We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed a level of service you just don't get from the chains.”
Review of The Cimon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Cimon
Ranked #15 of 88 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
March, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Enjoyed a level of service you just don't get from the chains.”
Reviewed 14 July 2012

From the moment the proprietor opened the door to us we felt we were being offered a sincerely warm welcome, and sensed that nothing was too much trouble. A list of recommended restaurants was reeled off, but suffixed with "or if you just want to pick up a takaway from somewhere we'll set a table for you in our dining area if you like." You'll NEVER hear that said in a Holiday Inn!

The Cimon is nicely located. It's a short walk down a steep slope to the sea front, or a gentler further route through the High St. Accomodation was good, the room clean, and we left thinking "we'll have to come back some time."

Whilst chatting to the owner he hinted that we may have been able to get a better deal if we'd phoned him direct rather than use an agent. He suggested that in some instances he may be offer a pair of adjoining double rooms instead of a family room for the same price. The constraints of online booking forms do not allow for that type of flexibility, so it may well be worth your while phoning direct if you can't find a deal you're happy with online.

All told we were very pleased. Above all it's the obvious effort Adam and Anita are putting into trying to ensure that all their guests leave without complaint that made all the difference. I'd unreservedly recommend the Cimon to all.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    301
    76
    11
    4
    2
See reviews for
87
197
6
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 7 July 2012

Hi, Just back from the Hotel Cimon on Abbey Road Torquay.
This Hotel is located in a perfect place for the town centre,
Your Host’s are Adam and Anita who will do everything in there power to make your Holiday enjoyable, Torquay is a very hilly town but just across the road a short distance down a side street there is a multi story car park with a lift, You are on the fifth flour when you walk in and the lift takes you down to the shopping centre you can either come back that way or catch a No 12 Bus from the amusement arcade near the Harbour the bus stop you want is the one after the Traffic lights in Abbey road, The Hotel is very clean with good friendly staff, There is a large choice to suit everyone at Breakfast Time, We found two good restaurants in the Town, Legends and Marina .
The Hotel has a really nice swimming pool And Patio in front of the Restaurant. And a very friendly Bar at Night.
I would recommend this Hotel to Anyone .

Room Tip: Sea view over looking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at The Cimon, responded to this review, 8 July 2012
Thanks Eric - we're really pleased you enjoyed your stay. Thanks for the card by the way! Hope to see you again - especially now we've got Guinness in the bar :)
Adam.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2012

We stayed in Hotel cimon last week, and what can I say...
Ideal location (short walk to front or shops/ restaurants). The room was spotless with everything we needed. Breakfast lovely with lots of choice and plenty of it. The staff were very welcoming and could not do enough for you! would highly recommend to families or couples!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 760a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Austell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2012

We stayed in the Cimon hotel at Torquay mid week my wife and I found the rooms very clean and the staff very friendly and helpful. Nice breakfast and they could not do enough for us. Our orginal plan was to stay just 1 day but we stayed an extra day. Only a 5 minute walk to the town centre we would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to our friends.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Timothy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weymouth
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2012

Made us feel very welcome which is not always the case in other establishments when you are a business man, staying only one night. Ideal as close to town centre and easy access to a Weatherspoons for your evening meal (and footy!).

Lovely and clean throughout.

Cooked breakfast not huge which is a good thing but good quality. Plenty of variety.

Would stay there again definately.

Room Tip: Pay for the supieor twin room, it's worth the extra money as bigger and TV was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Auntieloulou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glastonbury, EnSogland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2012

If looking for a place to stay in Torquay, Devon. Book The Cimon, whether travelling with a family, or as a couple, this place is great for children, safe and secure, spotlessly clean, and the hosts are just so helpful. Breakfast is lovely, and plenty of it, full choice of everything. We stayed in a seaview room, but also looked at the family rooms, which are spacious and modern.

Location is great, near the beach, and near the town.

The hotel has a lovely little bar downstairs, with TV, and the swimming pool a total added bonus with it being heated the kids and adults will love it.

Will definitely be back, and bringing our friends.

Terrific place to stay.

Room Tip: Spacious rooms, are not the sea view ones but the sea view ones, although smaller are adequate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2012

Stayed for 1 night in a family bunk bed room which was lovely, the kids had their own area and bathroom. The service was brilliant and the breakfast was really nice even my picky daughter eat everything. the location is perfect too. will definately be staying again.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shazzaroonie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.8 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#23 of 88 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,663 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#37 of 88 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,245 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#6 of 88 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
0.3 mi away
Abbeyfield Hotel
Abbeyfield Hotel
#5 of 88 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#21 of 88 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cimon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cimon

Property: The Cimon
Address: 82 Abbey Road, Torquay TQ2 5NP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Torquay
#10 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
#12 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cimon 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a 5 minute walk from the beach, town centre and Riviera conference facility, this beautiful Victorian guest house has an outdoor heated swimming pool, free car park (space guaranteed!), free WiFi throughout, and a residents licensed bar with free pool table. We have a reputation for our fantastic breakfasts! Family rooms, sea views and superior rooms available. Children of all ages are welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Cimon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cimon Hotel Torquay
The Cimon Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing