We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb value for money”
Review of The Headland Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Headland Hotel
Ranked #12 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
LEICS
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Superb value for money”
Reviewed 1 July 2012

Just returned from a fabulous 4 day break at the Headland Hotel. The hotel is situated at the end of a quiet road with stunning views over the bay and headland with direct access to the secluded Meadfoot beach. Whilst the hotel only has a small car park their is ample free, safe parking on the road outside so do not let this put you off.

On entering the hotel you are greeted by the smiling friendly faces of the reception staff who are only too pleased to help you and deal with things in a very efficient manner and are so switched on to what good customer service really is..We had an executive room (room 171) which offers fabulous views over the bay and swimming pool area. The standard of the room was excellent with really comfy beds, a large lcd television with the complete range of freeview channels and a lovely big en-suite bathroom complete with a very good range of complimentary shampoo, shower gel etc. The room also had two comfy arm chairs along with complimentary fruit and bottled water and a large range of complimentary tea/coffee etc.

We stayed on a bed and breakfast basis and the range of items on offer for breakfast was excellent, Ranging from cereals,fresh fruit, croissants to your full english breakfast and smoked salmon with scrambled eggs. The waiting staff are great and nothing is too much trouble to them and they are a credit to the hotel. The breakfast room is bright and airy and a lovely place to start your day.

The evening entertainment is very good with several artists on every night, The bar/cabaret room is a really pleasant place to unwind after a days sightseeing, The bar offers a great range of beers and wines and spirits along with a selection of real ales from the local bay brewing company.

As stated by other reviewers the hotel is situated at the top of steep hill which is a good 15 minutes walk down to the harbour. Whilst their are several benches to rest on the way up to the hotel if you have mobility issues you may struggle with the walk, but don't be put off as their is a regular bus service from the harbour which goes up to the hotel and local taxis charge £3.50 each way. The hotel also offers a complimentary shuttle service to the harbour in the morning with a return shuttle at approx 4.00.

All in all this is a great hotel and having stopped in many 4* hotels throughout the u.k and europe i can honestly say that this hotel is far superior to many of them, and i really can't understand why this hotel only has 3* when it clearly deserves a 4* rating at least.

We will certainly be stopping here next time we are in Torquay.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DAVE123Leics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at The Headland Hotel, responded to this review, 5 July 2012
Thank you for the time you have taken in posting such a comprehensive positive review of your recent stay with us. We are delighted that you enjoyed yourselves so much, and we truly appreciate your comments.
We strive for four-star standards constantly, and it is nice that you recognise that.
We look forward to welcoming you again on your next trip to Torquay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

853 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    532
    210
    60
    28
    23
See reviews for
173
400
19
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (319)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2012 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel the second week in May. This hotel cannot be faulted. Food most important on holiday superb .We have stayed in hotels all ovet europe and have never seen such a wide choice of meals. On arrival. We were met by the manager who explained everything about the hotel including the fact that if there was nothing on the menu an alternative could be requested. This hotel caters for all diets.Rooms, house keeping cannot be faulted. There is a free Taxi provided by the Hotel into town and back. I must say a big, big thankyou for the Return of my. Handbag which i recieved within 48hours of me leaving it there. This was greatly appreciated. Wonderful hotel,views service entertainment etc. Tony keep up the good work.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patprice3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2012

My mother and I returned to The Headland this year to find that Toby (General Manager) was back...yeepie. As we walked into reception, much improved reception area, Toby greeted us both and immediately offered to get the cases out the car himself and take them up to our room. Always the gentleman and always hands on. We would also like to compliment the reception staff on their friendly manner and the very pleasant banter we had with the owner at reception on our arrival. Lovely touch. We would like to thank your chef and the restaurant staff for the excellent food and service during our 3 day break. We highly recommended the Bar Menu. Thank you to Alan Diamond singer/comedian who had mom and I crying with laughter and what a fabulous voice. Faults with the hotel....I am struggling to find one. The only thing I would say is the bathroom in room 132 needs updating but Toby was clear to point that out but the sea view did not disappoint. Well done to everyone at The Headlands. Shame your full booked in September but we will be back. Glad your back Toby.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gaynor1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Headlandtorquay, General Manager at The Headland Hotel, responded to this review, 21 June 2012
We were delighted to welcome you back to The Headland again, and it is very gratifying to hear such positive feedback. I will pass on your lovely comments to all our team, including Alan Diamond. We hope you will not leave it too long until you return, and best wishes to you both from all of us here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2012

We arrived at the Headland Hotel on Saturday 02 June after a protracted journey of some 6.5 hours (3 hours longer than planned due to the volume of traffic). As a party of two adults and one 9-year old we were allocated room 165; up the stairs (or lift) and round the back of the hotel. The room had a large double bed and a set of bunk beds; one ‘double’ bed on the bottom and a single ‘standard’ bed above; all based on a sturdy tubular frame. Unfortunately the room overlooked the bins of the property and a bank of large trees. The floorboards were very creaky at every step you made including those housed in the room above (especially with a child running around at silly hours of the evening/night). The bathroom was rather ‘cosy’ with only a single shower, toilet and basin. There was plenty of storage for clothes and a huge LED TV. The cabaret in the lounge can be heard when in the room. It is a good job there is a limit on the time the entertainment is allowed to continue through the evening.

We can’t fault the meals or the service. Our granddaughter is rather choosy as to what food she has but was introduced to some very interesting foods, especially the deserts and sorbets. I had to have gluten-free food which the kitchen catered for quite well. The gluten-free deserts were indicated on the menus with the appropriate starters and main courses indicated by our waiter, Kristof. He was excellent at his job and always willing to assist in any changes or specific requests. The gluten-free bread for the breakfast was very welcome.

Unfortunately, as mentioned, room 165 was overlooked by various trees. This situation lead to my wife, who has asthma, being very uncomfortable with her breathing. We approached the staff who managed to change our room to 125 (first room down stairs). This room appeared to be smaller but had a large bathroom with shower over bath and looked over the rear gardens. You could say it had a sea view if you leant out of the window slightly and looked to the right. No creaking floorboards when walking around with this room but the dining room was above. Unfortunately, the serving staff worked late into the night and started early in the morning so creaking floorboards on the ceiling are not too good! However, alcohol and ear plugs did help!

There were three coached during our stay each with a load of people. This reduced the access to the car park (careful drivers required!). There are plans in progress to adapt and adopt some of the land to ensure access to all occupants as displayed on the wall opposite the Reception desk.

The weather was, unfortunately, not too good to enjoy the outdoor heated swimming pool (despite the steam coming off the surface of the pool). Therefore, we had the pleasure of using the indoor swimming pool at the Palace Hotel, Paignton; the sister hotel of the Headland and Queens Hotels. The Headland has the heated outdoor pool and a sauna (not used). The Palace Hotel has the indoor heated pool (with Jacuzzi), gym, sauna, steam room and beauty treatment facilities. Walking down from the Headland Hotel is relatively easy, the return trip is rather a struggle, especially with people that have difficulties. Taking a diversion along the coastal path is no better as there are a severe number of steps (as my thighs can vouch for). From Torquay Harbour to the hotel is a height climb of some 255 feet at a distance of ¾ mile. The trip down to Meadfoot Beach and back (1/4 miles but still 255 feet height climb).

Would we stay there again? Not really, even though of the uniqueness of the building and the excellent views (Paignton and Brixham) from some rooms or from the nearby car park are very good. Access to the hotel along Daddyhole Road (road side parking abounds) and car parking leave a lot to be desired also.

Room Tip: Rooms not overlooking the bins. Need to assess your fitness/illness in keeping with the location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Andrew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Headlandtorquay, General Manager at The Headland Hotel, responded to this review, 13 June 2012
Thank you for the time you have taken in submitting a comprehensive review. I am glad we were able to move you to a room away from trees, once your wife had made us aware of her breathing difficulties. Whilst we were pleased to give you a Club Room without increasing the rate, we never claimed that this was a sea-view room as you appear to have indicated.
We are very glad you enjoyed the food and service from our staff including Kristof, and I have made him aware of your compliments. Similarly it is good to hear that you enjoyed the leisure facilities at one of our sister hotels. Our complimentary daily taxi service eliminates the need to walk to the Harbour or back, which is a valuable service used by most of our guests, many of whom love the fantastic location which we enjoy.
We are sorry you appear to have decided not to return, without awaiting the greatly improved parking that the local Council Planners are currently discussing, but hope you may re-consider.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2012

Just about to leave the hotel after spending seven wonderful days and nights at this hotel. We arrived at 22:30 on the Friday, once we put our bags in the room, we went down for a night cap before bed as we had driven for 5 hrs from kent.
Breakfast on the first morning was superb , then we had a stroll into Torquay. After a day strolling round the shops we headed back to the hotel to freshen up before evening meal. This consisted of 6 courses also to a very high standard.
We were staying in the Anastia suit which was the best room in the hotel, a huge bed, massive bathroom and a sea view to beat any other. The staff in this hotel are all very polite nothing was too much trouble for any of them. What we like more than anything was the way that the manager took time to talk to all the guest, and if any problems arose he said we could always speak to him direct..we spoilt our selves on the last morning and had breakfast in our room. Once again thank you Toby and all your staff for making this a wonderful holiday to remember. Nigel & Nicola.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nigel1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Headlandtorquay, General Manager at The Headland Hotel, responded to this review, 9 June 2012
Thank you both for such excellent feedback. I will pass on your kind comments to our terrific team.
It is great to hear that you will remember your holiday with us for all the right reasons.
We look forward to your next stay with us before too long.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2012

We had a 3 night stay at The Headland Hotel...From start to finish it was amazing!!!!
The staff were so friendly and helpful and the hotel was exceptional...With an ideal location right next to Fistral beach and only a few minute walk into the town.

Room Tip: Our room was 215...it was excellent with a lovely side sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kimguck30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Headlandtorquay, General Manager at The Headland Hotel, responded to this review, 9 June 2012
Whilst we thank you for your glowing endorsement, I suspect you may be confusing us with a hotel of similar name in Newquay, next to Fistral Beach. I am sure however, that they have excellent reviews, intended for us, on their pages also.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2012 via mobile

Just got back from a fab stay at the Headland Hotel, so found the last review strange. We had a great stay, went with my mum, dad and eleven year old, we had two rooms, both were very well equipped, hairdryers, tea and coffe tray and a nice range of soaps and handcreams in the bathroom, the beds were very comfortable, with great sea views and the rooms were cleaned every day to a high standard

The restaurant was great, the staff were lovely and could not have done any more for you. The choice on the menu was very good, with veggie options and meat and fish every night. A great kids menu that they can mix and match from the main. The food was very well cooked and presented with a range of fresh veg, the puddings were great, one of our party is diabetic and there was one reduced sugar option every night along with diabetic ice cream. The other choices were great too chocolate and orange mousse with clotted cream is one to try. We had a lovely table over looking the sea.

The weekend great, cream tea on arrival, pimms before dinner with Morris Dancing in the Hydro Bar after one evening and a great magician the other, strawberries and cream and afternoon tea on Sunday. There is a pool table and a outside heated pool, we even found the mini gym with the best views you can get. The outside terrace area is a lovely place to sit and the gardens are very well looked after.

We would love to return and really would happily recommend it to anyone. A great relaxing way to spend the Jubilee

Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank lcb2103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Headlandtorquay, General Manager at The Headland Hotel, responded to this review, 7 June 2012
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your Jubilee Weekend stay so much, and it is quite heartening to receive such positive feedback on all areas. We are particularly glad that you found the food to be so good, and that you appreciated the extra elements that we introduced to make the weekend truly special.
Thank you for taking the time to post your review, and your recommendation to other prospective guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.4 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#24 of 87 in Torquay
2,884 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Belgrave Sands Hotel & Spa
1.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#35 of 87 in Torquay
2,371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#21 of 87 in Torquay
1,121 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#9 of 87 in Torquay
527 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lincombe Hall Hotel
Lincombe Hall Hotel
#10 of 87 in Torquay
630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Headland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Headland Hotel

Property: The Headland Hotel
Address: Daddyhole Road, Torquay TQ1 2EF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
#23 Family Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Headland Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo and LateRooms so you can book your The Headland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Headland Hotel Torquay
The Headland Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing