We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely hotel”
Review of The Headland Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Headland Hotel
Ranked #11 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“lovely hotel”
Reviewed 3 September 2011

we booked this hotel last minuite,and we were not diappointed,on arrival Toby showed us around,and were very impressed with the rooms he showed us...unfortunetly ours wasnt one of them,but ours was clean and comfortable,we were warned it wasnt a very quiet room,and he wasnt far wrong,we were directly under the restaurant,so come 6.30am we were awake,hasnt put us of a return to this very well run hotel....one thing I will say is...do not stay when there is a Wedding Party on,as a certain member of staff was very unhelpful,and didnt seem to want to anything for us...because of the "Wedding Party",We had a running with the same member of staff one evening when we requested a coffee,he was again unhelpful....I did bring it to the attention of a receptionist that evening....and he brought the coffee...shouldnt have had to do that though...never mind we will be back!!! Thankyou Toby for being attentive and very helpful...see you soon!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndreaandBrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Headlandtorquay, General Manager at The Headland Hotel, responded to this review, 5 September 2011
It is good to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. It was a pleasure to show you around and although your preferred rooms were not available at short notice, we look forward to welcoming you back in one of our executive rooms next time. I was dismayed to hear of your bad experience with one of our staff, and I have interviewed the person responsible who is extremely remorseful. Please accept my apologies as well, along with the assurance that we stress to our personnel the importance of treating all our guests as VIP's. I am confident you will not have a recurrence when you return to us, and I thank you for your feedback and kind comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

804 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    510
    194
    52
    28
    20
See reviews for
158
376
18
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (309)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
derby
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2011

Have been coming to the this hotel, for the last 5years, the food and service in the restaurant is superb,waiters and waitresses could'nt be more helpful, however, still like the table cloths, as feel these fit in with the 'Grand Decor' of the Headland, instead of the new place matts.The staff are always attentive, Toby always on hand, being a good manager, Charles and Andy are both great assets, as always happy to help, and keep the bar areas clean and tidy,
Evening entertainment is varied, something will usually appeal to all, unless you're a grump!
We always have the same executive room, having wonderful sea view, but have also looked in the club rooms, and these appear comfortable.
Its also nice to see the improvements, which are continually being made to restore this lovely building, which has so much history.
Have only just got back home, and already counting the days to next year.
Dave and Liz

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor have views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DerbyLiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Headlandtorquay, General Manager at The Headland Hotel, responded to this review, 2 September 2011
It was lovely to see you both again, and we thank you for your feedback. Good to get your views on the improvements we are constantly making. As you will appreciate we are trying to get that balance between a classical and a contemporary feel, and changing to glass tables with mats from white cloths may meet some resistance, which we will of course take on board. Our personnel are part of our success story, and we all look forward to your return next year, best wishes unti then.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
burton latimer
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2011

had a great time at this hotel,i changed my room when first got there,(single rooms can be a bit small),but was happy with second room choice. the girls on reception very helpfull and friendly,the food was great as were the staff in dining room,the only downside was the weather!!!,would deff go back and recomend this hotel. the only downside if you was elderly would be the steep hills to the beach and harbour(easy 2 get down to both and not that far but a bugger to get back up to the hotel after a few beers!!!,but the local taxis dont charge much)

Room Tip: first room (118) was small and had dreadfull view but then moved to 127 and was more than happy
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lee p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Headlandtorquay, General Manager at The Headland Hotel, responded to this review, 2 September 2011
Thank you for your useful feedback and complimentary comments. We hope the weather is good on your next visit to us, and we look forward to it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2011

Having read Emily's L review i thought i would express my disappointment as well. Having prebooked i asked for a club room with a sea view and also mentioned it was for my partners birthday in advance and was assured my requests would be met !
On walking to our room , not on the lower ground floor but the lower lower ground floor or basement as i would call it , there was a smell of dampness in the air but the room was very disappointing ! We paid for a club room but this was no more than a standard room in our opinion ! Evidence of discoloured wall and ceiling patch which i can assume was water damage , smell of damp in the bathroom , you could just walk single file around the bottom of the bed , a 32'' tv right in front of a mirror so u couldnt use it properly , we knew when the neighbours were in the room , going to the toilet or running a bath , no sea view well come to think of it no window !! , so room was stuffy over night and hot as the small patio door couldnt be left open all night ! As soon as we arrived i mentioned we were un happy with our room but the management werent really interested, this has to be the smallest double non window room we have ever stayed in , website is mis leading , you would be get a much larger room in a travel lodge !!! A disappointing stay especially as it was a special occasion !!!

Room Tip: Dont bother staying here !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank marc p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Headlandtorquay, General Manager at The Headland Hotel, responded to this review, 1 September 2011
We are sorry these guests were disapointed during their stay. It is difficult to respond to specific points when we do not know the name of the guests or their date of stay or their actual room. It may well be that we were full and could not offer them another room, but the other issues which they now mention, we would have been happy to investigate. It is incorrect to say we are not interested, and our website shows just a few samples of the 78 different rooms we have. The garden level rooms are requested by many of our guests, have full length glass patio doors out onto their own terrace, and are well up to the standards required of a three star rating, but we do have larger rooms. I would be happy to show any of our rooms and the many features of the hotel to prospective guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2011

My husband booked us a 'club' room with a sea view as a treat for our 1st Anniversary. We were both really looking forward to it but were disappointed when we saw our room. The room was very small and, being on the basement level, was very dark and dingy. Our bed was smaller than a double and the matress was so soft it gave my husband a bad back. Our room was below the dining room which meant that it was very noisy with voices, moving chairs and clattering. We could also hear people in the surrounding rooms and corridor very clearly. The view of the sea was heavily restricted by trees as we were so low down. We also were unable to open our windows, which meant that the room got very hot at night.
Dinner in the restaurant was delicious and we were really pleased with our breakfast. The staff all seemed very friendly and helpful. The hotel is set in a really pretty location with a nice pool and a lovely garden, however we feel that the quality of our room was more 'standard' than club.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Natalie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Headlandtorquay, General Manager at The Headland Hotel, responded to this review, 25 August 2011
I am so sorry you were dissapointed with your Club room during your recent stay, and only wish that you had made us aware, giving us the opportunity to address, to your satisfaction, the issues which you now raise. The room was on our garden level, and is in more shade at certain times of the day, than some others. Our rooms do vary in size and they all have their own character, and yes, this was one of our smaller Club rooms. All our beds are standard double size, not smaller, apart from standard single beds in our single and twin rooms. Whilst we use top quality mattressses and bedding, we would have readily changed the mattress for you. The room is below the Restaurant, and I apologise that the noise from there disturbed you during breakfast and dinner. We are keen to allocate rooms to fit guests requirements, and with so many variables, such as accessibility, floor, outlook, room size, bathroom facilities, quietness, bed configuration etc., the criteria and priorities will differ from guest to guest.
On the plus side, I am delighted to read your other very positive comments, and hope you will return to us. Please contact me personally should you consider re-booking, and I will ensure we meet all .your expectations.
Toby Downer, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2011

We have just returned from the Headland Hotel after an 11 night stay and felt compelled to write about this wonderful hotel. We went for an executive room and it was big enough to accommodate a double and 2 x single beds. The sea view was breathtaking. However, the biggest asset for the hotel is it's fantastic staff who simply cannot do enough for you particularly Andy behind the bar, our waitress who looked after us for the duration of our stay and the lady who serviced our room who even took the time to waive us off when we departed !! Hotel was spotlessly clean, food was excellent and the after dinner entertainment was good quality particularly Peter Baffles. We did have a problem with the shower in our room on our first morning but Toby, the General Manager, saw to it right away and within an hour a brand new shower unit was fitted. We did not feel the walk to/from Torquay town centre was that bad (even with 2 x children) and, after dinner, it is worth taking the coastal path to the harbour to take in it's spectacular views. Thank you for a wonderful holiday, my daughters are already asking if we can go back next year !!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank daveblue037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Headlandtorquay, General Manager at The Headland Hotel, responded to this review, 8 August 2011
We are extremely pleased to hear that you all enjoyed your stay with us so much, and the positive feedback you have given will of course be passed on to the personnel concerned.
Good to hear you enjoyed the coastal path and the fantastic views from there, and thank you for all your comments. It was our pleasure to look after you, and we sincerely hope to see you again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2011

The Headland Hotel in Torquay is a peaceful place for a holiday, the views are stunning, the food is great and the staff are very attentative and cannot do enough for you. The only downside was not enough parking spaces and a bit to far to walk into town however the hotel has arranged a courtesy taxi into Torquay.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank hobsone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Headlandtorquay, General Manager at The Headland Hotel, responded to this review, 3 August 2011
We are grateful for you taking the time to send your favourable review, and are so glad that you enjoyed a peaceful break. Our location a short distance from the town centre does mean we can provide a quiet environment to relax in. The complimentary return taxi service which we offer, is very popular for guests that do not fancy the stroll between here and the harbour.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.4 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#24 of 87 in Torquay
2,748 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Belgrave Sands Hotel & Spa
1.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#35 of 87 in Torquay
2,279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#9 of 87 in Torquay
496 reviews
1.2 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#22 of 87 in Torquay
1,081 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lincombe Hall Hotel
Lincombe Hall Hotel
#10 of 87 in Torquay
609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Headland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Headland Hotel

Property: The Headland Hotel
Address: Daddyhole Road, Torquay TQ1 2EF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
#23 Family Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Headland Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your The Headland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Headland Hotel Torquay
The Headland Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing