We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best value for money in the UK”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Ranked #21 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Llanelli
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best value for money in the UK”
Reviewed 10 April 2013

The hotel needs decorating, but it is very clean, the staff were polite and very helpful. The food was delicious. The room we had was clean and was warm, comfortable and quiet. Value for money--can only be described as excellent.

Room Tip: It does need decorating but I have no doubt this will be seen to in the near future. When we were th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tymblwr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebecca S, General Manager at Grosvenor Hotel Torquay, responded to this review, 11 April 2013
Thank you for your kind review. We are currently in the process of decorating the hotel, and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,102 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    425
    392
    149
    72
    64
See reviews for
207
549
23
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (332)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2013

Room shabby ,Bed uncomfortable, Bathroom a disgrace wallpaper yes wallpaper hanging off the bathroom wall & a loo that would not flush and a not very clean mouldy shower.The breakfast was lovely more so because as we finished it we left. Barbara D

Room Tip: go to another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BARBARAD854
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebecca S, General Manager at Grosvenor Hotel Torquay, responded to this review, 11 April 2013
I am sorry to read that you did not enjoy your stay, The Richardson Group purchased the hotel in October and we are currently renovating the building. We hope for the hotel to be at a 3* standard later this year.
Whilst we are working on this, we do ensure to give a 4* service to all our customers along with high standards on our food.
I do hope you will come back to The Grosvenor later in the year to see the massive improvements in renovations that we are currently doing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Faversham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 April 2013

Have just returned from a 2 night stay at the hotel and had a fab time. We stayed in room 2,which was amazing- beautifully decorated and well worth the money. In all honesty we only went, like many others because the hotel was on TV, however would definately recommend to others. The staff in the restaurants were friendly and always made us feel welcome. The grosvenor inn was a great place to eat and a great asset to the hotel. We have already discussed maybe returning in the summer.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra for the newly refurbished rooms - well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carlae209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebecca S, General Manager at Grosvenor Hotel Torquay, responded to this review, 11 April 2013
Thank you for your lovely review. We are currently refurbishing the bedrooms as you have said. Room 2 is a beautiful room.
The Inn re- opened in February, which is our steak and fish restaurant. Tom, the manager has been working very hard to ensure the restaurant has excellent service and food.
I look forward to hopefully seeing you in the summer, when our pool bar will be open.
Torquay is a beautiful location especially when the sun is shining.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiverton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 April 2013

The staff were all very nice and friendly. My room was rather shabby which I didn't mind as it was warm and clean. The whole of the hotel is a little run down and very like a rabbit warren with many rooms and seating areas - fun though! Outdoor and indoor pools, sauna, lovely grounds and even a hairdresser! Great place, I loved it.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebecca S, General Manager at Grosvenor Hotel Torquay, responded to this review, 13 April 2013
Thank you for your lovely review, the hotel was purchased in October by The Richardson group and we are currently renovating to get the hotel to its natural beauty. I am so pleased to hear that you loved your stay. The staff are amazing at customer care and I look forward to telling them about your kind feedback. I look forward to hopefully seeing you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We stayed for two nights at the end of March. It was only me and my partner but we had a family room as that was all that was available for our dates but for £69 bed and breakfast for each night we couldnt grumble. We had room 28 at the top of the hotel which over looked the park and had a sea view and no neighbours as the room is on its own landing so nice and quiet. There was a wedding on the Saturday night but we didnt hear a thing. The room was big,comfortable and warm. The bathroom was nice with a lovely big bath. The breakfasts are very nice as you can have as much cereal, fruit and juices as you like before ordering a cooked beakfast. We ate in the Inn on our second night, the food there was also lovely. All the staff were very helpful and polite. As mentioned in previous reviews the hotel could do with a bit of work in some areas but that didnt bother us, we had a lovely relaxed weekend there. We cant wait to go back again soon and take the kids.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebecca S, General Manager at Grosvenor Hotel Torquay, responded to this review, 13 April 2013
Thank you for your kind review. The bedrooms at The Grosvenor are very large, with high ceilings and beautiful features. We are currently in the process of decorating and renovating the hotel to reform it back to its natural beauty. We did have a wedding on this weekend, but as you have said we never let this interfere with our in house guests. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your meals. We employed our new executive head chef (Ricco Jenkins) back in January and he takes a lot of pride in the meals which he produces. I will be sure to tell him about your feedback. I look forward to welcoming you and your family back to the hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Stayed at the Grosvenor with a silent S for two nights 3-5 April 2013. Booked last year as we wanted to stay in the modern day Fawlty Towers with Mark and the team. We did suspect however that they may have moved on having seen the last episode where the hotel was sold. This turned out to be the case, however the actual building hadn't changed at all so we got a bit of a 'Hotel' fix from that ! We had room 4 which was on the ground floor and a little noisy from traffic outside and the noise from the bar when the pub singer was on, but it wasn't a huge problem. The room was huge and a bit hot but well equipped even if the coffee was undrinkable.
Staff were all very helpful and food good. We ate in the @InnattheGrosvenor and the food was surprisingly good.
The real renovations are about to begin and I fear the hotel will look very different in a few months, so if you want to see it as it was when Mark was there, book quickly!

Room Tip: Quieter the higher up you are!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Miranda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebecca S, General Manager at Grosvenor Hotel Torquay, responded to this review, 13 April 2013
Thank you for your review. I am glad you had a fun stay. Mark no longer works for the hotel, but we do still have some of the staff here from the series. We are currently renovating the hotel, but we will still be keeping the warm, friendly feeling of The Grosvenor Hotel. We have live entertainment on each night in the main bar area from 8.30pm till 11pm. We keep the cut of point for 11pm as we do not want our guests to not have a nice, comfortable sleep. I will speak with my head housekeeper with regards to the coffee in the bedrooms, to see if we can look in to a different supplier. I know how important a nice cup of tea or coffee is for the morning.
I am glad you enjoyed your meal at The Inn. We re- opened the restaurant in February and have been working very hard to ensure the food and service is at a 4* standard. I hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnley, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2013 via mobile

Booked a night for my family as a surprise on way back from Cornwall we were all big fans of the show and were v excited about seeing it in the flesh as it were!! We were in room 12 which had a double bed single bed and bunk beds paid £69 for b&b so a bargain we ate in the inn and was very good was disappointed no premier sausage option at breakfast!!! And missed mark was 75% but would have been 100% if mark was there especially missed the bingo!!!!!
Don't think will be back but thoroughly enjoyed it

Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank mummyrothwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebecca S, General Manager at Grosvenor Hotel Torquay, responded to this review, 13 April 2013
Thank you for your review. The Richardson group purchased the hotel in October 2012. Unfortunately Mark does not work for the hotel anymore, but we do still have a few stars of the show with us. (Elaine, Karen, Tom). We still play bingo in the main bar, if the guests would like to play. I am glad to hear you enjoyed your meal in our newly re-opened restaurant The Inn. It would be lovely if you did visit again to see the renovations that we are in the process of making to the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#35 of 87 in Torquay
2,325 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#24 of 87 in Torquay
2,816 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Headland Hotel
The Headland Hotel
#12 of 87 in Torquay
820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay
1.3 mi away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#32 of 87 in Torquay
556 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Belgrave Sands Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grosvenor Hotel Torquay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grosvenor Hotel Torquay

Property: Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Address: Belgrave Road, Torquay TQ2 5HG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
#33 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Grosvenor Hotel Torquay 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Richardson Grosvenor is perfectly situated to enjoy Devon's beautiful coastline, stunning beaches and local attractions. Fine dining our new restaurant headed by 2 Michelin starred Chef John Burton-Race, the Richardson Grosvenor offers diversity and quality in one neat package. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Grosvenor Hotel Torquay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torquay Grosvenor Hotel
Torquay Hotel Grosvenor
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing