We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay but missed mark!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Ranked #21 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Burnley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great stay but missed mark!!!”
Reviewed 7 April 2013 via mobile

Booked a night for my family as a surprise on way back from Cornwall we were all big fans of the show and were v excited about seeing it in the flesh as it were!! We were in room 12 which had a double bed single bed and bunk beds paid £69 for b&b so a bargain we ate in the inn and was very good was disappointed no premier sausage option at breakfast!!! And missed mark was 75% but would have been 100% if mark was there especially missed the bingo!!!!!
Don't think will be back but thoroughly enjoyed it

Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank mummyrothwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebecca S, General Manager at Grosvenor Hotel Torquay, responded to this review, 13 April 2013
Thank you for your review. The Richardson group purchased the hotel in October 2012. Unfortunately Mark does not work for the hotel anymore, but we do still have a few stars of the show with us. (Elaine, Karen, Tom). We still play bingo in the main bar, if the guests would like to play. I am glad to hear you enjoyed your meal in our newly re-opened restaurant The Inn. It would be lovely if you did visit again to see the renovations that we are in the process of making to the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,083 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    416
    386
    147
    71
    63
See reviews for
203
538
21
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (326)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Helston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2013

Having just spent two nights at The Grosvenor, I can see that the future of the hotel being a huge success. If the renovation work match the service and efficiency of the staff, they're are on to a winner. I'd particularly like to mention receptionist Farah, who nothing was too much trouble for her. Also Karen, again very pleasant with me, my wife and my 15 month old daughter. An asset to the Hotel.

We had dinner, bed and breakfast both nights, the chef has to be commended for the lovely meals we ate.

We didn't expect a lot from the grosvenor, but food and service were second to none. The rooms are tired, the mattress certainly in need of replacement but I am sure once the refurbishments have been completed, this hotel will be able to match its staffs' level of excellence.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JFH07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebecca S, General Manager at Grosvenor Hotel Torquay, responded to this review, 13 April 2013
Thank you for your lovely review. We have amazing staff here at The Grosvenor Hotel. As you have said they make sure nothing is too much trouble. We try to cater for everyone’s needs where possible. The hotel is in need of some TLC, which we are currently in the process of doing. We are aiming to be a 3* rated hotel by the end of the year, along with 4* service ( which my staff are proving to do). It is great for my team to receive this feedback, not just for the hotel but for themselves also. Again thank you, the team and i look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2013

Stayed with hubby for 1 night in room 15 on 01/04/2013 to 02/04/2013. He is a big fan of the hotel on tv so made a surprise booking for him. Pleasantly surprised with room size with 3 big windows with the see view. Staff is nice and friendly. Also, very nicely surprised that breakfast was included in total price so very good value for money. Free parking! Great location, so close to the see for a walk and many restaurants.Overall really enjoyed stay there and bought a suvenir mug on the way out in reception with hotels name to remember our lovely experience. Definately would come back. Ana&Krystian.

Room Tip: Room 15 with 3 big windows with a see view. Spacious and very quiet, private. 1 kingsize and 1 singl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebecca S, General Manager at Grosvenor Hotel Torquay, responded to this review, 13 April 2013
Thank you for your kind review. Room 15 is a lovely room. As you have said fantastic views of the seafront. All the rooms at The Grosvenor are very spacious with great potential. We are currently decorating and renovating the hotel to bring it back to its natural beauty. We do have free parking at the hotel. We are in a great location, walking distance to the seafront and town centre. I am glad to see you had a good holiday and we hope to see you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2013 via mobile

We didn't stay over but just called in for some lunch and a few drinks after being massive fans of the channel 4 show. Very disappointed to find out that the main staff no longer worked there but the staff were very pleasant and the food and drink were fine. The hotel is quite tired but not in a irredeemable way. A bit of effort at not much cost around the place would make so much difference and could transform it, particularly given it's excellent location. Sleeping giant but bring back Mark!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4_Yorkshire_folks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebecca S, General Manager at Grosvenor Hotel Torquay, responded to this review, 13 April 2013
Thank you for your review. Unfortunately Mark no longer works for the hotel, but we do still have some stars of the show here. (Elaine, Karen, Tom). The staff here are very pleasant and work very hard to give great customer service. We are currently renovating, and decorating the hotel as it is in need of some TLC. If you are ever local again, please pop in for some lunch again and see the improvements that we are making within the hotel. Or look on our website for some amazing last minute deals. Again thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2013

We have just returned from a four night stay at the grosvenor!! It is our 2nd easter break there. We have 4 children in our family party,ages from 2yrs up to 6yrs. We were made very welcome on arrival. Kids loved our two bedroom family room, room 16. Room spacious clean but very tired, smelt damp and dated decor . Bathroom appeared old and worn had a crack in the bath. But ideal size with young children. Reception and restaurant waiting staff were good. We had breakfast and evening meals. Food was very good and menu was flexible for the children. Only down fall some menu choices had price supplements added eg steak.

The year before Mark and Christian etc were there the nightly entertainment was buzzing with bingo and play you cards right (with Christian in drag!!). There is no doubt we missed Mark and the bingo!! This year didnt appear as busy,nightly entertainment still provided and kids loved egg hunt and arts & crafts on the sunday. We ended up in the hotel more this time due to the freezing cold weather!! Swimming pool and bar area are fine. Overall we had a good stay again, hotel in great location staff nice and welcoming we feel relaxed there with the children. .

I look forward to seeing the exciting future renovation plans for the Grosvenor, would definetly return ( we have got to as kids love the hotel!!). I just hope the half board package deals remain at the reasonable prices they are now. Thank you to the Grosvenor Team for an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jlotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebecca S, General Manager at Grosvenor Hotel Torquay, responded to this review, 13 April 2013
Thank you for your lovely review. We are currently renovating and decorating the hotel, so it would be great for you to bring your family back to see the improvements we are making. We aim to be a 3* rated hotel by the end of the year, but with reasonable prices. We will still be a fun, relaxed hotel just with beautiful rooms, lots of activities and a 4* service. Live entertainment is played in our main bar area each night with reasonable priced drinks. Again thank you for your kind review and I look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2013

Booked here for my other halls birthday as we had both enjoyed watching the programme "the hotel". Everything was exactly as you would expect. Hotel was quite worn but it only added to the fun and the character. Staff were really pleasant and helpful. Had dinner in the inn and it was beautiful. Did feel sorry for the waiter who seemed to be serving the whole restaurant himself!! Despite this he was extremely pleasant and attentive and was surprisingly quick considering his work load!. Would definitely recommend. Fantastic location close to the sea front and a small walk to the main shops. Only thing I could fault would be the bed which was very uncomfortable and bumpy but I'm sure that will improve as the refurbishments continue.

Room Tip: We had room 14 which is sea facing with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stephmassey2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 2 April 2013

My wife and I have just spent the 3 nights over Easter at the Hotel and found the whole experience fabulous. The staff are so helpful, special mention must go to Karen (Duty Manager) who is sensational and apart from a gigantic pay rise should be promoted to Head of the Richardson Group. (Probably won't happen)
We had room 14 which is tired but spotlessy clean. Unable to use the balcony as there is a falling masonry issue. Breakfast was very good, with live entertainment each evening and reasonable bar prices.
The hotel could not be in a better location, 10 minutes walk from the town centre.
I will definately be returning, hopefully when the weather is slightly warmer.
Congratulations to Mr Richardson and all of your staff

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#34 of 87 in Torquay
2,286 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#24 of 87 in Torquay
2,763 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Headland Hotel
The Headland Hotel
#11 of 87 in Torquay
809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay
1.3 mi away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#30 of 87 in Torquay
548 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Livermead Cliff Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grosvenor Hotel Torquay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grosvenor Hotel Torquay

Property: Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Address: Belgrave Road, Torquay TQ2 5HG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
#33 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Grosvenor Hotel Torquay 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Richardson Grosvenor is perfectly situated to enjoy Devon's beautiful coastline, stunning beaches and local attractions. Fine dining our new restaurant headed by 2 Michelin starred Chef John Burton-Race, the Richardson Grosvenor offers diversity and quality in one neat package. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and Cancelon so you can book your Grosvenor Hotel Torquay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torquay Grosvenor Hotel
Torquay Hotel Grosvenor
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing