We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Really brilliant weekend”
Review of The Headland Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Headland Hotel
Ranked #11 of 85 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Arrived late afternoon on the friday, sign in straight away no fuss, room had great view (174) out across the bay, it was very clean & tidy, U have to look for the spare sockets to plug in the phone, kindle, sat nav, etcetc. Evening meal really was excellent, good bar with entertainment. Saturday after a full english, choose the National Trust property we wanted to see, (we did the Doyle Carte), another excellent meal in the hotel followed by an evening in the bar. Sunday we went north to two NT houses and had decided we would be late back so would eat out that day, always a good meal @ NT houses, got back in time for the evening entertainment in the bar (she really is brilliant). Monday, full English then away home and another NT house & lunch.
We had a really good deal @ the hotel, it is a little tired but well worth the money

Room Tip: 174 gives a good view, take your bino's
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chevalier9732
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark_Lockwood-Lee, General Manager at The Headland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent holiday with us here at The Headland Hotel and the great view that your room benefits from, thank you for taking the time to submit this review. I am glad that you found the meals at the hotel to be excellent and have passed this onto the kitchen team who appreciate your kind words.

There is a good varied entertainment at the hotel and it is good to see that you liked this aspect of your stay and particularly the two performers that are on Sunday evening.

I hope that we will be welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards

Mark Lockwood-Lee
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (914)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

576 - 582 of 914 reviews

Reviewed 22 March 2014

I have just spent a 5 day break at the Headland Hotel. A lovely hotel in a beautiful location. The staff were very welcoming and nothing was too much trouble. We had an excellent room, lucky to be looking out over Tor Bay. It was clean, warm and spacious. The food was good with very good waiter service. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Our room was on the top floor, which had no direct lift. This was ok for us as we are mobile. Howe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Sandie222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark_Lockwood-Lee, General Manager at The Headland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Thank you for your very nice review of The Headland hotel, I am pleased to hear that you can highly recommend us following your recent stay. Our beautiful location does provide some amazing views across Tor Bay and out to Thatcher’s Rock and it is good that your excellent room meant you were able to enjoy these.

I am glad to hear that you enjoyed the food and the service in the restaurant and I am very proud to say that we have just been awarded an AA Rosette for Culinary Excellence.

We do hope that you will be returning to The Headland again on your next visit to Torquay.

Warm Regards

Mark Lockwood-Lee
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

just had 4 days at the headland hotel. we went with edwards coaches. fantastic hotel. what can i say manager mark and all the staff were brilliant.the food brilliant in fact everything about hotel was brilliant. we will probably go on coach again but will also drive there. however we get there we cant wait to go again. 3 star should be 5 star. thank you very much everyone.

Room Tip: just leave it to the staff.they will look after you whatever you want or need
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Barbara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark_Lockwood-Lee, General Manager at The Headland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

We are very grateful for your lovely write up after your break with us last week, it is so nice to see that the staff’s hard work and effort are well appreciated and I have shown your comments to them.

It will be a pleasure to welcome you back to the hotel again in the very near future.

Kindest Regards

Mark Lockwood-Lee
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Went on a coach trip with Edwards Coaches for 4 nights. Loved the hotel. Lovely position overlooking the sea but a bit of a walk to the town. Taxis were provided free of charge to town and back. We had tea and biscuits on arrival and suitcases were taken up to our rooms. Rooms were very clean as were the bedding and towels. However, no pillow protectors. There was a good shower and large bottles of gel and shampoo. There was plenty of choice of food and the 6 courses were like a 5 star hotel. All cooked and presented beautifully! The waiters were very efficient and had obviously received good training. Manners were impeccable. There was entertainment every night and Bingo. All the acts were very good and we really enjoyed them. We could find no fault with this hotel and many people were on their 10th or more visit. We plan to return for a Turkey and Tinsel break and can't wait! That's how to run a successful hotel!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank Juliet A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark_Lockwood-Lee, General Manager at The Headland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Let me start by thanking you so much for this very positive review, it is lovely to read that you found everything to be absolutely brilliant.

We are very lucky with the staffing team here and thank you for the kind comments regarding them and I will certainly be passing this to them to read. I am glad that you enjoyed the acts that were on our varied entertainment program.

It is nice to hear that you are going to be coming back to the Headland for a break at the end of the year and we will all be happy to have you here with us again, we look forward to welcoming you back then, if not before.

Best Wishes and Kind Regards

Mark Lockwood-Lee
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Noticed the advert for this hotel in a Sunday national paper and was amazed at the price - I had to check twice to accept that amazing breakfasts, 5 course dinners and evening entertainment were actually included in the price. Having checked on Tripadvisor and noted all the excellent reviews we decided to book a 4 day break. In truth I am a real complainer and, if something is not right, I am among the first to moan. Fortunalely, EVERY positive comment about this hotel is fully justified.
Breakfast - full english or excellent vegetarian, fresh fruit, yogurts // Dinner each evening was a full 5 course top quality menu with numerous choices! Staff - superb. Entertainment - really good! Rooms - SPOTLESSLY clean and comfortable. Location - great.
I drove 6 hours from Norwich to sdee Torquay and stay at this hotel and it was very well worth it!!!
Well done Duchy Hotels!!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jeff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark_Lockwood-Lee, General Manager at The Headland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write this review after your first visit to the Headland Hotel, I am extremely pleased to hear that you enjoyed your break.

Our chefs do strive to produce the best possible food and we are particularly pleased that you enjoyed all of your dining experiences in the restaurant. I have shown your review to the staff and all of the team are very happy to read your kind comments.

I am glad that the long journey was well worth it and hope that we will be welcoming you back to the hotel again in the future.

Kind Regards

Mark Lockwood-Lee
General Manager,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

fantastic hotel,brilliant views,seaview bedroom excellent,very friendly and helpful staff,only downfall was the food monday to thursday, breakfast was cold and so were the dinners, but there must be a different chef for friday as breakfast and dinner was spot on.We just got back today.If the same chef who was on friday was on through the week it would have been a more enjoyable week,If we go back again it will be for the weekend.

Room Tip: seaview room plenty of room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maureen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark_Lockwood-Lee, General Manager at The Headland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

I would like to thank you for writing your review and am glad that you enjoyed most aspects of your stay.

I am extremely surprised to hear that the food was cold and cannot see that this was possible, we have such vast amounts of compliments with regards to the food and if for some reason anything was not served as it should have been we would have been more than happy to have rectified it immediately at the time. I have spoken to the waitress and the restaurant manager and they have said that at no point was there any mention of the food being cold, especially there being a problem repeatedly, at anytime.

The chefs do not varying at the weekend and it was the same team in the kitchen throughout your stay.

I do hope that you we will be able to welcome you back to the hotel in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards

Mark Lockwood-Lee
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

What a Wonderful Hotel , great views of Torquay , lovley Food Six Course evening meal , very Friendly and staff . Went with GB Tours who were also Great will be back next year for another wonderful weekend break .

Room Tip: Upgrade to Club class for a Sea View
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 618lorraine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark_Lockwood-Lee, General Manager at The Headland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

It is lovely to see that you thought your break with us was fantastic and that the hotel is wonderful.

Our chefs do produce some lovely food all with locally sourced food where possible and they are pleased to read your kind comments, I have also showed the review to the rest of the team and it is greatly appreciated.

I am glad to hear that you will be returning to the hotel again in the future for another wonderful break.

Warmest Regards

Mark Lockwood-Lee
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torquay
0.4 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#22 of 85 in Torquay
3,115 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#31 of 85 in Torquay
2,513 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Belgrave Sands Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#3 of 17 in Paignton
607 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lincombe Hall Hotel
Lincombe Hall Hotel
#10 of 85 in Torquay
665 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#25 of 85 in Torquay
599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Headland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Headland Hotel

Address: Daddyhole Road, Torquay TQ1 2EF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
#15 Family Hotel in Torquay
Price Range: £65 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Headland Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your The Headland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Headland Hotel Torquay
The Headland Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing