We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really Good Weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Ranked #22 of 88 Hotels in Torquay
Wotton-under-Edge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Really Good Weekend”
Reviewed 17 March 2011

i want to say thankyou to the grovsenor hotel for a great stay, i went for the weekend with my grandparents and a group of others and i had a great time, there was lots to do i went swimming quite a few times with the other children and it was great,it is also in a great spot to walk to the shops and the sea, my room was really comfortable and tidy and i had a great time staying there, the staff were really friendly and chatted to you.the food was so nice and just the right amount for me.
i will definatly be coming again.

Lauren.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lil_Lozzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,066 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    406
    381
    145
    71
    63
See reviews for
198
530
20
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (323)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2011

I will not be going here again, The rest of or group of about 30 agreed.

STAFF: huge lack of staff!! only ONE member of staff at night who does EVERYTHING - receptionist, cleaner, bar man, porter, manager, room service, ect... This list is just from our observations and our questions. it actually scared me the thought of something going wrong, i.e if there was an accident and he got knocked out, there is no one else staff wise!!
Rich, the night guy on was rushing around so busy that me and my patner want to step in and help him! we could all see he needs help, he was 110% fantastic at his job and hard working, but he has too much to physically do. He is a credit to the hotel and would easily be snapped up by a more worth while hotel!

BREAKFAST: An Hour to be served breakfast, it was awful, i wouldn't feed it to a dog!! The Portion sizes we laughed at. - stay for a month and you would leave half your body size!!

VALUE: Pool table £1 ago, Over £3 a pint, Food high prices for little bad tasting food!
if you like prawn sauce with prawns on your chocolate pudding, you will get that here but this extra is FREE!!

INFO IN ROOMS ABOUT HOTEL: Simple - non existent!! how to use the phone, room service, what you could purchase if you want room service, where the pool is, what entertainment is on, how to find your way around the hotel, etc, etc... there is NOTHING!!
why advertise it on the internet but not where its most important, in the hotel itself??!!

CLEANLINESS: this wasn't too bad as long as you don't look under the plate your eating off or the cutlery your eating with. The Bar glasses - still with lipstick and if your really lucky, HALF a bar mat will be inside your glass, Unnoticed by the barman!! don't know how!?

HOT WATER: Don't expect this luxury i complained 3 times to management throughout the afternoon and evening. We got so fed up, we had to warm water with the kettle and strip wash! how degrading!

THE GARDEN, POOL AND GENERAL DECOR: The Garden needs a complete sort out as its a state. The pond is a mess, overgrown, empty of water and surrounded by dumped seats!
The Hotel decor is nice in some areas, and Bad in others. The photo of the bedroom on the web site is NOTHING like the reality of the hotel!

SAVE YOUR MONEY, STAY SOMEWHERE ELSE

I think its fair to say this hotel does not deserve 3 stars

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank Koalabearhollie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Talbot, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2011

Great welcome with refreshments and friendly staff. Access for disabled visitors with ramp and lifts. Rooms were outstanding and the food excellent. Staff in the restaurant were efficient and nothing was too much trouble for them. The nightly entertainment was enjoyable and fun. Although we didn't use them there were plenty of facilities eg swimming pool and gym. I would definitely go there again. The hotel is a credit to the manager who was very good.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nellie1942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2011

just spent 5 days at the Grosvenor what a great place and wonderful staff ,It was my father;s 90th birthday whilst we were there and everyone made sure he had a ball nothing was to much trouble for any of the staff or management.I hope to be back soon .YOU JUST HAVE TO TRY IT. Thanks one and all . Chrissy Sue Val and John

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chip31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caerphilly, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 March 2011

The Staff was excellent and service was very good.
The food was good and plentiful
Entertainment was Very good
Rooms clean and well presented ( little dated by improvements are on going)

And Value for money you could not beat it, we traveled with Edwards Coaches from South Wales , the whole trip was wonderful.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denrob455
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2011

stay here regularly on business, and have taken partner on holiday about 4 times.
great location easily able to walk into torquay town along sea front (25 mins)
easy to find
free car parking - although limited
good facilities - pool, sauna and small fitness centre
the restaurant is good - not very large and not romantic but functional
the pub on site has great if not fantastic food- very ambient- would recommend
The rooms are fine, some are a little outdated, some need some maintenance in the bathrooms etc, but we have stayed in a gem of a room a couple of times (forgot room number) and it has very large bed, and the room is huge. it is close to reception, quiet and just lovely.
staff are efficient,
There are lots of aging visitors to Torquay, and we love staying in this hotel as have never had any roudy guests. We always stay here when visiting this area or Exeter.
Would recommend highly.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Whingefreezone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ebbw Vale, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 March 2011

lovely and excellent service, staff are great, managerment very nice do anything they can to make are stay pleasent, tour trips with hotel very good,hotel rooms roomy and very well appointed. food was excellent and a happy hour at the bar was briiliant. entertainment was brilliant too. hope to visit again soon. thank you so much

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stephendavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#37 of 88 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,250 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#23 of 88 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,674 reviews
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Torquay Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Belgrave Sands Hotel & Spa
1.3 mi away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#33 of 88 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Livermead Cliff Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grosvenor Hotel Torquay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grosvenor Hotel Torquay

Property: Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Address: Belgrave Road, Torquay TQ2 5HG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
#34 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Grosvenor Hotel Torquay 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Richardson Grosvenor is perfectly situated to enjoy Devon's beautiful coastline, stunning beaches and local attractions. Fine dining our new restaurant headed by 2 Michelin starred Chef John Burton-Race, the Richardson Grosvenor offers diversity and quality in one neat package. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Hotel.de and Cancelon so you can book your Grosvenor Hotel Torquay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torquay Grosvenor Hotel
Torquay Hotel Grosvenor
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing