We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT STAY AT THE HEADLAND HOTEL”
Review of The Headland Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Headland Hotel
Ranked #11 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Harlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“GREAT STAY AT THE HEADLAND HOTEL”
Reviewed 29 October 2011

My Husband and I took a last minute end of the school summer holiday short break with our 11 year old daughter in August this year to the Headland Hotel.

After days and days of scouring the web looking for a suitable location and Hotel, we stumbled upon the Headland Hotel in Torquay.

The reviews on Trip Advisor seemed really good and have to say in reality the Hotel didn't disappoint whatsoever!

The room although slightly dated in decor, was extremely clean with plenty of space for a double and single bed(really comfortable beds by the way)! with a fantastic sea view over Daddyhole Bay.

ALL the staff were very very helpful and the Manager Toby was always on hand.

We booked half board, and have to say that the food was amazing. Plenty of choice for breakfast and fantastic choices for the evening meal, all cooked to perfection.

One point I would also mention is that the food was actually SERVED to you. So many Hotels these days are buffet style help yourself, which feels like a School Canteen, so this made a very welcome change.

In reality this Hotel does attract older clientele, but this was fine with us as it was quiet and comfortable, and all the guests when we stayed were friendly and made for a pleasant stay. The evening entertainment was easy listening with bingo also organised.

We also took advantage of a trip out organised by the Hotel to Babbacombe Theatre to watch a Variety show on one of the evenings. This was absolutely brilliant, and our Daughter really enjoyed it too! Priced at £15.00 each adult and free for children (including the coach transfers), it was extremely good value for money. We paid for this with a Bingo win the night before, so it was doubly good value for money :-)

There is an outdoor pool which again looks very clean and inviting, although we didn't actually get to try it in the end, as we were out and about every day.

The sea front is not too far away, with a beautiful stretch of sandy beach plus plenty of shops and restaurants nearby (you must try a giant Cornish Pasty)!! Also on the sea front is the Princess Theatre which was showing Grease the musical when we were there, which we went to see and again this was also a great show! (Prices are no where near as expensive as the West End shows, but I wouldnt say this compromoised the performance - the cast were extremely talented)!

We were sad to leave and our midweek Monday to Friday break went by all too quickly! We would definitely recommend this Hotel and hope to return again.

Just one point to mention - the hotel is situated on the top of a hill and whilst the walk down is not too bad at all, the walk up again could be a challenge for the elderly or those with difficulty walking. However the Hotel has a FREE car service which leaves the Hotel at around 10am to drop you into the town and picks up again in the town at 4.30pm to return to the Hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Knight30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Headlandtorquay, General Manager at The Headland Hotel, responded to this review, 1 November 2011
Thank you so much for your very comprehensive review. We are delighted that you so enjoyed your stay with us, and also the many attractions that Torbay has to offer. We are proud of the service that we offer, and we very carefully select the staff we employ. We do have an ongoing programme of upgrading and refurbishment, but it is discreetly carried out a room at a time, to eliminate disturbance to our guests. We look forward to welcoming the three of you back before too long, and appreciate greatly the time you have taken in posting your excellent review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

803 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    510
    193
    52
    28
    20
See reviews for
158
376
18
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (309)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Wickham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Headland on a DBB basis in October; it was the second time we had stayed at the hotel - albeit for just one night on both occasions.The hotel provides excellent value for money. We did wonder about the meals and whether they would be any good bearing in mind the [low] price that we were paying -but we need to have worried because both the dinner and breakfast were perfectly acceptable. The room - we were upgraded at no extra cost - had a good sea view and a very comfortable bed; it was clean and tidysalve it a bit dated. Staff were all friendly, polite and capable in their duties. Although we did not go to the evening entertainment it was well attended and seemed to be being well received. The hotel caters for coach parties but does seem to have a policy of putting "non coach" residents in a smaller, separate and very pleasant dining area. Drinks are a bit on the expensive eg just under £4 for a pint of beer, £5.30 for a gin and tonic and £16 for a pretty ordinary bottle of wine.

The hotel is just outside the town centre in a quiet location - about a 10/15 minute walk [and a steep uphill walk on the way back].

Overall, though, I would recommend staying at the hotel because, although definitely not 5 star it does offer very good value for money in a comfortable, friendly environment.

Peter H.
West Wickham, Kent

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PeterH333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Headlandtorquay, General Manager at The Headland Hotel, responded to this review, 26 October 2011
Thank you for your comprehensive review and I am extremely pleased that you found us to offer excellent value in a comfortable, friendly environment. It is particularly gratifying to note your appreciation of our staff, who are a vital ingredient of the overall package which we offer. If I may, I will clarify that we make no distinction between "non-coach" and "coach" residents. The smaller dining area near the main restaurant is for all guests, and the same the other way around. We are pleased to allocate tables in either upon request, subject to availability. I am afraid you have radically mis-quoted our bar prices, as draught beer and lager are £3.10 a pint, gin and tonic is £4.30 (for a 35ml top brand measure and a bottle of tonic), and our very popular House wines are £14.50 a bottle. Room service prices are of course a little more. As mentioned elsewhere our daily free taxi service can eliminate the 15 minute walk to or from the Harbour. We hope that your next visit will be for longer, and look forward to welcoming you both again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingsbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2011

just to say thankyou to all the staff at the Headland hotel for a lovely chilled out weekend second time this year and hopefully a few more times next year being in the tourist trade myself i can not recommend this hotel enough nothing seems to be to much trouble and one of the cleanest hotels I have stayed in We had a fantastic room with a free standing bath and the bed was so comfortable room 153 and the dining room staff were polite and friendly.
One down side was the entertainment on the Sunday night was a bit boring but everyone has different taste Thanks again and see you next year before the summer season kicks of again
Lisa & Scotty

Room Tip: if you like a good bed room 153
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lisascott551682
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Headlandtorquay, General Manager at The Headland Hotel, responded to this review, 26 October 2011
On behalf of the team here may I thank you for your kind comments once again. So glad you enjoyed the Super King-size bed and otherr features of the Anastasia Room. I note your remarks about the entertainment, and am sure you understand we do vary the many acts who we use throughout the year. We look forward to welcoming you both again next spring.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
north london
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 October 2011

We stayed for a week beginning October 10th and had a lovely time. We paid a little more
for an Executive room and were rewarded with beautiful sea views. The staff were all
very helpful and professional and nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast and dinner
menus were extensive and the food was of excellent quality.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robinnorthlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Headlandtorquay, General Manager at The Headland Hotel, responded to this review, 26 October 2011
Delighted to hear that you had a lovely week with us, and we hope you will return before too long.Your feedback is much appreciated and we thank you for your time in sending it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cardiff
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 September 2011

myself and family members arrived at the hotel to be welcomed by the manager of the hotel toby whom we found to be very helpful the hotel was really lovely, the only dissapointment was the room for which we did complain and in all fairness toby did his best to try and resolve this only to find all rooms were taken however this certainly did not affect our stay it was just some of the rooms needed updating but it was certainly clean and tidy , we were informed that they are currently updating rooms,toby apologised and gave us a complimentary bottle of wine at dinner,we were all so impressed with the quality of food and such friendly service of the restaurant staff especially tom really lovely,entertainment was good,the only other problem was the heating in the hotel which was making us all uncomfortable especially in the dinning room but overall was a really lovely hotel definitely returning next year also we found andy really helpful and friendly, thankyou for making us all welcome.

Room Tip: when requesting room ask for second floor more quiet if possible with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lizzieCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Headlandtorquay, General Manager at The Headland Hotel, responded to this review, 30 September 2011
Thank you for your kind comments, and your patience whilst we tried to resolve matters for you. Whilst we were unable to give you an alternative room this time, I am pleased that you all had a lovely stay, and I will pass on your thanks to Thomas and Andy for their friendly service. We look forward to welcoming you all back next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcestershire
Level Contributor
61 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2011

We stayed for 3 nights on a special package and also upgraded to a seaview executive room. It was just a fabulous stay. View from room 143 was stunning even when it rained!!
All staff were welcoming and VERY efficient. At one meal a request for decaf coffee was remembered for subsequent meals. Dinner a slick process but as a lot of people eat early you may not get your chosen dessert if you go later. ( missed out on Almond Creme Brulee!)
It was a rare treat to be looked after so well.
Parking is a bit tight and the walk down to the town is quite a steep hill either down the coast path or road. Bus does a £4.70 day ticket which covers a vast area and also the section from hotel to Torquay marina. Lovely walks to the east too. We would return.
Can recommend a visit without hesitation.

Room Tip: 143 great view over Meadfoot bay .. faces east so bright start in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Crowle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Headlandtorquay, General Manager at The Headland Hotel, responded to this review, 30 September 2011
So pleased that you had a fabulous stay, and that our staff were so attentive. I am sorry that very occasionally we may run out of a particular dessert or dish, but all are home-made, not brought in or frozen - apart from our ice-cream which is a luxury farmhouse dairy variety.
Plans for our parking and access improvements are currently on display in the hotel, pending the planning process and implementation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 September 2011

We stayed two nights in an executive double sea view room. A small fruit bowl and large bottle of water awaited our arrival along with the usual complimentary tea, coffee and biscuits. This was most welcome as it did tie us over before dinner. The bathroom was a large airy room with window and was tiled floor to ceiling in stylish co-ordinating tiles it housed a modern white suite consisting of bath, corner shower, toilet, sink and matching chair . The bedroom itself was very roomy, plush carpets, new curtains, and a large flat screen tv. Dining was a very efficient affair, the waiters were helpful and friendly, and the food was delicious with a varied menu. You do need to be fairly fit to manage all the stairs and the hills for as it name implies, this hotel is at the top of a steep hill.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucy123_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Headlandtorquay, General Manager at The Headland Hotel, responded to this review, 30 September 2011
We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us so much, and thank you for your very positive comments. Like Rome, Torquay is built on seven hills, but our complimentary taxi service will eliminate some of the gradients for our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.4 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#24 of 87 in Torquay
2,748 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Belgrave Sands Hotel & Spa
1.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#35 of 87 in Torquay
2,278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#9 of 87 in Torquay
495 reviews
1.2 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#21 of 87 in Torquay
1,080 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lincombe Hall Hotel
Lincombe Hall Hotel
#10 of 87 in Torquay
609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Headland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Headland Hotel

Property: The Headland Hotel
Address: Daddyhole Road, Torquay TQ1 2EF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
#23 Family Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Headland Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your The Headland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Headland Hotel Torquay
The Headland Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing