breakfasts WOW all the fresh fruit you can imagine and Johns homemade yogurts are something else you must try these, a good selection of food full english etc excellent quality and plenty enough to see you through to evening meal. We drank at the Bull and bush pub just round the corner and also the London inn (Wetherspoons) on front by Debenhams and at the Hole in the wall across the road. We ate at London inn, Amica's italian and also Simla indian, have to say the Italian was the best meal of the week by a mile although a little expensive but ey your on holiday. Food at London inn typical spoons cheap and cheerfull and ok. Simla indian meal not brilliant but eatable and the staff need some lessons in interacting with the customers and need to learn how to smile!!! Drink prices in italian and indian to expensive in my opinian. Quite a difference in drink prices from place to place with London inn the cheapest just over £7 for round and Hole in the wall the dearest at over £10 for the same round of drinks. Also we paid £9 plus for 4 soft whippy ice creams from the place by the theatre then found a place a few days later opposite the harbour bar & cafe and got the same for £5. All in all we had a great week and would recommend the Crimdon Dene to others and would stay there again if in Torquay.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank STF_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2012

I enjoyed my stay at The Crimdon Dene very much. It is in a very good location, but more importantly it is managed by Margaret and John who are a lovely couple, very down to earth and friendly. I noticed how much people must enjoy staying here as they had some guests who were obviously regulars and keep returning there.

The cooked breakfasts were really nice and the choice of fruits, cereals and yoghurts etc were way beyond what you would normally expect in a guest house. John will always come out of the kitchen into the breakfast room and greet everyone in the morning(in colourful chef's attire :-).

The hotel is very clean and well kept too. For the price of £30 a night for a single room you just can't go wrong. I'd much rather stay here and receive the hospitality you get than in some large corporate hotel were your just a room number. There is also room for a few cars to park on the forecourt as well.

Thanks for the lovely stay.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank abitgaga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2012 via mobile

The breakfasts were delicious and margaret and John put so much effort into making your stay a great one. I enjoyed the stay very much. The location was great as there were lots of nice restaurants and a fair and also a firework display when we went.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FoodLovi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2012

Once again we would like to thank Margaret & john for their kindness and hospitality in helping to make it a memorable holiday. Their excepional array of fresh fruit,cereals,yoghurts and fruit juices and Johns full English breakfast cannot be bettered anywhere else. (love the trousers John !!!!) A very clean hotel in a good location.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eric d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2012

Every year,I take my mother and sister to Torquay,and especially, to stay at Crimdon Dene.I live outside the UK and it is extremely important that we have a great time as I have a limited time that I can be back in England.We would never return time and again if this hotel was not first class in every aspect.My mother loves "the breakfast" and my sister and I enjoy it all especially the yoghurts and marmalade.The rooms are comfortable,clean and always well maintained with decor and furnishings up dated.Margaret and John are the perfect hosts and would do anything above and beyond normal expectations to make their guests' stays enjoyable.This is a wonderful place to stay.We plan on returning next year for our twelfth visit.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel Peppers
Hotel Peppers
#18 of 86 in Torquay
286 reviews
0.2 mi away
Southbank Hotel
Southbank Hotel
#45 of 86 in Torquay
154 reviews
0.0 mi away
Avenue Park Guest House
Avenue Park Guest House
#32 of 150 in Torquay
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Shirley Hotel
Shirley Hotel
#27 of 150 in Torquay
659 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Robin Hill Hotel
The Robin Hill Hotel
#38 of 150 in Torquay
177 reviews
1.0 mi away
Kingsholm Hotel
Kingsholm Hotel
#8 of 150 in Torquay
792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crimdon Dene Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crimdon Dene Guest House

Address: Falkland Road, Torquay TQ2 5JP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 150 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range: £67 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crimdon Dene Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A quality 4 star Guest House, TripAdvisor's Certificates of Exellence. EnjoyEngland Breakfast award 2014, 2015 & 2016. Totally 100% non-smoking for everyone's comfort, we are situated in a tree lined road close to all amenities with a friendly service, most rooms refurbished recently to a good standard, ground & upper floor bedrooms, our dining room is on the lower ground floor (sorry we do not have a lift). We provide a great breakfast recommended by regular guests. Margaret & John have owned the Crimdon Dene since 1999 & would like to welcome you to stay with us and become one of our regular guests. On site car parking, free WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Crimdon Dene Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crimdon Dene Torquay
Crimdon Dene Guest House Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing