We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Headland Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Headland Hotel
Ranked #11 of 89 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Wales
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2012

I was unfortunate enough to fall ill during my recent holiday at this hotel with a stomach bug. The manager and staff went out of their way to ensure that I, and my wife were comfortable and well catered for whilst confined to our room.
This is a fantastic hotel situated just outside the main town area but easily accessed by the hotel's own free taxi service or by walking 10 minutes or so down and 20 minutes back up.
The food menus were out of this world and the service first-class.
Will definitely stay there again. HIGHLY recommended.

Room Tip: Try for a room facing the sea or gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BenDGedig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Headlandtorquay, General Manager at The Headland Hotel, responded to this review, 14 May 2012
We thank you for your appreciation of our services whilst you were unfortunately indisposed during your recent stay, and hope you recovered fully soon after. It is great you found the hotel fantastic, and thank you for your tremendous comments about our food and staff. We look forward to your return and are very grateful for your recommendation .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

756 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    478
    183
    50
    27
    18
See reviews for
151
355
17
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
bridgnorth shropshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

What an amazing 4 day break had by myself, husband and mother and father,
Was my 40th birthday treat and I could not have been happier.
The hotel is in a stunning location and very clean, was welcomed by the manager as soon as we parked up, were made to feel very special by all staff during our whole stay, the hotel is truly amazing, with lots of interesting history, our room was a little small but we were told this when we booked but as we were staying only for a few days we thought it would be fine, room very clean cosy and up to date with a lovely sea view.
Cleaner very friendly and couldn’t do enough for you.

Food was without a doubt the high light, it was truly amazing , great service from our friendly waiter Peter, tables laid beautifully, 6 course menu every night, with nothing repeated, only difficultly was choosing which one to eat!!
Breakfast was equally of a great standard with lots to chose from, food always hot,
Entertainment was very good, especially the magician/ comedian… what did he do with those doves???
Free taxi at 10 am into the town or if you want to walk down and catch a free taxi back at 4:30pm this is a great help for the old knees!!
This break was exceptionally good value for money and would certainly recommend, would love to come again and bring my Nan she would love it!!
Thank you to the Headland hotel for a memorable birthday
Cheryl

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cheryl b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Headlandtorquay, General Manager at The Headland Hotel, responded to this review, 13 April 2012
Thank you Cheryl for your lovely review, and it is great to hear that you all had such a wonderful stay for your special celebration. We look forward to you returning with your Nan, so that our team can pamper you all again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birmingham
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

Just come back from a weekend Easter break with my Husband, Daughter and Son in Law. This is a fantastic hotel in a lovely peaceful spot overlooking the sea, OK it is up hill but the hotel supply a free taxi to take you into town and pick you up aroung 4.30. The hotel has a lovely feel to it and the communal areas are great with nice seating areas. Nice patio area outside also. The restaurant is lovely and the food I thought was outstanding, best I've had in a hotel. Well done to the chef. All the staff were really helpful and friendly. There were some nice touches, like free tea or coffee and hot cross buns on arrival, a Cadburys Easter Egg in your room and free tea and coffee and simnel; cake on Easter Sunday also some mini eggs with your evening meal. Entertainment was OK, Magician was our favourite, he was great. Our room was small (142) but had a lovely sea view and to be fair I was told it was small on booking (This was a standard room), but this didn,t spoil our stay one bit. Would probably go for a bigger room next time and there will "definately" be a next time. Thankyou Headland.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ollie54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Headlandtorquay, General Manager at The Headland Hotel, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
It was terrific to get such positive feedback on all elements of your stay over Easter. I have passed your super comments on to our staff, including our Chef, and also to Peter Baffles our brilliant magician. Thank you so much, and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
warwickshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

Just had a 4 day break at this fabulous hotel. Absolutely faultless in every way, staff were so courteous and friendly,food was superb, room amazing and wonderful entertainment. We are looking forward to returning soon and cannot recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank suzannewarwickshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Headlandtorquay, General Manager at The Headland Hotel, responded to this review, 6 April 2012
May I thank you for your equally "fantastic" review! What a lovely, concise affirmation that we are on the right track. We are grateful for your recommendation to others, and eagerly await your next visit to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buxton. Derbyshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

They took us to The Headland Hotel in Torquay last week door to door for 5 days for the price of £185.00. The Headland Hotel could not have been better at any price. The food was absolutely outstanding so much choice and cooked to perfection every meal. The room we had was well decorated good size and a beautiful sea view. The entertainment was good, and they even provided a free taxi to and from the centre of Torquay. 10.30a.m. to town and 4.30p.m. back from town. I can honestly tell you this is one of the best hotels I have been to, especially for the money.
Thankyou to Lesley and Brent for looking after us it was superb. Love from S. Collis Buxton Derbyshire.
Where Next????....watch this space It will only be 3 or 4 weeks!!!!!!

Room Tip: 1st floor sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Sylvia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Headlandtorquay, General Manager at The Headland Hotel, responded to this review, 6 April 2012
Delighted to read your fine endorsement. We are so pleased you enjoyed the food, accommodation, entertainment and overall value, and we hope it will not be too long before you return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Totnes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

REVIEW OF RESTAURANT ONLY.

In many ways, the Headland Hotel is perfect- a great location, a warm, clean and comfortable interior and polite and friendly staff. The big letdown however is the food.

We went on Mothers Day and, to be fair, alarm bells should have sounded louder when I read that the three course lunch was only £13.95. Starters were fine; cream of asparagus soup and smoked salmon pate, although the texture of the latter was more akin to a mousse.

The big disappointment were the main courses. I chose fillet of venison. Naively, I assumed that it would be a pan-fried loin fillet. Alas, it was a re-heated, dry, casseroled piece of meat, half of which was inedible. My wife had the roast beef, which was so overcooked, it had started to curl-up, presumably from the heat of the warming lights. The carrots were gritty, the roast potatoes were leathery, rather than crispy on the outside and yieldingly fluffy on the inside and the mashed potato was cold and stuck to the serving dish. The gravy that was served with my daughter's sausages was so salty, that she was unable to eat the food it came into contact with.

What a terrible shame. If the hotel really wants to make a success of its restaurant as a destination in its own right, it has got to take a good, long look at its food and, unfortunately, that will almost certainly mean seeking out a new chef who understands how to take good, local produce and treat it with respect. Get the food right and it won't need to challenge its margins by charging £13.95 for three courses.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mitchellinne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Headlandtorquay, General Manager at The Headland Hotel, responded to this review, 26 March 2012
Thank you for your feedback following your lunch with us on Mother’s Day and I am pleased that you enjoyed the location, the comfort and the service from our valued personnel.

I am very concerned to read of your disappointment with the food, and am somewhat puzzled also. You booked knowing full well that the price for the lunch was only £13.95, but now say that “alarm bells should have sounded earlier”. I clearly recall visiting your table, just beyond our central pillars, when you were well into your main course, and when I enquired if everything was fine you assured me wholeheartedly that it was. We would willingly have investigated and addressed any issues with the minimum of fuss, and would readily have changed any dishes that you were not entirely happy with. I was also at the Reception desk when you came to pay, and again no hint of any dissatisfaction was made. I suspect you were already formulating and set on another of your reviews in the style of the late Michael Winner, rather than being interested in having any issues resolved.

I am sorry that you feel the venison was re-heated and dry. Many others had the same dish and were very complimentary, if yours was a “rogue” piece we could have easily exchanged it. The roast beef is served medium done, direct from the meat juices and is not left under warming lights. Your opinions on the vegetables and gravy could have been readily remedied.

Yes we did offer exceptional value at £13.95, for what was in fact a five-course meal, and we do take on board all feedback. I have to report that on the day we had a good percentage of guests re-booking for the next Sunday Luncheon that we are holding, and excellent feedback from everyone else. In the week since, we have enjoyed further good feedback and no other negative reviews from the 250 other guests who had that same menu on that day (luncheon and dinner). As such I can categorically assure everyone that we will NOT be “seeking out a new chef”, and we are extremely proud of the Chef and kitchen brigade that we have, notwithstanding the disappointment which you feel.

We constantly monitor our food and are keen to stride forward in this and all other areas, but honest, accurate and timely communication will help us achieve this.
Toby Downer, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scunthorpe
Level Contributor
39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2012

Just returned from our holiday at the Headland hotel and really enjoyed our stay there. The holiday was a 5 day break with a coach company and I can honestly say the food we had there was very good. We have had lots of these short break coach tours and the food at the Headland was the best we have had. The only thing I would say is that if you want a lie in in the mornings ( past seven o'clock ) dont stay in room 125 or any near there because the dining room is above the bedroom and you can here every footstep on the creaking floorboards as the waiters get the room ready for breakfast. Other than that everything else was very good. The hotel is up a very steep hill but it only took us10 minutes to walk down to Torquay and 20 minutes steady walk back up .

Room Tip: Dont book a room under the dining room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gwendoline r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Headlandtorquay, General Manager at The Headland Hotel, responded to this review, 26 March 2012
Thank you for your review following your recent visit, and I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and the food particularly. I am sorry you were disturbed in Room 125 from the Restaurant above and it is an issue we are looking at to try and resolve. Please contact me when you are next planning to visit us. A reminder to everyone that we operate a complimentary taxi service to the harbour and back, every day of the year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.4 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#24 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,523 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#36 of 89 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,168 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lincombe Hall Hotel
Lincombe Hall Hotel
#9 of 89 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#7 of 89 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
1.1 mi away
Premier Inn Torquay Hotel
1.2 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#20 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,026 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Headland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Headland Hotel

Property: The Headland Hotel
Address: Daddyhole Road, Torquay TQ1 2EF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
#24 Family Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Headland Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your The Headland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Headland Hotel Torquay
The Headland Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing