We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great bank holiday break”
Review of The Cimon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Cimon
Ranked #15 of 86 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 August 2012

My wife and I spent the August bank holiday at the Cimon. We arrived a little early and were met by the owner (Adam) who explained that our rooms were not quite ready. He showed us around, offered us the use of the pool and provided a map of the town with some helpful advice about the area. We decided to have a wander to the harbour which is about a 10 min walk.
When we got back we were shown to our room which was very clean and well laid out with nice big fluffy towels, tea and coffee, big TV, even a fridge!
Unpacked and down to the bar for a "magic" Guinness - you REALLY must try ones of these!
Breakfast was a triumph, fresh fruit, cereal, breads, yogurts followed by an excellent full english with fresh ingredients - great mushrooms!
The staff are all very cheerful and nothing is to much trouble.
If you want a stay in Torquay at a Hotel that takes service and quality very serioulsy - book here, you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: The larger rooms have bigger TV's and fridges if that is important to you. Smaller rooms are fan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kevin c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (408)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

376 - 382 of 408 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2012

Just spent 4 nights at this lovely hotel. It was our first proper English holiday with the 2 children and our hosts were superb. I had been a bit nervous as our youngest was 9 months but they really couldn't do enough for us. There was a fridge in our room which was really handy plus we had access to a microwave to heat my little ones food. The playroom was a very welcome bonus. All in all I would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lkyeremeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2012

Never been to Torquay before, but we picked this hotel on strength of positive reviews, so glad we did. Service and facilities were better than found in most larger hotels we had stayed in, also a lot cleaner and fresher too. The welcome tray was so well stocked we thought we were in a cafe. Room we had was good in size, clean, and bed comfy. On arrival was a minty choccy for each of us in room positioned on top of the towels on corner of bed - nice touch. Breakfast was excellent all round served by friendly staff and sometimes by the owner himself who is a walking tour guide for surrounding areas to visit, and how to get there. Adam the owner would spend breakfast times chatting to guests, all descending into friendly banter about the previous days visits around Torbay etc.
Location is fine for seafront, restaurant areas, and harbour, just a short walk gets you there.
Number 12 bus passes door to get you to Paignton and Brixham.
Car park has space for everyone when hotel is full. That's it really, no dislikes.
Will book Hotel Cimon when we visit Torquay again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stuart k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2012

We stayed two nights with our boys aged 10 and 7. Had a family room which were two adjoining rooms with an on suite each. Very clean and spacious. Kettle in the room with tea coffee and hot choc which the boys enjoyed in the evening. We used the pool twice which was excellent. The hotel is of good quality ie decor, towels, v good breakfast with a selection fruit, cereals followed by an English breakfast or a selection of your choice. Hospitality was excellent with nothing being too much trouble. The only area that could be improved is the owners chess skills ;-)

Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
Thank Pads57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2012

went for one night here as we could not get the other hotel we booked for our first night in torquay,the owner was really nice ,gave us a superior room instead of the double room we payed for as it was empty,thanks very much,really appreciated,lovely hotel with pool.breakfast was lovely,staff very nice and helpfull,would use again ,good area near beach,

Room Tip: all rooms are nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Irene C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2012

My granddaughter and I had a very warm welcome from Adam & Anita on our arrival in early August 2012. Our double room & en suite was nice and clean and the bed was very comfortable. We had all we needed there. Access to and from the hotel was easy as we were given a key and there were no restrictions on times during our stay. The pool was an added bonus for us. The breakfasts were fantastic with very generous portions and Adam, Anita and their staff bent over backwards to ensure everything was prepared as we liked it. They all advised us about the main attractions the area has to offer and told us about the various trips we could take by boat and steam train. Kiera and I had a wonderful time in the 4 days we were there. Thank you also for doing our washing on our last night, it was a godsend, and you refused to charge us for it, which was so kind of you... And Anita, you are such a good cook, if you were to ever venture into doing evening meals, I think we would take you up on them rather than eating out all the time the next time we visit. We would recommend this very friendly hotel to anyone. Sarah & Kiera, The Mendips, Somerset

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2012

we stayed there for 4 nights and really liked that place. The room was a large family with two bathrooms, all very clean and nice. Anita and Adam and all the staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was very good - with fresh fruit and a large choice. Would like to come back.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sibylle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.8 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#23 of 86 in Torquay
3,017 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#32 of 86 in Torquay
2,466 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#19 of 86 in Torquay
1,151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Headland Hotel
The Headland Hotel
#11 of 86 in Torquay
897 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Meadfoot Bay
The Meadfoot Bay
#5 of 86 in Torquay
509 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lincombe Hall Hotel
Lincombe Hall Hotel
#10 of 86 in Torquay
655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cimon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cimon

Address: 82 Abbey Road, Torquay TQ2 5NP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Torquay
#9 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
#11 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range: £65 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cimon 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a 5 minute walk from the beach, town centre and Riviera conference facility, this beautiful Victorian guest house has an outdoor heated swimming pool, free car park (space guaranteed!), free WiFi throughout, and a residents licensed bar with free pool table. We have a reputation for our fantastic breakfasts! Family rooms, sea views and superior rooms available. Children of all ages are welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Cimon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cimon Hotel Torquay
The Cimon Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing