We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Caroline & Robin Arnold- Excellent night at the Grovesnor visited 7 Feb 2014”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Ranked #22 of 89 Hotels in Torquay
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Caroline & Robin Arnold- Excellent night at the Grovesnor visited 7 Feb 2014”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

This is our second visit to this hotel and this visit was better than the first (which we didn't think that was possible) with evening entertainment, great singer who had us up dancing from start to finish.
Rooms are lovely, comfortable and very clean. Great location.
Food was fantastic and couldn't fault anything. Great deal at £49 for two bed breakfast and 3 course evening meal. (Jan & Feb offer.
We took my Mum & her partner who absolutely loved it too.
Staff really friendly and helpful. Ben from the dining room was great fun and very efficient as was new waitress that had only been there 3 days. Lovely girl (sorry can't remember her name.
We will definitely be going back for our birthdays but a longer stay next time.

Room Tip: Room 25 definitely the best room if you can manage the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Caroline A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ddarylb, General Manager at Grosvenor Hotel Torquay, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Dear Caroline, it was so pleasing to read how much you enjoyed your few days here with us at the Grosvenor. I was also pleased that you found our DBB offer so tempting and that the food was to your liking. Room 25 is a lovely room and along with the new tvs and tea making facilities and the new bed linen it has been a vast improvement on the Grosvenor past. We thank you once again, Daryl and the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,049 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    398
    376
    142
    70
    63
See reviews for
196
519
19
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (318)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

We went to this hotel for a break mainly but what drew us to this hotel was the tv show and Mark the xprevious Manager. Firstly the hotel!!!! we had dinner bed and breakfast on a great offer. We arrived at the hotel and the welcome we recieved and all the staff was really really friendly and helpful. I felt the staff worked really really hard and was keen to keep all guest happy. The rooms was clean, presentable and tidy.The hotel has great facilitys such as a gym and indoor mini pool.
However I was so impressed with two things firstly the food from the restuarant which was from an alcarte menu which was better food then some 5* restuarants we have eaten in and also they put on live singers on the evening which was the icing on the cake after a fantastic day.
The only reason we have given this a 4 rating is from a personal point of view that mostly all the staff have gone from the program, there was no hype or even pictures up of the tv show or Mark and the hotel seemed a bit flat without him. It seemed a shame that thay havent made a theme about this in the hotel at all. But thid to one side I would highly recommend stopping here and would defianetly go back in the future.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AllyG333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ddarylb, General Manager at Grosvenor Hotel Torquay, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear Guests, thank you for the lovely comments regarding your stay here at the Grosvenor, I was so pleased to read that you were able to take advantage of the Dinner inclusive offer and the comments regarding the food are fantastic. To be able to achieve the quality of food at the prices we are charging is a fantastic result from our Head Chef and we are looking forward to some busy weekends coming up. We are pleased to have the association with the now infamous tv series but as we are rebuilding the quality and the service, the food and the building it would be unlikely that we would create a shrine to the one and only Mark Jenkins. We are happy to show all our guest the nooks and crannies associated with the programme but it is our intention to have a very well run family hotel where you can relax and enjoy your vacation or business trip with the delights of our cuisine and staff alike. Therefor we are creating our own culture going forward and hope that our guests return again and again. Thank you once again for the lovely comments. Daryl and the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saltash, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

We went for a week- end to the Grosvenor hotel in Torquay and have just arrived home . The Hotel has been refurbished and the food was amazing. The staff were all so very nice and could not have done more for you.
Had use of the indoor pool, sauna and jacuzzi which was lovely.
Six of us went and we cannot thank the staff at the hotel enough for making our break just brilliant. We will return. Carol and Alex Fries and friends .

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Carol F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ddarylb, General Manager at Grosvenor Hotel Torquay, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear Carol, how lovely of you to take the time to put some lovely comments on this page. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed the food so much and as I have written recently, we are having a lot of success in the amount of people having Dinner with us and it is certainly creating a buzz in the kitchen. It was a real pleasure looking after the both of you and your guests and it wont be too long till your impending return. Many thanks, Daryl and the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anglesey
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

My wife and I booked a coach trip to visit Torquay for a well earned winter break, we stayed for four nights at the Grosvenor hotel, a hotel we had used about four years ago, the hotel has been taken over by the Richardson group since our first stay and is very much improved, much of the hotel has been redecorated and fixtures and fittings replaced to a very high standard, in fact up to a standard equal to a much higher star rating, several of the staff were unchanged and we were looked after better than most five star hotels we had stayed at, the food was second to none and we must praise the kitchen staff for their range of beautifully prepared dishes and promptness of service we enjoyed through out our stay. we had room No 36, a twin bedded room on the first floor, the room was large enough for two easy chairs and a setee, which made for a very comfortable stay during winter months.

Room Tip: We spoke to other visiters during our stay and found that none of them were unsatisfied with their r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angleseycaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ddarylb, General Manager at Grosvenor Hotel Torquay, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear Sir, I always portray to my staff that it is there willingness to make every effort to accommodate our guests in every way that is part of the growing success of this hotel. You have highlighted the efficiency and the attentiveness and I am very proud that we as a team achieved this and made your four day break a success. I was pleased to read that as a previous guest of the Grosvenor, that you have made so many comments to the improvements brought about by the new management team and we thank you very much. Daryl and the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2014

My partner and I booked a night at the hotel to attend a family funeral. We had seen mixed reviews but at an excellent price for bed,breakfast and evening meal we decided to take our chances. I am certainly glad we did. Right from the start at reception we were made welcome and that continued throughout our stay. Our room was huge and very clean and comfortable but our biggest surprise was the food. It was wonderful and totally unexpected for the price.
All in all the staff at the Grosvenor made a sad event a wonderful stay and our special thanks go to Yasmin,Ben,Karen and the lovely Scottish lady on reception. Daryl your staff are a credit to you and the improvements that have obviously been made at the hotel all added up to a wonderful stay. We
look forward to seeing you all again soon. Gill and John

Room Tip: Room 5 is huge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gillian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ddarylb, General Manager at Grosvenor Hotel Torquay, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear Gill and John, many thanks for the lovely comments regarding your visit to our hotel. I was very pleased to read that you enjoyed the food so much and that you found the accommodation to your liking, room 5 is certainly a very spacious and well appointed room. We have had a tremendous amount of interest in the dining facilities in recent weeks and it has been a pleasure to accommodate over 50 people for dinner each weekend accompanied by the entertainment it certainly is value for money. I have always worked with my staff and coupled with there individual efforts they certainly are a very valuable asset to our warm and friendly establishment. Many thanks once again, Daryl and the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2014

We stayed at the Grosvenor Hotel for a two night. break, my husband daughter and son inlaw,we had bed and breakfast and evening meal,we were really inpressed the food was lovely all the staff were friendly and very polite, we never expected any evening entertainment, because we went on Tuesday and Wednesday, what a lovely surprise we had live entertainment. on both nights and really enjoyed ourselves. We chose this hotel because we had watched the television program The Hotel and wanted to be nosey, it was lovely and clean and so friendly, the weather we had was terrible but had a brilliant time thanks to the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 934Sue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ddarylb, General Manager at Grosvenor Hotel Torquay, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear Sue, many thanks for the lovely comments in reference to your stay with your family, I was pleased to read that you enjoyed the food so much as we are putting a lot of effort into the ambiance and the quality of food and it seems to be rewarding. I would certainly promote ringing the hotel in advance to book your Dinner to avoid disappointment. Many thanks once again, Daryl and the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2014

I stayed at the Grosvenor whilst working in the area , very friendly and clean and great value for money . The lady on reception , Elaine, was very efficient and professional , and made the stay that extra bit special .She was truely welcoming and is a credit to the hotel

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ddarylb, General Manager at Grosvenor Hotel Torquay, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear Ben, thank you for your comments in reference to your stay, I was pleased to read that you were made to feel welcome and that you found your room to be clean and appropriate for your stay. Elaine, the receptionist, has worked here probably the longest and she has had some lovely comments from guests on this site and she is a very valuable and professional member of the team. Many thanks, Daryl and the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#37 of 89 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,210 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#25 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,600 reviews
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Torquay Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Belgrave Sands Hotel & Spa
1.3 mi away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#28 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Livermead Cliff Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grosvenor Hotel Torquay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grosvenor Hotel Torquay

Property: Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Address: Belgrave Road, Torquay TQ2 5HG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
#34 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Grosvenor Hotel Torquay 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Richardson Grosvenor is perfectly situated to enjoy Devon's beautiful coastline, stunning beaches and local attractions. Fine dining our new restaurant headed by 2 Michelin starred Chef John Burton-Race, the Richardson Grosvenor offers diversity and quality in one neat package. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grosvenor Hotel Torquay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torquay Grosvenor Hotel
Torquay Hotel Grosvenor
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing