We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Faultless”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Southbourne Villa
Ranked #76 of 149 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 July 2014

From the moment we arrived and were greeted with a tray of tea and biscuits until the moment we left we could not fault the friendliness, the cleanliness, the breakfast choice and quality and the comfort of the beds. Already looking forward to our next stay.

Room Tip: Ask not to have the sleigh bed if you are very tall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lewmilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (240)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

80 - 86 of 240 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2014

After travelling all day it was great to be greeted with a tray of tea, coffee and biscuits by our host, David who made us feel most welcome and relaxed. The quality and cleanliness of our room was way above our expectations. After a good nights sleep on a very comfortable bed we found the choice of breakfast to be out of this world, and could not have wished for a better selection of top quality food. David and Edna are such perfect hosts supported by there pleasant staff we will be staying here again on our next Torquay holiday

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nigel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Faultless from the moment we checked in David made US feel very welcome from the moment we arrived everything about the hotel was excellent next time we stay in Torquay this is where we''ll stay David and Edna are perfect hosts

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mark p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Quality throughout, everything that you see is presented immaculately and all very tastefully done wonderful welcome from David with a lovely pot of tea and biscuits on the sun terrace when we arrived.The bedroom was lovely with a sea view,and a very comfortable bed, a fridge with chilled water on arrival and fresh milk. The breakfast was excellent with a good choice off a menu all freshly cooked by Edna. Very quiet residential area approx 10 minute walk to the beach or relax in the lovely garden which has tables, chairs, sun loungers,and a hot tub between 12.30 and 18.30 I have stayed in many establishments throughout the UK but this is certainly one of the best value for money.
WE WILL BE BACK !!

Room Tip: Room 2 had a sea view and was a good size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank G_LYNES186402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Excellent cant fault it.David was most pleasant and gave a very warm welcome on arrival.Room was faultless decorated to a high standard like being home from home.Very pleasant atmosphere and surroundings.David was most helpful with tips of places to go and good places to eat.The breakfast was superb everything u could think of was on offer absolutely fabulous,would definitely be going back and I would highly recommend you to stop looking at other places and book this place immediately I guarantee you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank david c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

A lovely and comfortable hotel. It was a very clean and friendly place to stay. Highly recommended. I was very impressed with the standard of the accommodation. I would definitely go back there again.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Vikki C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

We arrived fairly late on Saturday evening for a two night stay. First impression was how clean, well decorated and spacious the guest house was.

We were met at the door by the proprieter, who kindly made me a pot of tea and a cafitierre of coffee for my partner.

We were showed our room which boasted a lovely four poster bed with white linen in a well proportioned room. Please don't do what we did and open the chocolate chip biscuits on the bed. One got eaten with a morning cuppa and one left in the packet on the bed which fell out as I dozed off again trapping it between my leg and the pristine duvet cover melting the chocolate onto the cover. It was chocolate honestly David.

The attention to detail was the key for me, white dressing gowns, a small fridge in the room with a jug of fresh milk, not the plastic cartons of UHF rubbish!

The breakfast was excellent with lots of choice including loads of fresh fruit.

Minuscule down side was the springs on the bed were a little squeaky........ahem.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank moz207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.3 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#22 of 85 in Torquay
3,081 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Torquay
Travelodge Torquay
#31 of 85 in Torquay
614 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Iona Torquay
The Iona Torquay
#56 of 149 in Torquay
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#32 of 85 in Torquay
2,497 reviews
0.1 mi away
Glenorleigh
Glenorleigh
#54 of 149 in Torquay
73 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Belmont
The Belmont
#27 of 85 in Torquay
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Southbourne Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Southbourne Villa

Address: 9 Cleveland Road, Torquay TQ2 5BD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range: £72 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Southbourne Villa 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Southbourne Villa, hot tub and garden decking area with sunbeds and bistro tables and chairs. A south-facing sun trap. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and LateRooms so you can book your The Southbourne Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Southbourne Villa Hotel Torquay
The Southbourne Villa Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing