We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Very Pleasant Surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Ranked #21 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
East London
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“What a Very Pleasant Surprise”
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We arrived and were welcomed by a smiling young lady (Farah) who really looked pleased that we were staying. As we had arrived very early, we were shown to the lounge/bar area where we had tea. We were given our keys as soon as our rooms where ready and found that although both our rooms were in need of 'updating' they were spotlessly clean and very comfortable. We had several evening meals in the Hotel Restaurant which were excellent. The breakfast is lovely and served with a smile. We swam in the indoor pool every morning and it was an added bonus to our stay. I have to mention several members of staff - Daryl, Hotel Manager is a treasure. Yasmin, Fabio and Jade worked so very hard to make our stay memorable. The Receptionists Farah and Rachel are so patient (especially with my husband as he is a tease). Tony was also very helpful. The staff are the heart of this hotel and from what we have experienced this past week it will soon be one of the best in Torquay. Thank you to everyone for a really memorable stay. We will be back!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jgumbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ddarylb, General Manager at Grosvenor Hotel Torquay, responded to this review, 29 September 2013
Thank you very much for your wonderful comments regarding your stay, our night porter certainly misses you both for your early morning swims each day and the reception team and restaurant team still talk about the four of you. The fact that you stayed 5 days is a measure of the service you received and the standards we attained during your visit and it was a pleasure seeing your smiley faces every morning at breakfast. Many thanks once again for the lovely comments and we look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future. Daryl and the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,098 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    423
    392
    148
    71
    64
See reviews for
206
548
22
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (330)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ramsgate, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

thought we would gamble by staying at the fawlty towers of torquay.!!!! Wow. very big place, like going back in time, it is dated and, undergoing refurbishment at the moment, very spacious rooms. Clean, good breakfasts, lovely indoor pool and above all, the manager Daryl, manageress Karen, Farah, and Fabio, and the rest of the staff made us so welcome, we didn't want to come home !!! We had a brilliant week there and if this is Fawlty Towers, bring it on.!
We couldn't "fawlt" it. See you guys next year. X
Carol & Pete from Ramsgate

Room Tip: rooms on the garden side will be quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carolh98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ddarylb, General Manager at Grosvenor Hotel Torquay, responded to this review, 29 September 2013
Thank you very much for your kind comments regarding your stay with us, the refurbishment is now finished and we just have a few remaining bedrooms to complete and are very excited by the new look of the building and the 22 bedrooms we have completed. We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future so that you can see the rapid changes and developments which I am sure will delight you both. Daryl the General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 September 2013 via mobile

I just wanted to share our experience here... A lovely one it was!
We were greeted with smiles and our room was very nice. Over the two nights we stayed, the staff worked extremely hard and still had the time for us.
The restaurant was full of ambience with candles and the food was good.
The lounge bar is a spacious room with balcony not far. The Saturdays entertainment was good though a very quiet room she was warm and a lovely singer.

This hotel is obviously making improvements and the team care about its guest's - thank you. We'll consider staying again in the near future.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tinky81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ddarylb, General Manager at Grosvenor Hotel Torquay, responded to this review, 29 September 2013
Thank you very much for your considerate comments reference your stay here at the Grosvenor, it certainly is an improving hotel week by week but we also consider this not to be a distraction to our valued guests. The Brasserie style venue is certainly appealing and the fact the nightly entertainment is adjacent gives a lovely ambiance and Hestor the singer on the Saturday night is totally delightful. We take great pride in our staff and it is essential that we deliver a quality service but also to be able to give our guests time to enjoy us as they are our number one priority as you appreciated in your comments. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon. Daryl and his team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

We stayed here as a last minute booking, apon arriving the car park was full- there was no signs to show that there was additional parking around the back

We managed to check in with a very grumpy girl, who to our surpise told us our room was already avaliable to use.

The room........ what can i say! I wouldnt have paid £10 for this let alone the £49 we paid! The tele was dated and didnt have a remote control. The bed was old.... very old and the springs were coming out of the bed. The pillows were flat as a pancake

The bar was well stocked, the bar staff were very friendly. The best part of the day was the other guests we met in the bar area!

Overall i wouldnt stay here again, however the most disappointing thing was the receptionist. She did not offer me a breakdown of my room tab, so as far as i know i could have been easily double charged or paid for drinks which were not mine and when we mentioned how uncomfortable the bed was the response we got was "oh, really?" and that was it!

Stay at your own risk!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kerry1205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ddarylb, General Manager at Grosvenor Hotel Torquay, responded to this review, 29 September 2013
Dear Sir, thank you for taking the time to put a few comments on this page on behalf of your stay, I was very disappointed to read of the surly girl on reception as we take great pride in our customer service here at the hotel and I am sure that if you returned it would be a completely different scenario. As for the bedroom I have to admit that of the 49 bedrooms we have FULLY REFURBISHED 27 of them to date but we have replaced all the televisions as part of the progression and will continue with two additional bedrooms every week.We would relish the opportunity to look after you once again and deliver to you the "New Grosvenor" style under my new management team, having come over from the Grand Hotel myself with some prominent acquisitions to assist me we are making great progress. Many thanks once again. Daryl and his team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

we stayed at the Grosvenor for five days in July, we knew what to expect and went for the experience, there were a few hicups during our stay but this made it more enjoyable as we were expecting nothing less, we were a party of five, we had booked two seaview rooms, the rooms are large but are ready for a re-furb, the room we stayed in was old and had a constant smell of damp which we got used to, outside on the landing there was a champagne bucket collecting the rain which was coming through the ceiling which was quite funny, the grounds are very nice the service was ok elaina on reception is a credit as any issues we had were dealt with very quickly and nothing was ever too much trouble, the breakfast are ok but ours always came out with something missing off the plate this happened on every day but they were quick to rectify the problem, this hasnt put us off and we will definatly return next year for another fun experience..

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 976darren23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ddarylb, General Manager at Grosvenor Hotel Torquay, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
Thank you for your lovely comments in reference to your stay over three days with us during september. Mark Jenkins was a true legend to the programme it portrayed and the team now left on show are a credit to the true meaning of hospitality in every sense. The show must go on and we are pleased to be part of the Grosvenors new found success. we look forfard to you return. Daryl and the team .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Molton, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

After reading other people's reviews I got quiet worried,! We arrived a couple hours before check in and the staff where friendly and helpful we sorted all the paper work then just had to pick up are keys later but made sure house keeping made are rooms priority! Once we did go up to ours rooms we had 3 we where expecting the worst but we must have had refurb rooms all though the bedroom had been done there was still old fashioned furniture but the bed was so comfortable are bathroom needed a bit of TLC few cracked wall tiles and general wear and tear! We had a couple of drinks in the bar while waiting for friends which was reasonably priced and very well decorated just had one problem my glass was dirty ( someone else's lipstick) my partner took it back and they couldn't have been more sorry and got a new one straight away once all the building work is done its going to be amazing from what you can see has been done already

Room Tip: We had rooms 16 17 19
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nikita R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Having just returned from the grosvenor, you can see how much this hotel is changing daily!! Just from what i whitnessed during my stay when this hotel is complete its going to be FANTASTIC!!
the facilities are great, indoor swimming pool which we used before breakfast to wake ours selfs up, was lovely and warm! breakfast was great, fast service & all polite. when we arrived we arrived at mid day (we know check in isnt until 3 but thought we would see on the off chance if our room was ready) a lovely lady called farah checked us in lovely warm welcome,very polite, such a kind young lady, so helpful and always smiling 5* service for reception. She let us check in when we arrived as the room was ready! Fantastic!! lounge bar was great for enteratinment bar prices quite expensive the lady on the bar (didnt get your name sorry) was very friendly & helpful also!!
we will return 100% when all the re-furbishment is complete but at the moment it is the staff that make this hotel! the owner has a great team on there hands!!

Room Tip: We've been told room 2 is the best room as its been completely re-furbished!! i would advise thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ddarylb, General Manager at Grosvenor Hotel Torquay, responded to this review, 29 September 2013
Dear Sir, many thanks for your lovely comments in reference to your stay, Farrah the young lady who met you at reception does indeed exemplify the good work from all the staff in providing a wonderful and warming arrival and the fact she stood out for you was very impressive. The indoor pool has now been totally revamped and is warm and even more enticing.
We are very proud of our achievement to date and thank you once again in acknowledging our efforts. Daryl and the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#35 of 87 in Torquay
2,321 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#24 of 87 in Torquay
2,808 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Headland Hotel
The Headland Hotel
#12 of 87 in Torquay
819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay
1.3 mi away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#30 of 87 in Torquay
555 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Belgrave Sands Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grosvenor Hotel Torquay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grosvenor Hotel Torquay

Property: Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Address: Belgrave Road, Torquay TQ2 5HG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
#33 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Grosvenor Hotel Torquay 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Richardson Grosvenor is perfectly situated to enjoy Devon's beautiful coastline, stunning beaches and local attractions. Fine dining our new restaurant headed by 2 Michelin starred Chef John Burton-Race, the Richardson Grosvenor offers diversity and quality in one neat package. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grosvenor Hotel Torquay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torquay Grosvenor Hotel
Torquay Hotel Grosvenor
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing