We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great family friendly hotel”
Review of The Cimon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Cimon
Ranked #15 of 86 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 September 2012

We had a great time at the Hotel Cimon. We arrived before check in time and the manager was happy for us to leave our bags he then gave us a map and some good suggestions for things to do around Torquay. In the evening the children enjoyed playing with the toys in the play room and my son loved learning how to play chess from the manager (Adam). The breakfast was great with lots of choice. The swimming pool is a good size for adults and children and their are lots of floats and toys to use.
They are clearly very keen to attract the family market and I would highly recommend them. We will definitely return.
They even returned a toy we left behind in the post for us - great service.
Lovely friendly place.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kamapalash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (408)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

370 - 376 of 408 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2012

We had a three night stay over the August bank holiday weekend. The owner, Adam, greeted us warmly on our arrival and we were made to feel very welcome throughout our stay. The room was overlooking the sea and had everything we needed with ample supplies of tea and coffee provided each day. The hotel was spotlessly clean throughout. We spent some time each day in the very pleasant bar area, where Adam was usually around to chat and answer all our queries about the area. Breakfast, each morning, was excellent, everything being of good quality and fresh. The location is ideal, just a short walk from Torquay town centre and seafront. I would like to thank Adam & Anita for looking after us and would recommend Hotel Cimon wholeheartedly.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pete W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2012

but for a four star hotel we expected the beds to be comfortable and the bathroom to be updated and in good working order. The room was very small, difficult to get our two large suitcases and one small carry on into the room and stored. The shower fluctuated between cold and scalding. We mentioned this to Adam in the morning. Other than that you can't fault the enthusiastic and friendly service from Adam & Anita or the great breakfast. The bar area is comfortable, as is the lounge. If the bed was comfortable and the shower in good working order the cramped room would be acceptable.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mastertravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam B, Owner at The Cimon, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2012

Thank you for your review.

We aren't a 4* Hotel, we are a 4* Guest House - I have asked Tripadvisor to update our name from "Hotel Cimon" to "The Cimon" to avoid confusion, and all of the other site where we appear, but these things take time (we have only been here for 4 months).

We have 14 rooms, of which 3 are described as "compact", including the one you booked. On our website it is described as "a compact double room with ensuite. Ideal for short breaks or single occupancy", which we believe is accurate and reflected in the price.

All of our showers are electric, I will have someone check it out on Monday - it was fine when I checked it though. The mattresses are quite new and no one else has complained about the sleep quality.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2012

We spent a couple of nights here and can highly recommend this hotel. Adam & Anita were fantastic hosts with great friendly staff who took time to see to your every need. Cracking breakfasts too :) Couldn't have asked for service and will no doubt use them again & again. OH i almost forgot... Thatchers cider @ 2.50 a pint!! wahooo :)

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jambo244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2012

We stayed at the Cimon for 4 nights in August as a family of 3 (2 adults and 1 child)
The overall cost seems high for this accommodation and we expected more so we can only assume its higher than the norm due to the fact they have an outdoor pool.

Bad points:The Cimon is called a Hotel but it is really a B&B. The main problem was the size of the room. It was far too small for a family of 3 and there is a mismatch of furnishings and decoration which, whilst clean, it needs modernising. An example is we were unable to open the tiny wardrobe without hitting the doors on the headboard of the childs bed so had to maneuver yourself every time you accessed the wardrobe. There was little room to move around inside the room and it just felt like we had been crushed into too small a space. All rooms we saw appeared to be the same. We did not spend a lot of time in our room as a result of having little space. The accommodation was full while we were there otherwise we would have asked for a different room.

Good Points: The owners Adam and his wife were friendly and obliging. Adam was helpful and knowledgeable about the area. Adam and his wife were often in the bar area during the evenings talking to guests making them feel welcome. The Olympics were on during our stay and they were shown on the TV each night.
The breakfast was very good with a good selection of fresh foods available and the restaurant area was light, clean and modern. All staff were very helpful and attentive.
The outdoor pool was very nice except it's not worth paying the extra that this accommodation charges for it as the weather in the UK is so hit and miss you may never get to use it.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lene38_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam B, Owner at The Cimon, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2012

Many thanks for your comments, we're pleased you enjoyed your stay.

The junior family rooms are perfectly suited to small families (as we make clear on our website), however we accept they can be a little snug when families arrive with older children; we always make this clear at the time of booking.

We have larger family rooms for older children, however these generally get booked up very early, hence our decision to offer the junior family rooms in what are usually just superior double rooms.

Whilst it's true that some of our rooms are quite small, we are honest about this in the room descriptions ("compact doubles" for example), and most of our rooms have plenty of space.

We believe we represent excellent value for money, we are cheaper than a lot of far smaller hotels that lack many of our facilities, and I regularly check our prices against our competitors to ensure this is always the case.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2012

I would highly recommend this hotel to everyone. We had 3 days, 2 nights here, and had such a wonderful time. Clean rooms with great views. The staff are so helpful nothing was too much for them. We spend 2 lovely evenings in the pool and then in the hotel bar. The whole atmosphere is friendly, homely and relaxing. Oh and i must not forget to mention the breakfast, wow, it is amazing, so much to choose from and lots of it , just the right way to start you day. Thanks everyone for making our stay so great, we will definitely be returning, maybe with the grand kids too :)

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vanessa m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2012

My wife and I spent the August bank holiday at the Cimon. We arrived a little early and were met by the owner (Adam) who explained that our rooms were not quite ready. He showed us around, offered us the use of the pool and provided a map of the town with some helpful advice about the area. We decided to have a wander to the harbour which is about a 10 min walk.
When we got back we were shown to our room which was very clean and well laid out with nice big fluffy towels, tea and coffee, big TV, even a fridge!
Unpacked and down to the bar for a "magic" Guinness - you REALLY must try ones of these!
Breakfast was a triumph, fresh fruit, cereal, breads, yogurts followed by an excellent full english with fresh ingredients - great mushrooms!
The staff are all very cheerful and nothing is to much trouble.
If you want a stay in Torquay at a Hotel that takes service and quality very serioulsy - book here, you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: The larger rooms have bigger TV's and fridges if that is important to you. Smaller rooms are fan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kevin c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.8 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#23 of 86 in Torquay
3,017 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#32 of 86 in Torquay
2,466 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#19 of 86 in Torquay
1,152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Headland Hotel
The Headland Hotel
#11 of 86 in Torquay
896 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Meadfoot Bay
The Meadfoot Bay
#5 of 86 in Torquay
509 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lincombe Hall Hotel
Lincombe Hall Hotel
#10 of 86 in Torquay
655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cimon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cimon

Address: 82 Abbey Road, Torquay TQ2 5NP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Torquay
#9 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
#11 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range: £65 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cimon 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a 5 minute walk from the beach, town centre and Riviera conference facility, this beautiful Victorian guest house has an outdoor heated swimming pool, free car park (space guaranteed!), free WiFi throughout, and a residents licensed bar with free pool table. We have a reputation for our fantastic breakfasts! Family rooms, sea views and superior rooms available. Children of all ages are welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Cimon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cimon Hotel Torquay
The Cimon Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing