We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Southbourne Villa,Torquay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Southbourne Villa
Ranked #51 of 149 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Southbourne Villa,Torquay”
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We spent 3 nights here whilst visiting my parents in Brixham. I have never seen a place so clean!!!
The carpets and everything else are spotless,our room was also.It had a small fridge with complementary water,still and fizzy,plus soaps etc in bathroom.LCD tv,free wifi and tea/coffee making facility.
We were welcomed on arrival with a pot of tea and plate of biscuits by David who is always happy to offer advice on where to go or eat.All in all a very nice place to stay,very comfortable bed by the way>

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cfcvic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    222
    6
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
18
157
9
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
NorthWest England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2013

David & Edna couldn't have done more for us, very friendly and helpful. From our room, to the breakfast area to the exterior of the building, it couldn't have been cleaner. The room and bathroom was modern with everything we could have needed. Breakfast was lovely with a vast array of everything from jams, to yoghurt, to cereal and of course the full English!

It's in a fab location, we didn't touch the car for the whole 3 nights we was there, as everything was in walking distance, the little shops you could buy drinks from, the beach, the lovely pier to walk along and of course the shops and eating areas.

If your heading to Torquay I couldn't recommend this place any more, were already planning a return visit next year; and we'd go back more often if it wasn't for the 260 mile car journey.

Room Tip: I forgot the Number, but it was at the top of the stairs, with the window overlooking the hot tub an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jadey-Jade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 June 2013 via mobile

I was here on business and to be greeted and offered tea and biscuits on my arrival was a very welcome gesture. The room was very clean and spacious with gorgeous toiletries!:)
Fresh milk in the mini fridge was a great relief as I hate UHT!
The breakfast was delicious and a fantastic selection of fruit and cereal!
Will definitely be staying here again if its not fully booked!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grubeaten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donaghadee
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2013

Just had a fabulous weekend in the Southbourne. Everything about the place is perfect - from location to service you could not fault it. Its décor and cleanliness is 5* and the detail that goes into every aspect of the hotel is spot on!
Would definitely return!!

Room Tip: Rooms 2 & 3 are at the front of the property looking out on the terrace with its hot tub!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jazycam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thornton Cleveleys, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

I had a three night stay at this guest house ...excellent service and very clean ...lovely touches..lovely comfy bed..very tasty breakfast with plenty of choice....well situated...nothing to much trouble....suffice to say I have rebooked !! :)

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
candy19
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 June 2013

We stay 2 nights here and would highly recommend this b&b. The hosts were very nice and very helpful. The rooms were spotless and the bed was the best I have slept in. The breakfast was delicious and the hot tube was a lovely touch to relax in after a busy day. would defiantly stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank candy19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rayleigh, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 25 May 2013

We had a four night stay at this guest house and would highly recommend it. Immaculately kept and very clean. Rooms modern with exceptional comfy beds. David and Edna do a great job. Do try if you want to stay in Torquay.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hazel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.4 mi away
Headland View
Headland View
#47 of 149 in Torquay
174 reviews
0.1 mi away
Glenorleigh
Glenorleigh
#57 of 149 in Torquay
58 reviews
0.1 mi away
Garway Lodge
Garway Lodge
#29 of 149 in Torquay
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mariners Guest House
Mariners Guest House
#65 of 149 in Torquay
108 reviews
0.3 mi away
Avenue Park Guest House
Avenue Park Guest House
#50 of 149 in Torquay
355 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Hillcroft - Boutique unique
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Southbourne Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Southbourne Villa

Property: The Southbourne Villa
Address: 9 Cleveland Road, Torquay TQ2 5BD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Southbourne Villa 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Southbourne Villa, hot tub and garden decking area with sunbeds and bistro tables and chairs. A south-facing sun trap. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Priceline so you can book your The Southbourne Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Southbourne Villa Hotel Torquay
The Southbourne Villa Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing