We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Ranked #21 of 88 Hotels in Torquay
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent value”
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

I booked for a group of 27 (14 double rooms) for dinner bed and breakfast. From start to finish it was a pleasure to deal with the team. As with any group it is always difficult to please everyone but we managed it. On arrival we were greeted by the friendly staff, The rooms were good, clean and spacious. We were seated in the brasserie for dinner on three large round tables and waited in anticipation for the food to be presented. It was excellent, as was the service. There was live music/dancing for any of the group who wished to participate but most found the cocktails and the bar a bigger attraction.
Much good work has already been done since the TV series and I am sure when it is all completed it will be a top hotel
We'll done the Grosvenor!

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Ray M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ddarylb, General Manager at Grosvenor Hotel Torquay, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Dear Ray, thank you for the lovely comments in reference to your group staying at the Grosvenor for the weekend. The fact that you had such a lovely group of colleagues made the event so much more enjoyable and it certainly was a lovely Saturday evening in the brasserie with good food, good service and a great atmosphere. it is certainly a challenge to our hospitality when so many come in one group and we enjoyed the challenge immensely so a big thank you to your group. Daryl; and the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,065 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    405
    381
    145
    71
    63
See reviews for
198
529
20
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (323)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
falmouth
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

One of our local hotels in Falmouth is owned by the Richardson group and we had seen the TV programme on the Grosvenor and the hotel coming into the Richardson fold. We usually take up the winter offers and decided this one was too good to miss. We were not disappointed. It is clear they are on a mission to take this place up to a similar standard as the others. The biggest impression was the attentiveness and friendlness of the staff, going over and above the norm. Another was that everything was clean and spotless, ideal. We had evening meal and breakfast included and was good with plenty of choices. There was entertainment on Saturday night which was well received. The leisure suite was well equipped, small indoor L-shaped pool, sauna, solarium and gym. There is also an outdoor pool. There is ample parking around the hotel. It is only a short walk into the main town. For anyone heading to Torquay I would not hesitate to recommend this establishment.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grizzy121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ddarylb, General Manager at Grosvenor Hotel Torquay, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Dear Guests, thank you for your glowing comments in reference to your stay, it certainly has been rewarding with the special offer this month and the amount of diners is unbelievable.i was pleased to read that you enjoyed every part of your stay and that we are winning in our push forward to be a leading example of a warm and friendly but also professional hotel. Many thanks once again. Daryl and the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014

Booked as a surprise Valentine's break for 2 nights bed breakfast & evening meal, staff at reception were fantastic showed us where room was etc. Nothing was too much trouble,
Bedroom and en suite very adequate for needs, indoor pool absolutely lovely and reception provide towels for pool ( added bonus) sauna and Jacuzzi are lovely too .
Cannot fault the food at all cooked to a very high standard and taste and seasoning just right, service was very good too.

Overall an exceptional stay , I've paid more and got less for money .....brilliant team here at Grosvenor Torquay will be coming back and would definitely recommend to anyone ......thanks guys :)

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coxy43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ddarylb, General Manager at Grosvenor Hotel Torquay, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Dear Sirs, what lovely comments afforded to the staff and the hotel accordingly, I was pleased that you benefited from the indoor leisure facilities , such a treat at this time of year. Thank you for the comments in reference to our food, we have been working very hard in this field and it certainly is effective. I was very pleased to read that all was in order for your special weekend and we thank you once again. Daryl and the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashleworth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

When the Richardson group took over the Grosvenor we very interested in seeing how the hotel would stack up to their other establishments which always offer a special experience with good value thrown in. Well the Grosvenor certainly looks like it will fit in just fine. The hotel is on a path of improvement whilst staying open, which must be a mighty task for the staff to undertake. None the less, all the staff from those servicing the rooms to the manager were extremely polite, efficient and helpful beyond the call of duty. Some of the public areas (between main rooms) are still in need of the Richardson touch but, wherever you look, it is spotless! We enjoyed a great afternoon tea in the lounge bar which had a good atmosphere, dinner in the evening (on a busy Saturday) and it was superb! Quick enthusiastic service and food that would have been equally as appreciated if it had been served at the Grand at double the price. It was my youngest sons birthday and all the staff on duty came out with a cake and sang happy birthday!! Both rooms we booked were spotless, well furnished for the price and nice and warm. Perhaps a few nicer toiletries would have been good but again the price is so good it's mean to complain. A very good breakfast completed the stay. At the moment the service, cleanliness and food seem a little out of place in as much as some of the hotel is still recognisable from a TV series that must be managers biggest challenge to overcome. However it's clear that he's grasped the rains and, along with the fantastic staff, are going to make this hotel the talk of Torquay yet again. This time in the right way! Grand, watch out! Thanks for a brilliant experience. Tony, Terry, Ben and a special thanks from Josh Adams.

Room Tip: We chose the premier room which was great with a good sea view but the 'premier plus' (room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Terry Louise A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ddarylb, General Manager at Grosvenor Hotel Torquay, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Dear Tony,Terry and Ben and Birthday boy Josh, Thank you for the lovely comments in reference to your stay last week, I was so pleased to read that the staff were so helpful and accommodating and especially on Saturday evening in the mass of Staff singing Happy Birthday with the presentation of the cake. It certainly is a large challenge sitting underneath the shadow of the Grand Hotel but I am pleased that you have personally recognised the small but apparent details that will thrust us further up the standards chart of hospitality. The Grand have such a reputation in a number of areas and it is very rewarding to implement and promote some of these ideas into our business. We are on going with small parts of the upgrading now so we are looking forward to a very busy and rewarding summer ahead. Many thanks once again, Daryl and the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

This is our second visit to this hotel and this visit was better than the first (which we didn't think that was possible) with evening entertainment, great singer who had us up dancing from start to finish.
Rooms are lovely, comfortable and very clean. Great location.
Food was fantastic and couldn't fault anything. Great deal at £49 for two bed breakfast and 3 course evening meal. (Jan & Feb offer.
We took my Mum & her partner who absolutely loved it too.
Staff really friendly and helpful. Ben from the dining room was great fun and very efficient as was new waitress that had only been there 3 days. Lovely girl (sorry can't remember her name.
We will definitely be going back for our birthdays but a longer stay next time.

Room Tip: Room 25 definitely the best room if you can manage the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Caroline A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ddarylb, General Manager at Grosvenor Hotel Torquay, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Dear Caroline, it was so pleasing to read how much you enjoyed your few days here with us at the Grosvenor. I was also pleased that you found our DBB offer so tempting and that the food was to your liking. Room 25 is a lovely room and along with the new tvs and tea making facilities and the new bed linen it has been a vast improvement on the Grosvenor past. We thank you once again, Daryl and the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

We went to this hotel for a break mainly but what drew us to this hotel was the tv show and Mark the xprevious Manager. Firstly the hotel!!!! we had dinner bed and breakfast on a great offer. We arrived at the hotel and the welcome we recieved and all the staff was really really friendly and helpful. I felt the staff worked really really hard and was keen to keep all guest happy. The rooms was clean, presentable and tidy.The hotel has great facilitys such as a gym and indoor mini pool.
However I was so impressed with two things firstly the food from the restuarant which was from an alcarte menu which was better food then some 5* restuarants we have eaten in and also they put on live singers on the evening which was the icing on the cake after a fantastic day.
The only reason we have given this a 4 rating is from a personal point of view that mostly all the staff have gone from the program, there was no hype or even pictures up of the tv show or Mark and the hotel seemed a bit flat without him. It seemed a shame that thay havent made a theme about this in the hotel at all. But thid to one side I would highly recommend stopping here and would defianetly go back in the future.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AllyG333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ddarylb, General Manager at Grosvenor Hotel Torquay, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear Guests, thank you for the lovely comments regarding your stay here at the Grosvenor, I was so pleased to read that you were able to take advantage of the Dinner inclusive offer and the comments regarding the food are fantastic. To be able to achieve the quality of food at the prices we are charging is a fantastic result from our Head Chef and we are looking forward to some busy weekends coming up. We are pleased to have the association with the now infamous tv series but as we are rebuilding the quality and the service, the food and the building it would be unlikely that we would create a shrine to the one and only Mark Jenkins. We are happy to show all our guest the nooks and crannies associated with the programme but it is our intention to have a very well run family hotel where you can relax and enjoy your vacation or business trip with the delights of our cuisine and staff alike. Therefor we are creating our own culture going forward and hope that our guests return again and again. Thank you once again for the lovely comments. Daryl and the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saltash, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

We went for a week- end to the Grosvenor hotel in Torquay and have just arrived home . The Hotel has been refurbished and the food was amazing. The staff were all so very nice and could not have done more for you.
Had use of the indoor pool, sauna and jacuzzi which was lovely.
Six of us went and we cannot thank the staff at the hotel enough for making our break just brilliant. We will return. Carol and Alex Fries and friends .

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Carol F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ddarylb, General Manager at Grosvenor Hotel Torquay, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear Carol, how lovely of you to take the time to put some lovely comments on this page. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed the food so much and as I have written recently, we are having a lot of success in the amount of people having Dinner with us and it is certainly creating a buzz in the kitchen. It was a real pleasure looking after the both of you and your guests and it wont be too long till your impending return. Many thanks, Daryl and the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#37 of 88 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,240 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#23 of 88 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,660 reviews
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Torquay Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Belgrave Sands Hotel & Spa
1.3 mi away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#29 of 88 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Livermead Cliff Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grosvenor Hotel Torquay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grosvenor Hotel Torquay

Property: Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Address: Belgrave Road, Torquay TQ2 5HG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
#34 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Grosvenor Hotel Torquay 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Richardson Grosvenor is perfectly situated to enjoy Devon's beautiful coastline, stunning beaches and local attractions. Fine dining our new restaurant headed by 2 Michelin starred Chef John Burton-Race, the Richardson Grosvenor offers diversity and quality in one neat package. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Grosvenor Hotel Torquay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torquay Grosvenor Hotel
Torquay Hotel Grosvenor
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing