We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Experience Fantastic Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Headland Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Headland Hotel
Ranked #11 of 89 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Experience Fantastic Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2013

This is our sixth visit to this hotel and we were delighted to have received the same standard of service as on all our previous visits.Hotel room [club room] clean and bright with great sea views. Bar staff, waiting staff and reception were very polite, efficient and attentive.
The chef and his staff are to be complimented on the standard of the food which they prepared.
The hotel is making some improvements to the parking area at present as they are constructing a further 25 parking spaces which will make parking a lot easier.
Took a dip in the heated outdoor pool it was great stayed in for 2 hours amazing. This hotel is ideal for mature couples and families. Torquay Centre is about a 15 min walk or you can catch a complimentary taxi provided by the hotel.The hotel overlooks Meadfoot Bay and in our opinion it has the best view out of all the hotels in Torquay. I have yet to find another hotel that provides a similar standard of service. It represents one of the best value for money breaks we have had. Can't wait for our seventh break at the Headlands.

Room Tip: It is well worth booking an executive or club room as they always have a sea or garden view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank taffyducks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toby D, General Manager at The Headland Hotel, responded to this review, 15 May 2013
Thank you for your very kind words, and I am delighted Taffyducks that you enjoyed your sixth stay with us so much. I do share your opinion that we have the best view out of all Torquay's hotels, and also that we represent excellent value for money, which is why so many of our guests return repeatedly to us. I have shared with our staff your many favourable comments which are greatly appreciated, and we hope your seventh trip to us will be soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

757 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    478
    184
    50
    27
    18
See reviews for
151
355
17
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lowestoft
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2013

We visited the Headland quite recently for a 5 day coach break and was very impressed with the hotel in regards to waiter service, politeness and helpfulness at reception, they couldn't do too much for us, our room overlooked the bay over to Brixham and the room was very clean Room 173, the entertainment was quite good as well, we would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Room 173 fantastic views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gogglebox16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toby D, General Manager at The Headland Hotel, responded to this review, 15 May 2013
It was great to read your feedback and good to hear you were impressed with so many aspects during your recent stay. Thank you for taking the time to post your review, and we look forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2013

Visited Torquay on many occasions, but this time it was something completely upmarket! The service, attention to detail and hospitality is second-to-none! Steeped in history this beautiful hotel is about 15 minutes walk down to the harbour. Complementary taxi at 10am from the hotel and 4.30pm from the harbour is a special extra.

The food is amazing and the restaurant lovely. The lounges are spacious and the bars as well.

Nothing is too much trouble staff wise - a hotel not to be missed!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the sea!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mo E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toby D, General Manager at The Headland Hotel, responded to this review, 10 May 2013
Thank you so much Mo for your wonderful review following your recent ten night stay with us. Your gracious comments and glowing recommendation to others are much appreciated. We look forward to making your next stay even better, with a sea view room also, and send our very best wishes to you until then.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brixham,Devon
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

This is a first class hotel the service is second to none the dinner is superb & all the staff are so helpfull,this is the third time that my wife & I have stayed at "The Headland Hotel & it won't be the last.

Room Tip: you need your own car as the hotel is a fair way from Torquay town center
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oldplumber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toby D, General Manager at The Headland Hotel, responded to this review, 10 May 2013
Fabulous that you have stayed with us three times from just across the bay, and it is terrific to hear that you enjoyed everything so much. We look forward to many more visits from you both. A reminder that we offer our complimentary taxi service to and from the harbour every day of the year to all our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

On arrival we were dealt with quickly and politeness. Our room was fantastic with a stunning view over the beautiful garden and to the sea beyond. The food was of a very high standard and the service given by the waiting staff totally excellent. Parking is a little tricky but this is being addressed with a new car park currently under construction. We simply parked on the road nearby. I cannot recommend the hotel highly enough and we will be back same time next year for sure.

Room Tip: Wonderful views of the sea from the bedrooms are available. Views overlooking the beautifully kept...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toby D, General Manager at The Headland Hotel, responded to this review, 10 May 2013
Thank you Jon for your feedback and I am delighted you had such a positive experience with us. Of course the fabulous weather you enjoyed made the views even better. I will pass on your kind comments to our team, and we all look forward to your return next year, unless you can get away to us before then.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2013

Booked 2 single Club rooms for 1 night. Room 156 and Room 170. Room 156 was the better of the two but that isn't saying much. These were apparently not the lowest standard of room available. I shudder to think what I could have had. I was in room 170, which was tiny - OK, I know it was a single. I had a sea view partly obscured by the sea gull poo in the window. The room was crammed with cheap looking battered pine furniture and it was so small that the only place to put the tea tray was on the window sill and then you pulled the curtains over it. So if you wanted a cup of tea last thing at night it was necessary to open the curtains. The bed was comfy but the room itself was not very clean. I didn't notice until the next morning the thick dust around the edges of the carpet and on the bathroom door frame. The bathroom was tiny and the shower was the most feeble thing you can imagine. I was woken during the night several times but a pump and by the continual sound of running water. I mentioned this to reception in the morning and was told that I should have reported it in the middle of the night so I have been offered a different room. Funnily enough I wouldn't have fancied getting dressed and packing at 2am to traipse through the hotel and have to try and get a few hours sleep elsewhere. It may have been 2am, nobody had bothered to put the clock telephone thing in the room forward to BST.
We had both dinner & breakfast at the hotel. We were sat right by the door and asked for a different table which was refused. Starters arrived very quickly and were very badly presented. If I was serving a stuffed tomato I would take the trouble to peel it and remove the stalk before serving. I also had to ask to order wine 3 times. The food arrived before the wine waiter put an appearance in. The food at dinner was well cooked but very fussily presented.
Breakfast - same table, again not allowed to sit elsewhere. All food was brought to us, even cereals and fruit juice, which was very strange. I had poached eggs which were perfectly cooked but served on nasty thin leathery toast which spoiled it somewhat. I did see the 'full english' which looked quite greasy and the products - eg bacon & sasuage looked more value than finest.
Didn't find reception that interested when I spoke to them about the room and the noise. Implied it couldn't been that bad or I would have phoned down in the middle of the night.
As you can tell I don't suggest you stay in this hotel. It is a good location and with lovely views but tatty and dated.

Room Tip: Try a different hotel?
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank thatanngirlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toby D, General Manager at The Headland Hotel, responded to this review, 4 May 2013
Whilst we welcome all feedback from guests, good or bad, it is immediately clear from your dismissive headline (actually quite offensive to our many other guests) and your early comments, that you are only interested in attempting a “hatchet-job” on us. There may have been valid issues during your one-night stay, but your complete lack of balance and perspective means I must strenuously defend our hotel. I am sure we could have readily resolved things for you if soon after arrival you had asked for a different room, and if you had alerted us to the issues you subsequently referred to upon, or since, your departure, we would have had the opportunity to properly investigate and sort matters.
Room 170 is rated as a Club room because of the fabulous sea-view, unfortunately slightly marred by droppings from a passing seagull on one of the three windows, during your brief stay. We could easily have removed this, had you only informed us.
Room 156 although inland-facing, is larger with a large new bathroom, hence it being rated as a Club room also. Both rooms despite being singles also have the benefit of double beds. We have posted photographs of these rooms today to our gallery above.
We have several styles of furniture throughout the hotel, but the pine furniture you mention in 170 is not cheap and has been recently refurbished. We use excellent quality beds and soft furnishings throughout the hotel.
The dust you reported, whilst unacceptable, which I have taken up with that room’s attendant, was quite un-typical, as is abundantly clear from the many other reports submitted, but I nevertheless apologise for this. The shower was found to be working perfectly and is fully adjustable both on the wall and by adjusting the flow at the shower-head. The noise from plumbing or a pump through the night which you reported in the morning we have been unable to hitherto identify. Whatever the time though we could have readily and without fuss provided you with the key to a nearby vacant room without the need to pack or “traipse through the hotel”.
Having had the opportunity to speak with our restaurant manager he remembers offering you an alternative table which you declined, but the window tables you mentioned were already occupied by other guests in residence for dinner and of course the following breakfast. Your opinion of our food seems contradictory being “very badly presented”, “well cooked but fussily presented”, “perfectly cooked but spoiled somewhat”. The prompt service of the starters appears to have beaten the wine waiter to your table which I apologise for. You complain that all the food at breakfast was brought to you, which is a first for us as we are pleased to offer personal service and avoid the buffet-style service during which guests have to get up and down to queue, which is so prevalent at many hotels nowadays. I am astonished that without even having had our “full English” you feel qualified to comment that it looked “quite greasy and more value than finest” when in actual fact it is nicely presented and both the bacon and sausages are of local origin and superior quality sourced from a local butcher.
I know you spoke to our Assistant Manager upon departure at Reception who endeavoured to obtain further information so she could investigate matters, but it was in fact you who was not interested. Our Operations Co-ordinator was present along with our Reservations Manager, and all three were dumb-founded by your antagonistic and even hostile attitude. We constantly strive to excel in all areas and use constructive criticism to achieve this, but I find your review seriously flawed, as will many others I am sure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
174 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2013

Room very clean and tidy but only accessible by stairs and being a 'standard' room lacked sea view, but adequate for two night stay. Hotel outdoor swimming pool well worth a dip for this was very warm although a little small for swimming, ask for two towels as the towels supplied are a little small. Six course dinner with plenty of choose was excellent on both nights but watch the sauces as they come already on the meal and are 'generous'. Breakfast is freshly served and choose what you want and nothing too much trouble for the staff. Evening entertainment available seven nights a week. Very peaceful hotel on cliff top with sea views. You need transport to go anywhere from the hotel but the car park is very small and many park in road outside. Free taxi service to Torquay at 10.00 in morning returning 4.30 in the evening. Being on a Headland unless you are fit going for a stroll from the hotel is either up or down steep roads or paths. Slow Wifi works in Reception but not accessible in all bedrooms. We would return with our friends but are wary of the Headland position.

Room Tip: If you are staying for more than two nights well worth upgrading to a sea view. Some rooms only acce...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheltonian-65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toby D, General Manager at The Headland Hotel, responded to this review, 3 May 2013
Thank you for your time and trouble in posting a review. Yes we are in an elevated position, but this gives us our fantastic views. Long-awaited work on expanding our car-parking starts imminently, to be completed in next two months, and the complimentary taxi service which you mention is extremely popular. I am glad you found the food to be excellent, and of course our sauces and various accompaniments can always be served to your requirements seperately - just ask your obliging waiter or waitress. Should guests experience any problems with our free Wi-fi service we will always be please to assist in trying to resolve them. We would urge you to return with your friends because of, not despite, our Headland position.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.4 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#24 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,523 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Belgrave Sands Hotel & Spa
1.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#36 of 89 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Lincombe Hall Hotel
Lincombe Hall Hotel
#9 of 89 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#7 of 89 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
1.1 mi away
Premier Inn Torquay Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Headland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Headland Hotel

Property: The Headland Hotel
Address: Daddyhole Road, Torquay TQ1 2EF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
#24 Family Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Headland Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your The Headland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Headland Hotel Torquay
The Headland Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing