We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tip Top Tommy!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
John Burton-Race Restaurant & Rooms
Ranked #18 of 85 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 March 2013

We paid £78 for a double room for two nights to include breakfast. Our stay was excellent, the staff were warm and attentive - especially Elaine & Karen, who were both a credit to the hotel. The food was absolutely superb, more so at the "Inn at the Grosvenor". The indoor pool and Jacuzzi was a welcome surprise and our room was spacious & clean, even if the décor was a little tired and provided all you would expect of it. We will definitely return and many thanks again to all the staff that looked after us. :-)

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jerry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,178)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

962 - 968 of 1,178 reviews

Reviewed 11 March 2013

Stayed here for one night for a bit of fun after watching the TV series, as a stop off on our way to Cornwall. It was fun seeing the hotel after seeing it on TV. We paid £49 for both of us with breakfast, you can't complain about that. It is dated but we expected that, they are currently refurbing 2 rooms at a time. The bed was a bit annoying as it slanted sideways, I presume due to an uneven floor. However, we enjoyed our stay and the staff are just fantastic. Would definitely stay again if we were in the area, for novelty value alone, along with cleanliness. It does seem to be aimed at older guests than us and we are in our late 40s but felt like the 'young ones'-nice for a change! Happy days.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank SallyGrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2013

The hotel is a bit tired and shabby looking but in keeping with age. The rooms are spotless and ourbed was massive and very comfortable.If i had to be criticle it would be the tv no freeview just 5 channels and very old tv.The staff are very professional, helpful and friendly.We ate in the restuarant on the side of the hotel we were so impressed with the standard of the food we ate there twice.Refurbishment had started whilst we were there and it looks as though it will all be done in 6 months. We will certainly return

Room Tip: all the rooms are large. We had aroom ith a sea view.You can always ask when booking the staff are v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ppandmp2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2013

Came here having seen the C4 show so not expecting Claridges. Yes it is really run down and need major investment but, looking around Torquay, it's not on it's own. Service was perfectly fine; friendly, attentive and very helpful. Room was very tired and run down yet it, the bar and restaurant were all spotlessy clean.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dianne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2013

Having thoroughly enjoyed the tv series, we had to see the hotel for ourselves and are so glad we did. The staff are friendly and nothing is too much trouble. We arrived at 11 am (check in is 3pm) and within 30 minutes our room was ready for us. Very clean hotel and our dog loved his welcome bag with blanket and treats. Indoor swimming pool and jacuzzi were very warm and clean, with good changing facilities. After a comfortable night's sleep in a very large bed in a nicely warm room, breakfast was generous and delicious. Thoroughly recommend The Grosvenor, but sorry that Mark no longer there!!

Room Tip: Paying extra for a seaview is well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ruthp311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2013 via mobile

Good service, clean, friendly helpful staff. Would stay again! We we're expecting it to be a bit shambollick after watching the TV program, but glad to say it wasn't! The room was a bit tired, and the whole place could do with a refurbishment

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GFDI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2013 via mobile

To be honest the hotel is not that bad, its spotless. And that's the main thing for me. It does need a revamp, which will take Time, I did love the layout of the hotel , it would be nice to keep its oldie feeling, it gives it more character, I do understand that it does take time and money to bring it up to standard to suit everyone- but Rome wasn't built in a day, did have a few issues, but it was sorted out very fast, lovely staff, I travelled 350miles to vist the grovesnoir, would I go again YES X thumbs up for the grovesnoir, xxx:-P

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mandi c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#29 of 85 in Torquay
2,546 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#22 of 85 in Torquay
3,186 reviews
0 mi away
The Belgrave Sands Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Torquay Hotel
1.3 mi away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#25 of 85 in Torquay
604 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Headland Hotel
The Headland Hotel
#12 of 85 in Torquay
933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to John Burton-Race Restaurant & Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about John Burton-Race Restaurant & Rooms

Address: Belgrave Road, Torquay TQ2 5HG, England (Formerly Grosvenor Hotel Torquay)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
#33 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range: £47 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — John Burton-Race Restaurant & Rooms 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
John Burton-Race, Restaurant with Rooms is perfectly situated to enjoy Devon's beautiful coastline, stunning beaches and local attractions. Fine dining in our new restaurant headed by 2 Michelin starred Chef John Burton-Race, we offer creativity, creative menus and service excellence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your John Burton-Race Restaurant & Rooms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torquay Grosvenor Hotel
Torquay Hotel Grosvenor
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
John Burton-Race Restaurant & Rooms Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing