We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“superb stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Crimdon Dene Guest House
Ranked #59 of 150 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Noosa, Queensland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“superb stay”
Reviewed 9 July 2013

After extensive travelling around Europe and England it was an absolute pleasure to stay at Crimdon Dene, a home away from home. Our ensuite bedroom was well appointed with everything for a comfortable stay. The breakfast was delicious with all tastes catered for. The seafront and town center is within easy walking distance and the surrounding area has many day visit opportunities.Many Thanks to Margaret and John who where fantastic and the care and attention shown was certainly genuine.
We'll see you again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sam P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    207
    18
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
55
80
43
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Darlington, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2013

We are a couple of pensioners who like our home comforts and would definatley recommend this place for that .Spotlessly clean. Wonderful breakfast. Very friendly and accommodating owners, John and Margret. Lots to do in the surrounding area. On a bus route from town. We would definatley return in the future. Easy place to get to. Only five minutes from the train station. A fifteen minute walk to the harbour and shops. A generally quite place. Lots of places in the harbour for meals out.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Diane A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michigan
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

This hotel only gets better.We have been staying at Crimdon Dene for many years and have never returned home disappointed.From the first greeting to the last goodbye, John and Margaret are the perfect hosts; their concern for all of their guests is genuine and friendly.My mother always looks forward to her stay and, of course, the phenomenal breakfast that can never be refused.
I would recommend this hotel to all travellers in the Torquay area, you will never regret staying with John and Margaret.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warminster, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2013

Stayed for two nights at the end of May and beginning of June. Met by John and Margaret on arrival who treated us straight away like members of their family. Room met all our needs (clean and comfortable), and breakfast was superb to say the least. The sea front and town were a short drive away or a walk of about 15 minutes. We have nothing but praise for the Crimdon Dene, and our hosts. We would certainly stay again if we go back and visit Torquay or surrounding area.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank steveparmwiltshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2013

This was our first visit to the Crimdon Dene and we were quite astonished. Great location as the waterfront area is only a 15 minute walk away. The hotel was absolutely spotless, rooms are very large and well equipped, toilet and shower facilites are perfect, and the lobby/bar area is cheerful and bright. The breakfast area was unbelievable as we'd never seen a bigger selection of cereals, fruit and yogurt. The english breakfast was superb...loved the bacon. John and Margaret are the perfect hosts, they made sure our stay was memorable and they even took us to the train station during a rainfall. Without question, we would stay here again on our next visit.
Craig, Barb, Anthony and Neal
Winnipeg, Canada

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Craig H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 30 May 2013

We have just returned from a fab bank holiday weekend in Torquay.I must say that our stay in this hotel was absolutely amazing.Margaret and John were very friendly and helpful.The hotel had a very pleasant ambiance and the room was very clean and bright.I must say to top it all we had a best breakfast away from home.There was a wide selection of fresh fruits,juices, cereals and yogurts along with the hot english breakfast.Our son loved the homemade fresh fruit jam the most.I am sure this is among the best hotels in Torquay.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Girish M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silsden, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 May 2013

stopped at the crimdon dene hotel , in Torquay Margret and john could not have been better hosts. hotel was lovely and clean and comfortable , also well stocked bar at reasonable prices. would recommend this hotel to anybody , as the breakfasts are something special. Thanks again for a lovely holiday.

Room Tip: choose room 2
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.1 mi away
Kelvin House Hotel
Kelvin House Hotel
#47 of 87 in Torquay
69 reviews
1.0 mi away
Harbour Heights Guest House
0.1 mi away
Abbeyfield Hotel
Abbeyfield Hotel
#7 of 87 in Torquay
531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Trelawney Hotel
Trelawney Hotel
#44 of 87 in Torquay
111 reviews
0.4 mi away
Elmington Hotel
Elmington Hotel
#41 of 87 in Torquay
101 reviews
0.1 mi away
Brandize Hotel
Brandize Hotel
#27 of 87 in Torquay
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crimdon Dene Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crimdon Dene Guest House

Property: Crimdon Dene Guest House
Address: Falkland Road, Torquay TQ2 5JP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 150 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Crimdon Dene Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A quality 4 star Guest House, TripAdvisor's Certificates of Exellence. EnjoyEngland Breakfast award 2014, 2015 & 2016. Totally 100% non-smoking for everyone's comfort, we are situated in a tree lined road close to all amenities with a friendly service, most rooms refurbished recently to a good standard, ground & upper floor bedrooms, our dining room is on the lower ground floor (sorry we do not have a lift). We provide a great breakfast recommended by regular guests. Margaret & John have owned the Crimdon Dene since 1999 & would like to welcome you to stay with us and become one of our regular guests. On site car parking, free WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Crimdon Dene Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crimdon Dene Torquay
Crimdon Dene Guest House Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing