We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ENTERTAINMENT”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Ranked #21 of 88 Hotels in Torquay
Torquay, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“ENTERTAINMENT”
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Hello, I would like to say a huge thank you for all the staff at the Grosvenor hotel.we was looking for a nice place to pratice are new karriokie equipment and what a better place to go than here.All the staff was welcoming.the room we was given was warn,and clean,also the staff was amazing people,friendly team.:) thay was so kind thay let there guests in to join in with all the fun we was having.we will come back here again,100%.so a huge thank you to the manager and all there staff for the warm welcome we had has a family in your hotel.we wish you all the very best in every think you do

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank colin m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ddarylb, General Manager at Grosvenor Hotel Torquay, responded to this review, 6 April 2014
Dear Colin, thank you for the lovely comments regarding your recent visit, it was also noted by several guests how much they enjoyed joining in with you, many thanks once again, Daryl and the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,066 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    406
    381
    145
    71
    63
See reviews for
198
530
20
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (323)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Visited the hotel for 1 night just after the hotel had been taken over ,a year ago. Noticed it was a work in progress so decided to revisit for a 4 night break. Yes work is still being done but what a transformation. From the moment we walked in,we were greeted by a well mannered , friendly female member of staff who couldn't have been more helpful. Our room 44 , was large with a beautiful bay window, with a view of the gardens ,seafront and park, which was great day and night. Great facilities ,pool,jacuzzi,gym,with a great new dining room and refurbished bar.
The staff couldn't have been more professional,polite and always went out of there way to help,especially bar and waiting staff. Breakfast was excellent and had a great choice,as did bar snacks and evening meals. Will definitely return in the future to see the transformation of the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a premier or premier plus room , its worth paying that little bit more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traceynpaul2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ddarylb, General Manager at Grosvenor Hotel Torquay, responded to this review, 6 April 2014
Dear Tracy and Paul, many thanks for the lovely comments regarding your second visit to the hotel, we certainly have improved in such a short space of time and we look forward to the next stages with glee. Thank you once again, Daryl and the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bucks
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 March 2014

We took our in laws to this hotel as we had heard about their carvery. The food was fantastic priced at £9.95 per person buy one get one free. We were a little dubious but thought we would give it ago. We arrived to be greeted by Daryl the manager who was very welcoming. He seated us outside and got his waiter straight over to take our drinks order, when we were settled we were asked if we would like to stay in the warm sunshine or go inside, we opted inside and was seated. Our waiter called Darren introduced his self and was very tentative throughout our meal. Our whole experience was above and beyond our expectations. The food was great and the Chef very friendly, nothing was to much effort. We are heading back soon and may even stay the night and try their breakfast. Thank you to Daryl and his team for making us feel relaxed and welcome. Well done keep up the good work. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bucksgirl_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ddarylb, General Manager at Grosvenor Hotel Torquay, responded to this review, 6 April 2014
What a lovely write up for us regarding our Sunday Lunch , buy one get one free offer. It certainly is great value for money and compounded with the additional comments you made, the service and the hospitality, it certainly is an unforgettable experience, many thanks once again and for anyone who hasn't tried us, pick up the phone ! Daryl and the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stroud, Glos
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

This is our third visit, we stayed in room 34. Looked like all furniture was new, the bathroom was old but clean and tidy. Previous visits we were in rooms that had not been done up but us and others we went with felt this added nostalgia to the visit!! Staff very friendly, we will be going back if prices don't go up.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susanStroud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ddarylb, General Manager at Grosvenor Hotel Torquay, responded to this review, 6 April 2014
Dear Susan, thank you for your valued comments, we have now successfully upgraded all the bedrooms and introduced higher quality toiletries to boot. As for price, we are being very sensitive and understand exactly where we should price ourselves to be successful. So don't worry. Daryl and the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redditch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We booked 2 rooms at a special rate complete with evening meal. I called the hotel in advance to request a downstairs room due to mobility issues. We were allocated room 9 and room 2 and wow what a difference! I fully appreciate the hotel is currently being upgraded - and things take time - but I would avoid room 9 at all costs. The carpet is stain ridden, the furniture stained and wobbly, the floor feels as though it's giving way under your feet and creaks with every footstep. Room 2 however was beautiful apart from the light switches and plug sockets kept tripping. We informed reception who sent an electrician, and after a while decided to give us a huge extension lead to plug in from one side of the room to the other to give us electricity on the lamps and hair dryer etc! - explaining "it would be a quick fix" . This was not an ideal situation as I have a wheelchair and had to ride over the cable every time I needed to get around the room. Not very health and safety, although it was almost 5pm on a Friday afternoon and he probably wanted to go home. The evening meal, and breakfast were lovely and the staff very friendly. Our daughter loved the swimming pool - the Jacuzzi was closed. The location of the hotel is perfect for Torquay.

Room Tip: Avoid room 9 until the carpet is changed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ddarylb, General Manager at Grosvenor Hotel Torquay, responded to this review, 6 April 2014
Dear Fiona, I was feeling a little sad to read the headline "disappointed" but as I read on I began to smile as I saw the success of more of your stay. We have addressed the carpet issue and I apologise for this, we have a small bit of snagging to do on some of the upgraded bedrooms and this was part of that plan. I was genuinely happy to read further and thank you for your relevant comments. Daryl and the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014 via mobile

Well don't belive the bad review below never ..This is lovly hotel warm welcome we in room 14 with stunning view ..hotel is having refurbished so u can't expect everything staff 100 percent lovly ..room is outstanding .....will recamend to everyone ..I repeat don't belive what the bad review says below this one ..I don't think it's real it dosent fit with our view at all its lovly here

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank holidayrep1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ddarylb, General Manager at Grosvenor Hotel Torquay, responded to this review, 6 April 2014
Thank you very much for the warm response to the critics on your behalf we do listen and seek as much feedback as possible from our guests so that we can look for improvements. We thank you both very much for your lovely review and look forward to welcoming you back again in the not too distant future. Daryl and the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haslemere, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

My partner & I and 4 friends, attended the UKIP Conference in February, and chose The Grosvenor Inn, as our venue for dinner. The food was very good, and the service exceptional.
The Grosvenor Inn is in the process of being refurbished, and we will choose this venue to stay at next time. It costs little more than a B&B and is vastly superior!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alannah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ddarylb, General Manager at Grosvenor Hotel Torquay, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Dear Allanah, many thanks for the lovely comments in reference to your dining here at the Grosvenor whilst attending the UKIP Conference last week. We certainly are value for money and with our new Diner coming on board in about 10 days we will be able to give yet another offering to our guests to choose from. Very exciting. Daryl and the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#37 of 88 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,248 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#23 of 88 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,664 reviews
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Torquay Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Belgrave Sands Hotel & Spa
1.3 mi away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#29 of 88 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Livermead Cliff Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grosvenor Hotel Torquay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grosvenor Hotel Torquay

Property: Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Address: Belgrave Road, Torquay TQ2 5HG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
#34 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Grosvenor Hotel Torquay 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Richardson Grosvenor is perfectly situated to enjoy Devon's beautiful coastline, stunning beaches and local attractions. Fine dining our new restaurant headed by 2 Michelin starred Chef John Burton-Race, the Richardson Grosvenor offers diversity and quality in one neat package. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Grosvenor Hotel Torquay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torquay Grosvenor Hotel
Torquay Hotel Grosvenor
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing