We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,140)
Filter reviews
1,140 results
Traveller rating
696
305
79
33
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
696
305
79
33
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviews club room free taxi service six courses edwards coaches gb tours course evening meal sea view sorbet on arrival coach parties first class coastal path mince pies spa area evening entertainment standard room the general manager
Filter
Updating list...
1,030 - 1,035 of 1,140 reviews
Reviewed 27 August 2011

Having read Emily's L review i thought i would express my disappointment as well. Having prebooked i asked for a club room with a sea view and also mentioned it was for my partners birthday in advance and was assured my requests would be met !
On walking to our room , not on the lower ground floor but the lower lower ground floor or basement as i would call it , there was a smell of dampness in the air but the room was very disappointing ! We paid for a club room but this was no more than a standard room in our opinion ! Evidence of discoloured wall and ceiling patch which i can assume was water damage , smell of damp in the bathroom , you could just walk single file around the bottom of the bed , a 32'' tv right in front of a mirror so u couldnt use it properly , we knew when the neighbours were in the room , going to the toilet or running a bath , no sea view well come to think of it no window !! , so room was stuffy over night and hot as the small patio door couldnt be left open all night ! As soon as we arrived i mentioned we were un happy with our room but the management werent really interested, this has to be the smallest double non window room we have ever stayed in , website is mis leading , you would be get a much larger room in a travel lodge !!! A disappointing stay especially as it was a special occasion !!!

Room Tip: Dont bother staying here !!!
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank marc p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Headlandtorquay, General Manager at The Headland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2011

We are sorry these guests were disapointed during their stay. It is difficult to respond to specific points when we do not know the name of the guests or their date of stay or their actual room. It may well be that we were full and could not offer them another room, but the other issues which they now mention, we would have been happy to investigate. It is incorrect to say we are not interested, and our website shows just a few samples of the 78 different rooms we have. The garden level rooms are requested by many of our guests, have full length glass patio doors out onto their own terrace, and are well up to the standards required of a three star rating, but we do have larger rooms. I would be happy to show any of our rooms and the many features of the hotel to prospective guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2011

My husband booked us a 'club' room with a sea view as a treat for our 1st Anniversary. We were both really looking forward to it but were disappointed when we saw our room. The room was very small and, being on the basement level, was very dark and dingy. Our bed was smaller than a double and the matress was so soft it gave my husband a bad back. Our room was below the dining room which meant that it was very noisy with voices, moving chairs and clattering. We could also hear people in the surrounding rooms and corridor very clearly. The view of the sea was heavily restricted by trees as we were so low down. We also were unable to open our windows, which meant that the room got very hot at night.
Dinner in the restaurant was delicious and we were really pleased with our breakfast. The staff all seemed very friendly and helpful. The hotel is set in a really pretty location with a nice pool and a lovely garden, however we feel that the quality of our room was more 'standard' than club.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Natalie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Headlandtorquay, General Manager at The Headland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2011

I am so sorry you were dissapointed with your Club room during your recent stay, and only wish that you had made us aware, giving us the opportunity to address, to your satisfaction, the issues which you now raise. The room was on our garden level, and is in more shade at certain times of the day, than some others. Our rooms do vary in size and they all have their own character, and yes, this was one of our smaller Club rooms. All our beds are standard double size, not smaller, apart from standard single beds in our single and twin rooms. Whilst we use top quality mattressses and bedding, we would have readily changed the mattress for you. The room is below the Restaurant, and I apologise that the noise from there disturbed you during breakfast and dinner. We are keen to allocate rooms to fit guests requirements, and with so many variables, such as accessibility, floor, outlook, room size, bathroom facilities, quietness, bed configuration etc., the criteria and priorities will differ from guest to guest.
On the plus side, I am delighted to read your other very positive comments, and hope you will return to us. Please contact me personally should you consider re-booking, and I will ensure we meet all .your expectations.
Toby Downer, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2011

We have just returned from the Headland Hotel after an 11 night stay and felt compelled to write about this wonderful hotel. We went for an executive room and it was big enough to accommodate a double and 2 x single beds. The sea view was breathtaking. However, the biggest asset for the hotel is it's fantastic staff who simply cannot do enough for you particularly Andy behind the bar, our waitress who looked after us for the duration of our stay and the lady who serviced our room who even took the time to waive us off when we departed !! Hotel was spotlessly clean, food was excellent and the after dinner entertainment was good quality particularly Peter Baffles. We did have a problem with the shower in our room on our first morning but Toby, the General Manager, saw to it right away and within an hour a brand new shower unit was fitted. We did not feel the walk to/from Torquay town centre was that bad (even with 2 x children) and, after dinner, it is worth taking the coastal path to the harbour to take in it's spectacular views. Thank you for a wonderful holiday, my daughters are already asking if we can go back next year !!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank daveblue037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Headlandtorquay, General Manager at The Headland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2011

We are extremely pleased to hear that you all enjoyed your stay with us so much, and the positive feedback you have given will of course be passed on to the personnel concerned.
Good to hear you enjoyed the coastal path and the fantastic views from there, and thank you for all your comments. It was our pleasure to look after you, and we sincerely hope to see you again next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2011

The Headland Hotel in Torquay is a peaceful place for a holiday, the views are stunning, the food is great and the staff are very attentative and cannot do enough for you. The only downside was not enough parking spaces and a bit to far to walk into town however the hotel has arranged a courtesy taxi into Torquay.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank hobsone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Headlandtorquay, General Manager at The Headland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2011

We are grateful for you taking the time to send your favourable review, and are so glad that you enjoyed a peaceful break. Our location a short distance from the town centre does mean we can provide a quiet environment to relax in. The complimentary return taxi service which we offer, is very popular for guests that do not fancy the stroll between here and the harbour.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2011

Have spent many many visits to The Headland and previously The Overmead and have always been delighted with our stay. The staff in particular are always helpful and nothing is too much trouble for them. Food and service are always very good. The happy atmoshphere seems to spread to the other residents as we have made very many friends during our visits. Thank you Toby and staff for another great stay - just wondering if you could cast your spell on the weather as we did have a few bad days of rain which fortunately didn't spoil our visit.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SankeyAng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Headlandtorquay, General Manager at The Headland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2011

Delighted to read your review as this is exactly what we are striving for. May you have many more happy stays with us. Now, the weather is an entirely different proposition, but we'll give it a go!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews