We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little Gem”
Review of The Headland Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Headland Hotel
Ranked #12 of 88 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Rowley Regis
Level Contributor
52 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Little Gem”
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Just returned from a 4 night stay at the Headland, and was very impressed with the hotel.
Built as a summer house for the Russian Royal family, it has retained all of that Period feel to it ,with all of the modern facilities you need.
Food was very good, six course evening meal, staff were excellent, views across the bay are brilliant.
Would recommend a visit , we will be back, stayed 23rd to 27th September.

Mr & Mrs D Robinson

Room Tip: Room 134 is Good valve, Great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davidr1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark_Lockwood-Lee, General Manager at The Headland Hotel, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of the hotel, I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and am very glad to hear that you will be returning again in the future.

Your kind comments about the staff and the food are most appreciated and have been passed on.

We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit.

Best Wishes and Kind Regards

Mark Lockwood-Lee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

788 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    501
    189
    51
    28
    19
See reviews for
155
369
18
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (305)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St Helens, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

my husband and i have returned from a 5 day holiday at the headland with g. ashton coaches and we can honestly say that the hotel is exactly how it is described in the brochure and people on trip advisor. we were very apprehensive as we have used advise from trip advisor before to book hotels and they have turned out to horrible and nothing like the reviews. But the headland is first class, from the minute you arrive to complimentary tea, coffee and biscuits, the staff cant do enough for you, the food in the restaurant is excellant, with plenty of choice, in fact the only critisism is there is too much of it but we had to sample it all. We were in room 141 and the view we had over the bay was fantastic. We even found the entertainment to be good, which normally in these type of hotel is usually medioca. We will defenitly be going back again, Cant wait.

Room Tip: ask for a sea view, definitly worth it and be aware that the lift doesnt go to all the floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carole G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark_Lockwood-Lee, General Manager at The Headland Hotel, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
I would like to thank you for writing your lovely review of the hotel and thank you very much for your kind comments. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed all aspects of the hotel and your stay and the staff will be pleased to read your write up.

Thank you once again and I look forward to welcoming you back to The Headland in the not too distant future.

Kindest Regards

Mark Lockwood-Lee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Myself and my wife just enjoyed a lovely 7 days at this hotel 15th to 22nd September (1st visit), On arrival we were dealt with quickly and politely. Our room was a club room 132, which was ok but quiet small for a club, Bathroom was very small, the sink was just a handwash sink (not to good for gents wet shaving), shower VERY SMALL, needs refurb. The only plus point was stunning view over to the sea beyond. The food was all of a very high standard and the service given by the waiting staff (Abi) was totally excellent. Entertainment was very good, Parking is a little tricky but this is being addressed with a new car park currently under construction. We simply parked on the road nearby. I cannot recommend the hotel highl enough (apart from room 132) we will be back next year for sure.

Room Tip: Room Tip: Wonderful views of the sea from the bedrooms are available. Club rooms are supposed to be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Warren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark_Lockwood-Lee, General Manager at The Headland Hotel, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
I would like to thank you for reviewing The Headland Hotel following your recent stay with us and am glad to hear that you enjoyed your holiday overall, I am sorry that you were not fully happy with your room. We do have a continual program of work that is ongoing at the hotel; this will see further bathrooms refurbished in the coming months amongst other projects. I am glad however that you did enjoy the stunning views the room affords.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel on your next visit to Torquay.

Kind Regards

Mark Lockwood-Lee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south east england
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Myself and my husband just enjoyed a lovely few days at this Hotel for a special anniversay. We had a gorgeous room overlooking the Sea with outstanding views of the sea. Absolutely fabulous . The rooms and all communal areas are spotlessly clean. The Staff were all very friendly and helpfull. The Restaurant, has a good choice of menu and the 6 course evening meal was mouth watering (if you can go 6 courses). A Special thankyou to Patryk our waiter in the Restaurant for being so attentive and friendly and professional in every way.

We will definitely be returning. Thankyou to all the staff at the Hotel for making our stay so enjoyable and unforgettable. Many thanks - Mr and Mrs Palmer.

Room Tip: We had a Executive Room and the floor we were on has some beautiful views, above the trees over the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Della P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark_Lockwood-Lee, General Manager at The Headland Hotel, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your lovely review of the hotel, I am very glad that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay. I have passed your kind comments onto Patryk and the rest of the staff.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Best Wishes and Kind Regards

Mark Lockwood-Lee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshunt
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

My partner and I have recently returned from this wonderful hotel, we had seven wonderful nights. A special mention to the reception staff very friendly and always with a smile, a special thank you to the reception gentleman who found the time to come and chat with us whom we already met at a previous hotel we stayed at. All the staff were great, and thanks to the cleaner who always left our room spotless. The entertainment was also very good especially the welsh gentleman, great voice. We will definitely be returning if only to see that lovely view walking down to the harbour.

Room Tip: All rooms seem to have special views but choose we had a club room which was sufficient as it hat si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank George G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark_Lockwood-Lee, General Manager at The Headland Hotel, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your break with us and thank you very much for completing a review of the hotel. It was nice to talk with you after seeing you on a previous visit to Torquay and I am glad to hear that you will be returning here again in the future.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kindest Regards

Mark Lockwood-Lee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

The Headlands (built for the Tzar & his family) is not only classy, it's also great value for money. Just spent ten days there - fab room overlooking the bay SIX course evening meal, great breakfast and so much choice. Excellent value for money - the only downer being the price of drinks....however that's in line with everywhere else. Spoke to many people who had visited time and time again. Found the hotel on the internet so bit dubious - but couldn't rate it highly enough....enjoy! (PS - took us only ten minutes to walk in to middle of Torquay).

Room Tip: Our room lovely and quiet - however it was over the dining room. Although excellent entertainment...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark_Lockwood-Lee, General Manager at The Headland Hotel, responded to this review, 20 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the hotel after your recent stay with us, I am glad to hear that your stay was an enjoyable one.

I hope to see you returning to the hotel on your next trip to Torquay.

Kind Regards

Mark Lockwood-Lee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Visited in early September for an Autumn break! The hotel is a credit to the UK holiday industry and the overall standards are up there with the best!
The hotels' position on the headland above Torquay is by no means a negative aspect ,as the views from this location are outstanding and the excellent complimentary Taxi service into Torquay if required is both free and well organized and can be arranged by a simple request to the friendly and competent reception team on the morning that you require the service !
The food and the restaurant is also of the highest standard and both the seating and service from the friendly staff is of the same high standard !
Fresh cooked to order and served on hot plates ...no cool "buffet style" breakfast here ! The menu offers a wide variety of beautifully presented food and is some of the best we have experienced anywhere in the UK !
Our only negative aspect was the late evening noise we encountered outside our room ! This was no way any fault of the hotel .....but more due to the lack of consideration by a particular group of rather noisy guests who insisted on congregating close by our room door and holding enthusiastic and noisy conversation after their visits to the bar every evening !
Having said that ...we would not hesitate to visit this excellent hotel again ...we mentioned our problem to reception staff and our issue was dealt with both politely and courteously and due to the hotel being fully booked , we could not change our room location !
The Headland is a credit to the hotel industry and despite the minor niggle with the "inconsiderate guest " issue ....I would not hesitate to highly recommend the Headland hotel to anyone who appreciates the extra care and service that this hotel offers ! .

Room Tip: Our room" No.186 " was located between the restaurant and the lounge bar and has a "g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank microdot44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark_Lockwood-Lee, General Manager at The Headland Hotel, responded to this review, 20 September 2013
Thank you very much for your very nice review of the hotel, I am very happy to hear that you had a very enjoyable stay, the staff will appreciate your kind comments.

I am sorry that we were not able to offer you an alternative room at this busy time and that the noise disturbed you.

We hope that we will be welcoming you back to the Headland again in the not too distant future.

Best Wishes

Mark Lockwood-Lee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.4 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#23 of 88 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,656 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Belgrave Sands Hotel & Spa
1.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#37 of 88 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#6 of 88 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lincombe Hall Hotel
Lincombe Hall Hotel
#10 of 88 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#29 of 88 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Headland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Headland Hotel

Property: The Headland Hotel
Address: Daddyhole Road, Torquay TQ1 2EF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
#24 Family Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Headland Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your The Headland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Headland Hotel Torquay
The Headland Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing