We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Surprisingly impressive hotel.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grosvenor Hotel Torquay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Ranked #21 of 89 Hotels in Torquay
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Surprisingly impressive hotel.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

Having watched the television programme a few years ago I really wasn't expecting very much. My husband and I stayed here for a night towards the end of July. Upon arrival the car park was full out front so we wasn't sure where to park. Found some where to put the car temporarily. Then Made our way into reception, where we was greeted by a lovely lady. She was very polite, informative and very professional. She instantly told us there was 2 other car parks and clearly explained where they were located. We were very impressed. She gave us directions to our room and where breakfast was being served in the morning.
Hotel has had work done so it is looking better than it did on TV! Our room was lovely. Considering it was the cheapest room and we booked with quite short notice we were very impressed. The room was huge with everything you could need. There was a lovely sea view and gorgeous view of the bowls club too. The bathroom was lovely and big too. Very clean.
Breakfast was nice however I felt the menu didn't have much choice on it really. As it is mainly a family hotel, there was quite a few families at breakfast time.
The location was perfect with a very short 5 -10 minute walk tops to the sea and beach. Town was only a 15 minute walk if that. Great hotel.

Room Tip: Sea view is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alison N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucy P, General Manager at Grosvenor Hotel Torquay, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
Dear Alison N,

Thank you so much for your lovely review of your stay with us.

We always try to ensure that we individually take care of every one of our guests and pride ourselves on having a warm and friendly team of staff.

I'm pleased to tell you that we have now added a new Executive Head Chef to our team who is looking at all areas of our food offerings, so there will be even more variety next time you visit!

We all look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Kind Regards
Lucy & the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,025 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    385
    369
    139
    70
    62
See reviews for
190
507
18
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (314)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

Parking is very limited. The hotel entrance is at the back of the building with a very basic, depressing reception area. The room was a good size and clean. The dining room is at the front of the hotel and is in dire need of refurbishment. A maze of corridors where rooms have been added on over time which could all be updated.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bangoraye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucy P, General Manager at Grosvenor Hotel Torquay, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear Bangoraye,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review us.

Although we do have limited car parking, we do have 3 separate areas for guests to park in - in front of the hotel, at the side by Keith's Diner and also at the back next to our gardens, we do have sufficient spaces for 1 car per guest room.

We do acknowledge that the reception area was looking a little 'tired' at is currently in the process of being redecorated. As you can appreciate, the hotel is an old building and part of the charm is the winding corridors, although we do ensure that there is adequate signage so that guests and staff alike are able to navigate themselves around the building easily. All of the guest rooms we have are existing and none have been added on, although the hotel is 2 buildings that were connected together where our current lounge and reception area is in the 1940's.

We are aiming to update and modernise all areas of the hotel, but as you can appreciate, this does take time.

I do hope that you will consider returning to us and we look forward to welcoming you back.

If you require any further information, please contact me directly on gm.grosvenorhotels.co.uk.

Kind Regards
Lucy & the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hull
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

My husband and I booked a last minute 5 night break in Torquay, and from reading the reviews, decided on the Grosvenor hotel. It was advertised as pet friendly, and we wanted somewhere to stay where we could take our 2 miniature dachshunds. When we enquired re availability over the telephone, the hotel was very full but the receptionist, Leanne was very helpful and she took the trouble to make sure a room was available for the dates we required.
On arrival both receptionists were very helpful and friendly, and in our room was a doggy welcome pack - two little blankets and two tennis balls!. Although the room was small - we were perfectly happy with it - very clean -the bathroom was spotless!In fact -ladies, no need to worry about a hair-dryer -( I always take a travel hair dryer with me as those in hotels are often pathetic, they hardly blow dry at all) as the hair-dryer in our room was brilliant -my travel hair-dryer didnt see the light of day!There was a fan provided too.
We stayed B & B and the breakfasts were great - and the staff very efficient. There was a central table of fruit juice, speciality teas, fruit, cereals, croissants where you would help yourself and the staff would then take your order at the table for the cooked breakfasts which were lovely -not greasy and very quick service!
The outdoor pool is manned by a lifeguard and next to well maintained lawn set with tables and chairs if the pools not for you. The hotel also has a small gym, indoor pool and jacuzzi which we tried on the Friday -the one day it rained! We left the dogs in the room - no bother and I think they were glad of the rest from walking!!
The hotel provided evening entertainment too -but thats not our sort of holiday - we prefer to try cafes/wine bars/pubs/restaurants in the local areas we stay at. The hotel was superbly situated for this - a short stroll into Torquay -the marina and cafe culture-lovely!.Hotel was a 10 minute drive to a lovely picturesque village, Cockington - you must visit the Rose cottage tea rooms - we spent a lovely hour or so there- having a cream tea- in the sunshine listening to the resident pianist. The cottages are thatched and quaint and just further up the lane is the pub - The Drum Inn where we ate too - recommend the James Martin pies!
A visit to Dartmouth is a must - the car on the ferry is £8.50 return - worth it as the ferry saves a long drive around.If you have kids -take them crabbing there - you can buy a kit there for about £5.00 and the kids we saw were loving sitting catching the crabs!!
Also if you are OK for walking - try Anstey cove - you can take dogs there - a steep slope to the cafe down near the cove but the views are stunning and its away from the hustle and bustle.
The hotel has had bad reviews in the past but is under new management. The staff are all new and determined to make your holiday special -nothing is too much trouble. They are upgrading the hotel - it does take time to do this but nevertheless,we have no hesitation in recommending the hotel. Yes -you always have those people who go around looking for the bad points but if you want a good clean hotel with friendly staff who are trying hard to turn around those bad reviews, try this hotel!
We loved this short trip and will certainly return and would book again at the Grosvenor Hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms that overlook the road are noisier if you have the windows open nnd if you have trouble sleep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucy P, General Manager at Grosvenor Hotel Torquay, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear Sue C,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I am very pleased to see that you enjoyed your time - as did your four legged friends. We understand that dogs are a part of the family, so we do endeavour to make them, as well as yourselves feel as comfortable and as at home as possible.

We pride ourselves on providing a hearty traditional west country breakfast to start your day and make sure that the service is also always up to scratch.

Our leisure facilities including gym, sauna, jacuzzi, indoor and outdoor pool and gardens are always a lovely surprise for our guests who did not know they were here and we work extremely hard to ensure that all these areas are well maintained, clean and safe for all our our guests - young and old.

I am so glad that you enjoyed your time with us and we hope to see you all returning to us again in the very near future.

Kind Regards
Lucy & the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Just spent a week at the Grosvenor hotel , on arrival the reception area was dirty. This was our holiday away with our grandchildren so we picked this hotel as it had a swimming pool and looked family friendly. We had a nice large family room the beds were made every day and clean towels if needed, also tea and coffee facilities available. the only problem with the room was that it was very hot and sticky so we asked for a fan three days running but it never appeared.
Breakfast was ok, however the evening meals left a lot to be desired the first few nights the food and service was dire with over 1 hours wait with two very hungry grandchildren, when we complained about this they blamed the chef. this didn't get much better as the week progressed as the had to bring our food up two flights of stairs through reception and the bar area in to the braserie to our table by which time it was congealed and not very warm.
the choice of food was limited we had chicken 5 nights out of 7. on the last night at 6.45 they had run out of Lamb, the service didn't start until 6.30.
The dining area wasn't very clean there were two peas under our table all week going mouldy and dead plants and leaves on the window sill next to our table.
on our last day it rained all day and the roof started leaking in outside our bedroom door soaking the carpet through until a bucket was found to catch the drips.
We were very disappointed with this hotel and will not be returning in the future or advicing anyone to go there.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucy P, General Manager at Grosvenor Hotel Torquay, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear Linda B,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I am sorry to see that we did not live up to your expectations. I am pleased that you liked your room. This was an area that we began refurbishing immediately when the Richardson Group took over the management of this hotel some 2 years ago. At the time of your stay we were experiencing some very hot and sticky weather and unfortunately, we did not have sufficient fans to provide all the rooms. This point has been taken on board and we have sourced additional fans to ensure all guests are comfortable in all temperatures.

I am pleased that you enjoyed our breakfast service and selection. We were having an issue with kitchen operation during our dinner services, but I do assure you that this incident was a one off and this has also been rectified. Meals are prepared in our lower kitchen and we do cover all our meals with a cloche to ensure heat retention whilst transporting to the brasserie area and also ensure good health and hygiene practices at all times. We make an effort to change the dinner menu offering daily and each menu is individually written by our head chef who always creates a choice of 3 appetizers, 4 main courses and 4 desserts. The main courses offered always include a steak, a fish and a vegetarian option as well as fourth item that the chef offers at his discretion, so I was disappointed to see that you had to eat chicken for 5 of your evenings dining with us. The lamb that ran out after 45 minutes is totally unacceptable and I have spoken with the kitchen regarding this as this of course cannot happen this early on during a dinner service, so I must apologise for this.

Concerning the leaking roof, we are aware that we do have an area that leaks and as I type this response, it is in hand and being repaired so that we will not experience any further leaks from our roof. As you can appreciate, the Grosvenor Hotel building is a very old one and we are daily working to maintain and improve it.

Once again, I thank you for your feedback and I assure you that I take all guests comments on board to learn from and strive to improve every visitors experience.

I do hope that you will consider returning to us and would be happy to arrange your future reservations. If you need any further information, please contact me directly on gm.grosvenor@richardsonhotels.co.uk

Kind Regards
Lucy Price
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

another great stay here, only one night wish it had been longer, nothing is to much trouble, fantastic rooms, 2 bedroom rooms are beautiful, you can see where improvements are being made, slept very well :-), bathroom is fab, choice of a shower or full bath, this room is absolutely lovely, couldnt fault it, sea view, room 32 really nice. we had lunch which was very nice, cant fault breakfast,lots of choice. Outdoor pool is brilliant,also has a bar where you can order food and drinks,hot and cold, beautiful gardens. All the staff are great, very friendly. Lucy does a fab job x.
p.s Elaine is still there and lovely as always x

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fingerbob1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucy P, General Manager at Grosvenor Hotel Torquay, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear fingerbob1973,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your 2nd stay with us. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your time and that you can still see that we are continuously updating and upgrading all areas of the hotel.

Your comments about the lovely staff are also greatly appreciated and I will pass on your comments to Elaine!

We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Kind Regards
Lucy & the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swindon uk
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

The first you see when you walk in to reception is a life size cut out of the new owner!
We dined in the hotel saturday night,i ordered tomato pasta with garlic bread,when it arrived it was in small dish,no garnish or anything,if i blinked i would have missed the garlic bread,salad
is so cheap it would have looked so much better with a garnish.i wouldnt eat in there if i stayed again,can get much more for your money outside of the hotel.
We had a fire exit door near our room which was out of use all fire exit signs pointed to down stairs,thats ok providing the fire isnt coming up those stairs,this must surely be a big health & safety issue.
The staff were probably the best thing about this hotel,for what i paid for the weekend i was quite disappointed with our room,the furniture was very tatty,i know the hotel has recently been taken over & some rooms have been refurbished but i feel the old rooms should be a lot cheaper to compensate this,sit on the toilet & the toilet lid would fall against your back.
I could go on but i will finish with saying i think this hotel could really do with a visit from Alex Polizzi....the hotel inspector........Dont think i would return.
Lastly no wifi in room......everyone expects wifi in the room nowadays

Room Tip: Room 27 avoid its right at the front & if you need the window open its very noisy in the night
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ferrarifan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucy P, General Manager at Grosvenor Hotel Torquay, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear ferrarifan,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay with us. I was very disappointed to see that you did not enjoy your time here. We are currently in the process of changing our restaurant a la carte menu as we do acknowledge that there are some existing issues. Hopefully, this should be implemented by the end of this month.

Regarding the fire exit you mentioned, I can assure you that we comply with all the necessary regulations as implemented by the local authorities and we are routinely inspected to monitor our compliance.

I'm sorry you were unhappy with your room. If this had been brought to the attention of the reception, they would have endeavoured to move you to a different one. We have almost completed the renovation of all of our guest rooms, but for the ones not yet completed, we do ensure are still to a good standard.

I am pleased that the staff lived up to your expectations as we do pride ourselves on having a great front and back of house team who offer all guests a true warm Torquay hospitality.

I do hope you will consider returning to us so we can try to change your opinion on The Grosvenor.

if you need any further information or would like to contact me directly, please do so on gm.grosvenor@richardsonhotels.co.uk

Kind Regards
Lucy & the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

Charming old hotel, perfectly situated near the seafront in Torquay. Lovely garden and outdoor swmmingpool. Spacious and nice room with large bathroom, although a bit warm in the heat as only one window could open. Some of the staff is friendly and very helpful - others less so. Had to ask for missing towels in room three times, the last time the receptionist hung up on me when I tried to explain that our kids would like to shower too. At last we got the towels, but pool towels in stead of the fluffy ones. And stay clear of the restaurant. We waited half an hour for menus, one and a half hour for the food ... And got another main course than ordered. The desserts never came, although we reminded the waiters twice. When we complained, we were told that they had a coach party, a birthday party and more walk-ins than expected this night, but dear Grosvenor, you should not take on more guests than you can serve. We would gladly have gone to another restaurant to avoid having our last night on holiday ruined by your poor service. Won't even comment on the food. This is probably a case of bad management, which is a shame, as several of the staff clearly do their best and this charming old hotel has great potential.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SusiOslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucy P, General Manager at Grosvenor Hotel Torquay, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear SusiOslo,

Thank you for taking the time to write regarding your stay. I'm extremely disappointed to see that you had a less than enjoyable experience when dining here and this concerned me. I carried out a full investigation regarding this and the appropriate action has been taken.

Unfortunately, at the time of your stay we had a large number of new team members who are still in the process of on-job training within the F&B Department. The hotel was also extremely busy at the time, yet we would never knowingly put ourselves in a situation where we were unable to handle all of our guests. This is in no way an excuse for your experience and I can only apologise for the poor service you received.

I do hope you will consider returning to us so that we can show you our true Devon hospitality. If you require any further information or would like to arrange a return booking, please contact me directly on gm.grosvenor@richardsonhotels.co.uk and I will arrange accordingly.

Kind Regards
Lucy & team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.9 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#25 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,518 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#36 of 89 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,165 reviews
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Torquay Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#29 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Livermead Cliff Hotel
0.9 mi away
Lincombe Hall Hotel
Lincombe Hall Hotel
#9 of 89 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grosvenor Hotel Torquay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grosvenor Hotel Torquay

Property: Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Address: Belgrave Road, Torquay TQ2 5HG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
#34 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Grosvenor Hotel Torquay 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Torquay's unexpected delight The Richardson Grosvenor is perfectly situated to enjoy Devon's beautiful coastline, stunning beaches and local attractions. With an indoor and outdoor pool, leisure facilities, dining in the contemporary Lawns Brasserie or stateside in Keith's retro diner, the Richardson Grosvenor offers diversity and quality in one neat package. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Grosvenor Hotel Torquay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torquay Grosvenor Hotel
Torquay Hotel Grosvenor
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing