We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable short break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
John Burton-Race Restaurant & Rooms
Ranked #18 of 85 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 March 2014

We had a very pleasant stay at The Grosvenor. Warm welcome, friendly courteous staff and excellent food. The room was light spacious and well - appointed. The room and the en suite bathroom were spotlessly clean. There is also a hair salon in the hotel which was an added bonus. We can thoroughly recommend this relaxing hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ddarylb, General Manager at John Burton-Race Restaurant & Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2014

Dear Chris, many thanks for the comments, you are one of the few who has pointed out the attention to cleanliness at the hotel, it is certainly a credit to Caroline and Joyce who control their housekeeping dept and they will be pleased to read this. Unfortunately the hairdressers you mentioned will shortly be replaced with a childrens activity area as we look to accommodate families going into the summer months and we have successfully opened the eatery Keiths Diner along side the hotel which has proven very successful with over 100 covers a day giving more choice for all our guests. Thank you once again, Daryl and the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,197)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

715 - 721 of 1,197 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2014

Our stay in the Grosvenor was an enjoyable one. It is a large old fashioned hotel a little tired in places but warm and comfortable. Our room was on the third floor, it was clean, light and spacious with an on-suite bathroom with good facilities although the over bath shower was difficult to set at an even temperature. The only access seemed to be by stairs so 3 flights may not suit older people. Breakfast was excellent, plenty of choice and attentive staff. Our biggest disappointment was that the pool area was out of use due apparently to a faulty pump. We would be happy to stay again when we would hope the pool would be operable.

Room Tip: Check number of stairs for older guests.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ddarylb, General Manager at John Burton-Race Restaurant & Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2014

Dear Peter, many thanks for your lovely comments, I was sad to read that the pool was not in operation during your visit but it has now been successfully rectified and awaiting your return. Many thanks, Daryl and the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Went to reception and very friendly welcome. Was given our room and the manager came out and carried our luggage to our room. What a lovely surprise to find the room was about the largest and most comfortable. The bed was king size and very comfortable to sleep in. Restaurant service was fairly good but selection of the courses for evening meal was not in my opinion very good and small portions and poor quality,maybe because of the reasonable price for the accommodation
Overall enjoyed our stay and would return and recommend to friends.

Room Tip: We had room number 2 which was perfect and comfortable, did not see any other rooms but heard no com...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maurice H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ddarylb, General Manager at John Burton-Race Restaurant & Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2014

Dear Maurice, thank you for your comments regarding your stay, it was I that assisted you with your luggage and I was very pleased to your reaction when we entered the bedroom of room 2 as it has so beautifully been restored as you highlighted. We are implementing a brand new menu over the next week which should see more variety and choice for our guests and with the addition of Keiths American Diner now open alongside the hotel we should see a lot more choice for you on your next visit. Daryl and the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

I booked this hotel for one night. Staff were pleasant on arrival and had a nice smooth check in. The room I had was tidy and comfortable with plenty of pillows on the bed. I had a good night sleep and had no problems with the comfiness of the bed. The bathroom was a good size and had a shower and tub. Breakfast was a good choice in the morning with plenty of food. Location of this hotel is great, it doesn't take long to walk into town.

Staff at the hotel were great and were happy to help with any questions. Unfortunately Mark isn't here anymore.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BuzzBee202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ddarylb, General Manager at John Burton-Race Restaurant & Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2014

Dear Sir, thank you for your comments regarding your stay, it was nice to read that all was in order with your bedroom and the breakfast choice and service. The location is right on the sea front so we couldn't ask for anything better and with the American Diner now fully open we are satisfying another area of the guests requirements, more food choices. Daryl and the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Nice hotel, great staff. Room rather tired and far far too hot (heating on full blast all night). Room could do with sockets near the bed as currently only one set on the opposite side of the room. Breakfast was very good.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bobbbbbbbbbb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ddarylb, General Manager at John Burton-Race Restaurant & Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2014

Dear Bob, thank you for your relevant comments regarding your stay with us. We are currently addressing the small issues within the rooms and thank you for highlighting this. I was pleased to read that everything else was in order. Daryl and the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Stayed there couple nights late March, booked for one night as a late booking, when we got there liked it so much booked a 2nd night within 30 minutes of getting there.
The staff, from front desk to waiting, were very nice and friendly. On the late night booking was only a twin room left, when we got there they swapped us for a double at no extra cost, which was nice. Rooms and hotel was not lavishly furnished, but completely functional. staying there and booking their 3 course dinner for about £12 extra turned out to be very good value.
Location very goods to get into town itself, and car parking is available but on a 1st come 1st served basis.
There were some work being done when we were there for a new cafe, but did not affect out experience.
On the whole I would recommend the hotel for overnight or longer stay. am going back myself in September, I think the staff made a huge difference to our stay. After all, a hotel is just that, a bed and changing room, and there are heaps around. But one with friendly and helpful staff makes the stay just that bit better, and this hotel had the staff.
There are sports facilities there including a pool, but as we booked last minute didn't realized it so did not have clothings to try them.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OzT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ddarylb, General Manager at John Burton-Race Restaurant & Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2014

Dear Sir, Thank you for highlighting so many of the qualities surrounding the hotel, from the welcome on arrival to the service you received to the food that you ate, all in all it sounds like we are getting it right, the fact you decided to stay longer is also a true testament to the hard work of the staff here at the hotel, you are right, without them we would not see the success to which we are achieving. The American Diner is now open and proving very successful to guests and locals alike and we are introducing a new menu to our brasserie very shortly giving even more choice to our valued guests. Many thanks again for your valued comments. Daryl and the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

The hotel is undergoing renovations but this didn't detract from our experience there. The hotel is a beautiful old building close to the sea and an easy walk into the town centre. The room that we had was large and comfortable with two windows, so very bright and cheerful. The breakfast was excellent. However, the most memorable aspect was the staff at the hotel. They were, without exception, cheerful, helpful and friendly. Nothing was too much trouble for them. We would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stu314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ddarylb, General Manager at John Burton-Race Restaurant & Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2014

Dear Sir, you have highlighted the heart of any business, the staff. We have such wonderful home grown talent here at the hotel and I am very proud of each and everyone of them. Combined with location, comfortable bedrooms and now two choices of eateries we are seeing more and more smiling customers. Many thanks once again. Daryl and the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#28 of 85 in Torquay
2,576 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#22 of 85 in Torquay
3,239 reviews
0 mi away
The Belgrave Sands Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Torquay Hotel
1.3 mi away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#25 of 85 in Torquay
609 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Headland Hotel
The Headland Hotel
#12 of 85 in Torquay
956 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to John Burton-Race Restaurant & Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about John Burton-Race Restaurant & Rooms

Address: Belgrave Road, Torquay TQ2 5HG, England (Formerly Grosvenor Hotel Torquay)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
#33 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range: £57 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — John Burton-Race Restaurant & Rooms 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
John Burton-Race Hotel & Restaurant is located within walking distance of the beach at Torquay and boasts 47 bedrooms as well as two swimming pools, one indoor and what outdoor. With a stunning restaurant that caters for both guests and private diners, under the Management of John Burton-Race, who daily creates menus inspired by his "French Leave" TV series and the Michelin starred establishments he has run during his career. With a beautiful lounge, open fires and relaxed atmosphere this is the perfect retreat for a long weekend away of a summer vacation. Our staff are all fully trained and can ensure your every wish is catered for. The hotel has been subject to major refurbishment and on-going investment to ensure it meets with the exacting needs of our guests and diners. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Stayforlong S.L., Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your John Burton-Race Restaurant & Rooms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torquay Grosvenor Hotel
Torquay Hotel Grosvenor
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
John Burton-Race Restaurant & Rooms Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing