We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overnight stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Ranked #21 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Overnight stay”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Stopped over with my family as we were visiting friends in the area. Fantastic reception with the receptionist but then soon found out it was the manager. She was fantastic and very accommodating. Decoration was very tired and carpets were run down! Breakfast staff were fantastic and I can't remember his name but he was very very caring and called me 'sir' which was lovely! Responded to my needs lightening fast reactions!! Would deffo stay again despite old decoration!! Great stay!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucy P, General Manager at Grosvenor Hotel Torquay, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear Andy W,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay with us. I was extremely pleased to see that you enjoyed your time with us and that the breakfast service was of a good standard.

The Richardson Group took over The Grosvenor 20 months ago and has since been tirelessly renovating areas of the hotel. We have now almost completed all guest rooms and have a plan in place to complete the pubic areas on the coming months.

I do hope that you will be visiting us again very soon.

Kind Regards
Lucy & the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,122 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    435
    395
    152
    74
    66
See reviews for
214
554
23
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (333)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

We arrived at the Grosvenor Hotel.On Friday the 4th, July.Great Welcombe from Rachel and staff.so nice to see them all again.Rachel carried our bags to room 43.the room was lovely, sea views.the food is excellent.and the staff our so helpfull, Lucy, Rachel, Elaine and sid, on reception.and Adam, Tom, Magic, and Yasmine on Breakfast and Restaurant. Jason and Rob on bar.such a wonderfull friendly Hotel . can't waite for our return in March next year.its so close to the sea front.and on a good bus route.thank you every one at the Hotel for making our stay so wonderfull.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank pam v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucy P, General Manager at Grosvenor Hotel Torquay, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear pam v,

Thank you so much for your wonderful comments. It's always lovely to welcome you back and have you stay with us. We cannot wait to see you back here again very soon!

Kind regards from all of the team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

What a lovely couple of days stay we had at the Grosvenor. We came to stay as a treat to celebrate my 40th birthday and a treat it was. We couldn't of asked for a nicer room, and would request that room again when we visit again. The staff were all so friendly and charming. We chose this hotel as we loved watching the programme on tv and always said we would love to stay there. Thank you to the staff for making us feel so welcome.

Room Tip: We didn't use the spa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SandN94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucy P, General Manager at Grosvenor Hotel Torquay, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear SandN94,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us such a lovely review. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us!

I do hope we will be welcoming you back in the very near further.

Kind Regards from all of us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We travelled with a coach party of 40+ to this hotel from 21st to 28th June 14 on bed & breakfast and evening meal basis. Staff were extremely helpful and tried their best to please. Bedrooms were on three floors and were kept clean on a daily basis. Unfortunately, there were no lifts to upper floor bedrooms which in turn caused problems for some of our elderly as they struggled to climb the stairs. Rooms however were made available on the lower floors in most cases.
Breakfasts were plentiful and suited most tastes.

On several occasions we were disappointed with our evening meals due to the choices, small servings and lack of side vegetables with your main dish which we were informed could be purchased at extra cost. There was also no tea or coffee served with the evening meal unless again purchased

Room Tip: Suggest that you book a room on the lower level if you are disabled or struggle to climb stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Martin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucy P, General Manager at Grosvenor Hotel Torquay, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Martin L,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I'm glad to read that you had an enjoyable stay.

Unfortunately due to the age and layout of the building, it is not possible to install a lift within the hotel, but we do have 2 stair lifts and always strive to put less mobile guests on lower floors.

Thank you for your comments about your meals. We are currently implementing a new menu in our brasserie and our Head Chef is also creating new menu's for groups and tours. Unfortunately, tea and coffee is not always included in group packages and is something that tour managers should inform you of before your arrival.

Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We stayed at this hotel 27 June for 2 nights. A party of 4 in 2 rooms. The rooms we clean and bright and the staff very friendly indeed and extremely helpful. The indoor pool although quite small was a nice dip at 7 in the morning before breakfast. We had breakfast here and I must say there was plentiful to suit everyone. 5 different cereals, fresh fruit, pastries, juice and the full English. Porridge also on the menu and toast if wanted. Tea and coffee also available. The food was served very quickly and was very hot. They have obviously listened and try to put things right from the complaints they have received. Evening entertainment was good especially if the crowd join in. Overall a lovely weekend and the hotel if the weather had been sunny would have been ideal. Close to the beach, town, and plenty of places to walk. Just like to say a big thank you to all the staff they were excellent.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ajprid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucy P, General Manager at Grosvenor Hotel Torquay, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear ajprid,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review us and give us some great feedback. It's always nice to hear that guests have enjoyed their stay with us and had a lovely break.

We do hope you will be visiting us again soon and look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hitchin
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Staff all very helpful and polite but they're fighting an uphill battle.

Room was adequate but shower didn't work and leaked from pipe behind tap.

Room clean but entire place is quite shabby and 'tired'.

We had a 'dinner included' offer and I wished we hadn't bothered. Menu was extremely limited. having chosen soup starter and after being told the restaurant was 'busy' we found ourselves alone. The only diners! Soup came and it was vegetable flavoured semolina resembling Campbell's Condensed without adde H20!

Main course was literally completely inedible and we asked for it to be returned to the kitchen. My wife has beef casserole that had a skin and was served with watery mashed potato, formed into a shape resembling an erect phallus! I ordered the 'veg' option that was presented floating in a sea of oil! Both were served with only two items per plate and no green veg at all!

Desserts were okay, not home made of course!

Torquay itself is stuck in a time warp imho. We visited 20 years ago and it's no nicer now than then. Not a place I will be hurrying back to.

Finally, a word of advice to town planners and highways staff. Please plan road 'improvements' in the winter months - not when everyone and their uncle wishes to visit your town and spend money! We don't really wish to spend hours in traffic jams you know!

Room Tip: Ask for one with a working shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lmafudd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucy P, General Manager at Grosvenor Hotel Torquay, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Dear lmafudd,

I'm extremely disappointed to see that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Please could you contact me directly on gm.grosvenor@richardsonhotels.co.uk so that I can try to resolve your issues.

I look forward to hearing from you.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Actually went to this hotel as a bit of a joke, and what a joke it was!

Our bedroom was a room of 2 halves, no expense (or taste) spared on the bed linen, curtains etc fantastic tiles around the bath, but, a pampas suite, rusty bin & brush, plug sockets loose.......everything was a contradiction and we couldn't help but feel it was deliberate, as if they have a bad reputation to maintain and that's their USP. Some people had waited an hour for breakfast, this didn't bother me as after seeing the filthy state of the dining room I couldn't even contemplate eating, the public toilets were nothing but a shambles, old pink sinks & toilets, but with white plastic seats fitted, everywhere you looked was filthy & in need of maintenance, no excuse at all for this, if this is the state of the public areas I dread to think what goes on behind the scenes.

The only good thing was the staff who were very polite and pleasent.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Any B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ops M, General Manager at Grosvenor Hotel Torquay, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Dear Any B,

I am extremely concerned to see your comments.

Please can you contact me directly on gm.grosvenor@richardsonhotels.co.uk so that I can investigate your stay.

Kind Regards
Lucy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#35 of 87 in Torquay
2,373 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#24 of 87 in Torquay
2,884 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Headland Hotel
The Headland Hotel
#12 of 87 in Torquay
853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#28 of 87 in Torquay
565 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay
0.0 mi away
The Belgrave Sands Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grosvenor Hotel Torquay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grosvenor Hotel Torquay

Property: Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Address: Belgrave Road, Torquay TQ2 5HG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
#33 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Grosvenor Hotel Torquay 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Richardson Grosvenor is perfectly situated to enjoy Devon's beautiful coastline, stunning beaches and local attractions. Fine dining our new restaurant headed by 2 Michelin starred Chef John Burton-Race, the Richardson Grosvenor offers diversity and quality in one neat package. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grosvenor Hotel Torquay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torquay Grosvenor Hotel
Torquay Hotel Grosvenor
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing