We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic hotel for a wedding” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Headland Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Headland Hotel
Ranked #11 of 89 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel for a wedding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2012

I felt I just had to write a review on this outstanding hotel. My daughter was married on Saturday, 20th October and had the whole event at ths hotel and we have nothing but praise for Toby and all the staff who helped make the day perfect. Their attention to detail without being obtrusive was five star, everything from thequality of the rooms, meals and setting up the function was brilliant. If you are thinking of a wedding venue you couldn't do better. Many thanks to you all. Marilyn Bourne

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marilyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toby D, General Manager at The Headland Hotel, responded to this review, 25 October 2012
It was our pleasure Marilyn to host Sarah and Warren's wedding, and your kind comments are most heart-warming. We do a limited number of weddings, so that we can give each couple the fullest attention and keep everything special, helped of course by our magical setting. All best wishes to you and to the happy couple, as they head off on their cruise. We hope to see you all here each anniversary!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

755 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    477
    183
    50
    27
    18
See reviews for
151
354
17
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2012

It is a great location, just across the road from the clifftop, with beautiful sea views. It is quite a quiet area on the outskirts of Torquay. We were there for a friend's wedding - it is a good place for a function, has a nice garden. It is important to get a room on a higher floor.

Room Tip: Definitely ask for a room on the top floor for the sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank christine r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toby D, General Manager at The Headland Hotel, responded to this review, 25 October 2012
Thank you for your feedback following a stay for your friend's wedding. We are glad you so enjoyed our fabulous location, gardens and the beautiful views. We hope you will return another time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2012

just back from a great weekend at the headland,what a lovely hotel.
the food is the best we have had in any hotel!
we would certainly go back,service,entertainment,all first class.
the only downside was that our room 128 was directly under the dining room,and we were woken at 7 am by the noise of the staff walking around,dragging tables and chairs etc,it seemed to affect all rooms on this floor!!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jackson028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toby D, General Manager at The Headland Hotel, responded to this review, 11 October 2012
Thank you for your great feedback and we are thrilled you enjoyed the food and hotel so much. I am so sorry you were disturbed by noise from the restaurant above, and only hope that the beautiful view of our gardens and sea out towards Thatcher Rock may have partly made up for that. We hope to welcome you back to The Headland before too long.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2012

We have also just returned from a weekend break at the Headlands and although the food and the hotel in general was good the bedroom was the worst we have ever stayed in. We were given room 130 which must be one of the worst rooms in the hotel, if not the worst. This room is situated in the basement below street level with a lovely view of a wall.The room is not only very dark but it is also directly underneath the restuarant and the kitchen. As the previous person has stated there was a wedding party staying in the hotel and the hotel used the normal entertainment room for their reception and the entertainment was transferred into the restuarant directly above our room. This meant we were unable to get to sleep until after 11pm because of the noise.As if that wasn't enough we were woken every morning between 6.30 and 7am by the staff preparing the restuarant for the morning breakfast. A herd of elephants treking over the ceiling would probably have made less noise. Then there was a problem with the taps.The hot tap had to be turned the opposite way to normal. This had obviously confused previous guests into thinking the tap was just stiff so they had forced the tap resulting in the whole tap rotating when turning in the normal direction.Even after you realised the tap operated in the wrong direction it still caught you out when trying to decrease the flow. You still tend to turn the tap in the direction you would normally so that you very often increased the flow instead of decreasing it resulting in the water shooting over the sink and all over you.
When I spoke to the manager about this he said it was E.U regulations which I think is a load of nonsense. We have stayed in hotels all over Europe and never seen taps that didn't work in the same direction as the UK.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Roy67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toby D, General Manager at The Headland Hotel, responded to this review, 11 October 2012
I am pleased you enjoyed our food and the hotel in general, but sorry you were unhappy with the location of your room. Whilst the window looks out onto a rockery, it is a cosy, well appointed room with a brand new bathroom. We have actually featured it in photographs on our website. Yes it is below the edge of the restaurant and kitchen, and I apologise that you were disturbed by noise from above, with our kitchen and restaurant staff starting at 07.00 and 07.30 respectively. The dinner dance you mention was only on the Saturday night, held there as part of the French weekend until 23.00. I'm sorry too that the hot tap turning the opposite way inconvenienced you so much. We have several of these throughout the hotel, but are looking into our options with this. Despite this I hope you may consider returning to us, just let us know of room preferences when enquiring, and I am sure we can have you leaving as happier guests next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2012

Just got back from a 3 night break at the Headland. This is our second stay there and we booked to celebrate our birthdays as the hotel was advertising a French theme weekend. Yet again the food was superb with attentive staff. We booked a standard room leading onto the gardens, whilst the room was compact, with an excellent bathroom, since our last visit a large new TV had been put in the room, I felt that these should be put on the wall and not take up valuable space on the small dressing table - and no controller for the TV. Whilst the weekend was advertised as a French themed weekend, a wedding was booked for the Saturday afternoon and evening, and one of the guests had said to me, that the hotel should have informed other guests that this was happening - even though this did not affect our enjoyment

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toby D, General Manager at The Headland Hotel, responded to this review, 11 October 2012
It is good to know that you had a great weekend and that you particularly enjoyed the food and our attentive staff. We are mounting televisions on the walls where possible, but at the same time we are repositioning sockets throughout the hotel, to maximise space and efficiency, and it will take a little while to complete all rooms.. My apologies again that your remote controller was missing and that we could not source a replacement over the weekend. We hope to welcome you back for another enjoyable break with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
108 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Headland last weekend. I spent hours comparing Torquay hotels before opting for the Headland, and we are so pleased I did!
Our room, though small, was lovely, with patio doors onto the garden. It was so quiet (other than an owl hooting outside)!
Our bathroom was fairly new, and it looked as though the soft furnishings were too. For such a small room there was, thankfully, plenty of drawer and cupboard space.
Staff were lovely, and ever helpful.
We only had bed and breakfast, but that was very good, and I think that another time we will also have dinner (very reasonable).
Will we visit again? Definitely! In fact we can't wait!

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank LoveourholsBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toby D, General Manager at The Headland Hotel, responded to this review, 21 September 2012
We are glad you decided to choose us also, and are very pleased that you enjoyed your room and the services of our staff. The tawny owl you heard is just one of the many visitors from the wildlife world that we get in our beautiful gardens. We look forward to your second visit soon, and yes, do include dinner next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derbyshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2012

Just spent 5days at the headlands hotel with K M Travel chesterfield,we found this hotel a very friendly place to be,I got a ground floor room as asked for,it was a large room and bathroom with walk in shower,meals were some of the best meals I've tasted,would love to go again,well done xxxxx

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank renemay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toby D, General Manager at The Headland Hotel, responded to this review, 12 September 2012
We are so glad that you had such a lovely stay recently, and that we were able to fulfil your room requests, which we always aim to do if at all possible. Thank you for your nice comments, particularly with regard to our catering, and we hope to see you again before too long.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.4 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#24 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,515 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#35 of 89 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,164 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lincombe Hall Hotel
Lincombe Hall Hotel
#9 of 89 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#7 of 89 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
1.1 mi away
Premier Inn Torquay Hotel
1.2 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#20 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,023 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Headland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Headland Hotel

Property: The Headland Hotel
Address: Daddyhole Road, Torquay TQ1 2EF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
#24 Family Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Headland Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your The Headland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Headland Hotel Torquay
The Headland Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing