We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic break”
Review of The Headland Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Headland Hotel
Ranked #12 of 85 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 April 2012

Just had a 4 day break at this fabulous hotel. Absolutely faultless in every way, staff were so courteous and friendly,food was superb, room amazing and wonderful entertainment. We are looking forward to returning soon and cannot recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank suzannewarwickshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Headlandtorquay, General Manager at The Headland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2012

May I thank you for your equally "fantastic" review! What a lovely, concise affirmation that we are on the right track. We are grateful for your recommendation to others, and eagerly await your next visit to us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (956)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

813 - 819 of 956 reviews

Reviewed 30 March 2012

They took us to The Headland Hotel in Torquay last week door to door for 5 days for the price of £185.00. The Headland Hotel could not have been better at any price. The food was absolutely outstanding so much choice and cooked to perfection every meal. The room we had was well decorated good size and a beautiful sea view. The entertainment was good, and they even provided a free taxi to and from the centre of Torquay. 10.30a.m. to town and 4.30p.m. back from town. I can honestly tell you this is one of the best hotels I have been to, especially for the money.
Thankyou to Lesley and Brent for looking after us it was superb. Love from S. Collis Buxton Derbyshire.
Where Next????....watch this space It will only be 3 or 4 weeks!!!!!!

Room Tip: 1st floor sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Sylvia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Headlandtorquay, General Manager at The Headland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2012

Delighted to read your fine endorsement. We are so pleased you enjoyed the food, accommodation, entertainment and overall value, and we hope it will not be too long before you return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2012

REVIEW OF RESTAURANT ONLY.

In many ways, the Headland Hotel is perfect- a great location, a warm, clean and comfortable interior and polite and friendly staff. The big letdown however is the food.

We went on Mothers Day and, to be fair, alarm bells should have sounded louder when I read that the three course lunch was only £13.95. Starters were fine; cream of asparagus soup and smoked salmon pate, although the texture of the latter was more akin to a mousse.

The big disappointment were the main courses. I chose fillet of venison. Naively, I assumed that it would be a pan-fried loin fillet. Alas, it was a re-heated, dry, casseroled piece of meat, half of which was inedible. My wife had the roast beef, which was so overcooked, it had started to curl-up, presumably from the heat of the warming lights. The carrots were gritty, the roast potatoes were leathery, rather than crispy on the outside and yieldingly fluffy on the inside and the mashed potato was cold and stuck to the serving dish. The gravy that was served with my daughter's sausages was so salty, that she was unable to eat the food it came into contact with.

What a terrible shame. If the hotel really wants to make a success of its restaurant as a destination in its own right, it has got to take a good, long look at its food and, unfortunately, that will almost certainly mean seeking out a new chef who understands how to take good, local produce and treat it with respect. Get the food right and it won't need to challenge its margins by charging £13.95 for three courses.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mitchellinne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Headlandtorquay, General Manager at The Headland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2012

Thank you for your feedback following your lunch with us on Mother’s Day and I am pleased that you enjoyed the location, the comfort and the service from our valued personnel.

I am very concerned to read of your disappointment with the food, and am somewhat puzzled also. You booked knowing full well that the price for the lunch was only £13.95, but now say that “alarm bells should have sounded earlier”. I clearly recall visiting your table, just beyond our central pillars, when you were well into your main course, and when I enquired if everything was fine you assured me wholeheartedly that it was. We would willingly have investigated and addressed any issues with the minimum of fuss, and would readily have changed any dishes that you were not entirely happy with. I was also at the Reception desk when you came to pay, and again no hint of any dissatisfaction was made. I suspect you were already formulating and set on another of your reviews in the style of the late Michael Winner, rather than being interested in having any issues resolved.

I am sorry that you feel the venison was re-heated and dry. Many others had the same dish and were very complimentary, if yours was a “rogue” piece we could have easily exchanged it. The roast beef is served medium done, direct from the meat juices and is not left under warming lights. Your opinions on the vegetables and gravy could have been readily remedied.

Yes we did offer exceptional value at £13.95, for what was in fact a five-course meal, and we do take on board all feedback. I have to report that on the day we had a good percentage of guests re-booking for the next Sunday Luncheon that we are holding, and excellent feedback from everyone else. In the week since, we have enjoyed further good feedback and no other negative reviews from the 250 other guests who had that same menu on that day (luncheon and dinner). As such I can categorically assure everyone that we will NOT be “seeking out a new chef”, and we are extremely proud of the Chef and kitchen brigade that we have, notwithstanding the disappointment which you feel.

We constantly monitor our food and are keen to stride forward in this and all other areas, but honest, accurate and timely communication will help us achieve this.
Toby Downer, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2012

Just returned from our holiday at the Headland hotel and really enjoyed our stay there. The holiday was a 5 day break with a coach company and I can honestly say the food we had there was very good. We have had lots of these short break coach tours and the food at the Headland was the best we have had. The only thing I would say is that if you want a lie in in the mornings ( past seven o'clock ) dont stay in room 125 or any near there because the dining room is above the bedroom and you can here every footstep on the creaking floorboards as the waiters get the room ready for breakfast. Other than that everything else was very good. The hotel is up a very steep hill but it only took us10 minutes to walk down to Torquay and 20 minutes steady walk back up .

Room Tip: Dont book a room under the dining room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gwendoline r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Headlandtorquay, General Manager at The Headland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2012

Thank you for your review following your recent visit, and I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and the food particularly. I am sorry you were disturbed in Room 125 from the Restaurant above and it is an issue we are looking at to try and resolve. Please contact me when you are next planning to visit us. A reminder to everyone that we operate a complimentary taxi service to the harbour and back, every day of the year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2012

we were on a long weekend coach trip with G.B.Tours and stayed at the Headland Hotel,Torquay.What a wonderful hotel .When we arrived the manager ,MrDowner, spoke to us before we left the coach and told us about the hotel,the luggage was removed from the coach by the hotel staff and taken up to our rooms,while we were invited into the ballroom for complentry tea and biscuits.
Our room No142 was lovely and overlooked the bay,and we saw some lovely sun rises.There was tea and coffee making facilities,and biscuits which were replenished daily,and also a large l.c.d.tv,maybe a little too big,it seemed to dominate one wall
The towels were changed daily,and the room was cleaned daily to a very high standard.
The food was excellent,and the staff were polite and attentive
The hotel was beutifly decorated and all public areas had a sense of peace and quiet
The headland was one of the best hotels we have stayed in,in Great britain and all i can say is,read all the reviews,and give it a try

Room Tip: Rooms on the East side have a great view over the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank diydaveluton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Headlandtorquay, General Manager at The Headland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2012

We really appreciate the time you have taken to submit your wonderful review. We thank you for all your comments. I am guessing this was your first trip to us, but hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Headland again before too long.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2012

Just spent four fantastic days at the HEADLANDS HOTEL(FORMERLY THE OVERMEAD).
Just cant fault it.Wonderful food,spotless accomodation and great evening entertainment.
I highly recommend this hotel.I think that its the best hotel that I have stayed in at Torquay.
Dave Williams

Room Tip: Lifts to all floors(2)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Daishop1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Headlandtorquay, General Manager at The Headland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post your glowing endorsement. We look foward to welcoming you to The Headland again before too long.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Just had long weekend at this hotel situated up on the cliffs overlooking sea . Wonderful location with free taxi to and from Torquay It would have been quite a walk and steep
Excellent value for money . Really professional high quality entertainment.
Really nice food with amazingly polite and helpful waiters . Very helpful staff
Room was small and no sea view without bath
Asked to upgrade but they were fully booked .

Room Tip: Ask for sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JennyRhiw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Headlandtorquay, General Manager at The Headland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2012

Thank you for submitting your super review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay, including the entertainment, food and service. I am sorry we could not move your room as we were completely full, but often this is the case because of the value that we offer, as you have acknowledged. All our rooms do vary, part of the character of this historic building, but please always ask for any preferences, such as sea-view or bath and we will endeavour to fulfil requests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torquay
0.4 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#22 of 85 in Torquay
3,235 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Belgrave Sands Hotel & Spa
1.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#28 of 85 in Torquay
2,575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#24 of 85 in Torquay
609 reviews
1.1 mi away
Premier Inn Torquay Hotel
2.5 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 17 in Paignton
635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Headland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Headland Hotel

Address: Daddyhole Road, Torquay TQ1 2EF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
#15 Family Hotel in Torquay
Price Range: £57 - £157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Headland Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your The Headland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Headland Hotel Torquay
The Headland Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing