We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Birthday Treat”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Ranked #21 of 88 Hotels in Torquay
Oldbury, United Kingdom
1 review
“Birthday Treat”
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Never been to Torquay before found Hotel on the internet, then realized it was the one on the TV.
What a pleasant shock we got, after getting the key to our room, it was fantastic,to see it was one of the refurbished rooms felt very "posh". It felt more like a suite than an ordinary hotel room. The staff are great, nothing is too much trouble, made us feel very welcome. Food is very good, not flappy or over cooked. The bar staff, and evening entertainment were excellent. All in all it was a great weekend, would highly recommend this hotel to our friends and will be booking again for next year.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a bay window, lovely to look out onto the garden and also can see the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donald C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ddarylb, General Manager at Grosvenor Hotel Torquay, responded to this review, 11 January 2014
Dear Donald, what a pleasure it was to read that we exceeded your expectation on your first visit to the hotel, we do find an awful lot of our guests book expecting to find some relevance to the already infamous programme and all depart with a greater understanding of the transformation that has taken place and commend us on our sincere sfforts to look after all aspects of the guest stay. Many many thanks once again. Daryl and the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,066 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    406
    381
    145
    71
    63
See reviews for
198
530
20
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (323)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed for one night in december , what a supprise the room was, it was clean and modernised, the bathroom was big clean and tidy.
The staff were very friendly and a good welcome when arrived.
The breakfast was enjoyable too...... no award winning sausage this time :)
We only paid £30 for the night on a deal ...cant knock that at all .
Only negative was the squeaky floorboard from the room above which sounded like an elephant staying that night.
Keep up the good work Grosvenor and keep up the standards to the rooms too, dont let that slip.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LordandLady69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ddarylb, General Manager at Grosvenor Hotel Torquay, responded to this review, 11 January 2014
Dear Sirs, many thanks for the lovely comments, the bedrooms are certainly looking superb after the refurbishment with almost everything brand new. I was pleased to read that all was to your liking and we look forward to your imminent return. Daryl and the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We arrived and were quickly checked in. We had only booked B&B via Laterooms.com and the only room available on this site, was a twin room. The price was good value at £69 and when we filled in the 'special requests' box, we asked if it was possible to have a double room if available. When we were handed the key to the room and following the clear instructions as to where to find it (room 43) we let ourselves in to find that we had been upgraded and had a double room with a great sea view.
The room was clean and spacious, with a large bathroom. We made use of the swimming pool and spa, which was very clean and warm, it was quiet too, as at the time of our using it, most of the guests were preparing for their NYE Gala Dinner, which, as we were B&B, we had made our own evening meal plans.
Overall, we were surprised at the size of the hotel, which was spread across several levels with access via stairs and stair lifts fitted in most areas as there are no lifts in the hotel. We quickly 'found our bearings' within the hotel, again due to the clear directions of the receptionist. The bed was very comfortable, with both feather and natural fibre pillows, beautiful heavy, thick curtains at the big bay window, (which kept out the draft as the weather was very windy and stormy).
Breakfast was extended until 11am and check out extended to Mid day, due to the New Years Eve celebrations the night before. We made it down to breakfast, to be greeted by polite waiting staff, who directed us to a table and the self service breakfast table, where there was a good choice of fruits, cereals jams and toast. Once we had finished, we had our orders taken for the cooked breakfast, again the choice was good. When it arrived at our table, it was freshly cooked, with the best fried egg I had ever had at any hotel stay. Due to the extended times for breakfast, we didn't feel rushed at all.
We recommend this hotel for anyone who doesn't mind stairs or using stair lifts. The staff are so helpful and friendly and nothing is too much bother - we even asked for a bucket of ice to chill our own bubbly in our room and were even offered the stand if we wanted it, even though, we realised that there might have been quite a demand for ice buckets from the guests who were having the Gala Dinner!
We are so glad this hotel has shaken off the image it was portrayed as, due to the TV documentary and have to admit to being curious as to what it is now like under new management. Keep up the good work Grosvenor, I'm sure we will be back and stay for a bit longer next time :-)

Room Tip: It's good to know that 'special requests' on booking are taken note of. Rooms at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hampy75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ddarylb, General Manager at Grosvenor Hotel Torquay, responded to this review, 11 January 2014
Dear Guests, thank you for your comments in reference to your stay, I think you have acknowledged all of the good work and incorporated the changes within your comments enclosed.
We have explored all areas of the guest enjoyment and are continually striving to make all our guests as comfortable as possible and I am pleased you have recognised this. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Daryl and the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontypridd, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Stayed at this Hotel for a Txmas break on the 27-29 December had a very nice time ,Staff very helpful , rooms clean warm comfortable we had room 41 which had a double and single but there was still plenty of room ,no view to speak of but we where out most of the time , We where on breakfast and dinner which we found plenty full and there was a choice ,evening entertainment was very good bingo to start which went down well then live music ,found it very enjoyable.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jude034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ddarylb, General Manager at Grosvenor Hotel Torquay, responded to this review, 11 January 2014
Dear Jude, after a hectic xmas period it was great to read that the twixmas period was just as efficient in looking after you and your friends. I am pleased all was to your expectation. Daryl and the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
313 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

A group of us had a terrific time at the Grosvenor tonight for New Years Eve from the welcoming glass of "bubbles " all the way through the night, food , staff, entertainment TOP CLASS. The best N Y E party we have been to for many a year.Many thanks Keith, Darryl and team. Just one question----------------------------When are you taking bookings for the next one?

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Orbslos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ddarylb, General Manager at Grosvenor Hotel Torquay, responded to this review, 11 January 2014
Dear Guests, thank you for the glowing report on the New Years Eve event and I am pleased that it was as successful as we interpreted. We all had a fantastic time and look forward to next year when we promise to make it bigger and better. Daryl and all the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

I saw this hotel on TV and thought it wouldn't get any better no matter how much they tried and when they revealed it was under new management on the last episode I thought I will try it. So in November I came to The grovsvenor with some friends It was amazing that is all I can say. The new rooms are fantastic! The staff make you feel like your at home as they are really welcoming!! I have to say they have made an improvement since Indian night which happened when the old manager was in charge!!(great telly though!!) It Is amazing how far you have come.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xxx x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ddarylb, General Manager at Grosvenor Hotel Torquay, responded to this review, 11 January 2014
Dear Sir, many thanks for the glowing reference incorporating where the hotel was and how far we have travelled since taking over. We are trying very hard to exceed every expectation our guests have and we will continue to make the improvements necessary to continue as one of the best small hotels in the bay. Daryl and the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

recently stayed at this hotel staff quite welcoming,rooms were nice but in mine number 15 it took 5 minutes plus for wash basni toempty after shaving main bone of contention allthough warned no lifts was just how many different levels ,for restaurant bar etc wich is ok if you are a mountain goat,

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brian a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#37 of 88 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,245 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#23 of 88 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,663 reviews
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Torquay Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Belgrave Sands Hotel & Spa
1.3 mi away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#29 of 88 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Livermead Cliff Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grosvenor Hotel Torquay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grosvenor Hotel Torquay

Property: Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Address: Belgrave Road, Torquay TQ2 5HG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
#34 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Grosvenor Hotel Torquay 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Richardson Grosvenor is perfectly situated to enjoy Devon's beautiful coastline, stunning beaches and local attractions. Fine dining our new restaurant headed by 2 Michelin starred Chef John Burton-Race, the Richardson Grosvenor offers diversity and quality in one neat package. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Grosvenor Hotel Torquay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torquay Grosvenor Hotel
Torquay Hotel Grosvenor
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing