We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lovely stay at the Cimon” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Cimon

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The Cimon
Ranked #15 of 89 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Ipswich, United Kingdom
1 review
“lovely stay at the Cimon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2013

We booked a family room mid May for 3 nights. Just two of us the first night, with a daughter joining us for the remainder of the stay. We were allocated room 5, ground floor.
From the warm welcome on arrival to the moment we left, this was a very enjoyable stay.
the room was very comfortable and spacious, the service was perfectly pitched - friendly, attentive and efficient.
We had great advice from the hosts about places to eat locally, with a knockout breakfast that was prepared to order . We didn't try the pool or sun terrace as it was cold weather, but they looked very inviting nonetheless. The Cimon was really good value for money, and we hope to stay here next time we're in the area.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam B, Owner at The Cimon, responded to this review, 23 May 2013
Thanks for your review, sorry you didn't get to use the pool though! It's very popular at the moment! See you again I hope (better prices if you book direct next time!).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    298
    74
    11
    4
    2
See reviews for
87
193
6
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2013

My husband and I have just come home from a lovely weekend stay at the cimon, The owners Adam and Anita was very helpful and made us feel very welcome, we will definately stay there again. The room was very nice, they upgraded us to a sea view room. We would definately recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracey T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam B, Owner at The Cimon, responded to this review, 23 May 2013
Thanks for the review, I hope you bring your children with you next time! Remember to ring or come to us directly for best prices and availability though!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alfreton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2013

Had a weeks' holiday from the 4th May this year. Went with our son and 3 year old granddaughter. Made very welcome by Adam and Anita and nothing was too much trouble. The breakfast was very good and plentiful with the cooked breakfast and side buffet. They even moved us to a larger room as our granddaughter was spending a lot of time with us and Anita said we may like more space which was very nice. Little Amelia settled in quickly and was always made to feel welcome.
We would recommend this hotel to anyone wishing to stay in Torquay and hopefully we will be returning next year.

Room Tip: Upper floors have very good sea views from the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam B, Owner at The Cimon, responded to this review, 23 May 2013
Thanks for the lovely review, we really enjoyed your company - especially little Amelia, she was great fun! See you again I hope. All the best, Adam.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2013

We stayed at The Cimon at the beginning of May 2013, for three nights, and found the Guest House and its hosts very welcoming and friendly.

The breakfast is cooked to order by the talented chef and is exceptionally good.

The view from the Room with a Sea View – outstanding.

With our troubled backs we are always wary of travel and sleeping in strange beds, but we found the bed at The Cimon to be firm and comfortable, and with good quality, crisp linen; we slept well.

Big, white, fluffy towels add a touch of luxury to the bathroom which has no bath but a small shower only, and, which is a bit cramped.

Altogether, we had a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam B, Owner at The Cimon, responded to this review, 23 May 2013
Thanks for the great review - the "talented chef" is Anita, she does her best to make sure people are well fed! See you again I hope.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2013

Stayed at the Cimon on 28.04.2013 for three days and two nights.
The owner was very sociable, attentive and welcoming.
Rooms were a very nice, good sized and clean.

Very good breakfast a selection of full English, fruit, cereal, yoghurt and bread.

Overall very nice stay, would definitely recommend hotel Cimon, close to the main town centre, nice restaurants and sea peer.

Would most certainly return there if ever in Torquay again.

Genuinely recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jade W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2013

Just returned on Friday after 3 nights at Cimon, we were there in December last year and decided to pay return visit. Enjoyed even better than last year as weather was perfect and pool, which was warm, was open, so made the most of it!. Couldn't fault anything, Food, Rooms, and bar all first rate, would recommend to anyone, Adam even helped me with computer, nothing to much trouble, will definitely return later this year. Jeff and Nokki.

Room Tip: Have stayed in 2 different types of room, both had sea views and both excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GeoffreyGoodwin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam B, Owner at The Cimon, responded to this review, 10 May 2013
Thanks Jeff - it was nice to see you again, good luck with your new season in Blackpool.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chard, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2013

we stayed in a compact room which was perfect for our stay - some where to put our head down after a night at the theatre. Clean, tidy, proper hangers in the wardrobe, nice selection on the tea tray and a very good night sleep. friendly staff and owner kept bar open for us and chatted while we had a night cap. lovey breakfast and will definitely stay there again when visiting the area.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank karen c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.9 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#23 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,532 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay
1.2 mi away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#29 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Torquay Hotel
0.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#36 of 89 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,170 reviews
0.3 mi away
Abbeyfield Hotel
Abbeyfield Hotel
#5 of 89 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cimon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cimon

Property: The Cimon
Address: 82 Abbey Road, Torquay TQ2 5NP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Torquay
#10 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
#12 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cimon 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a 5 minute walk from the beach, town centre and Riviera conference facility, this beautiful Victorian guest house has an outdoor heated swimming pool, free car park (space guaranteed!), free WiFi throughout, and a residents licensed bar with free pool table. We have a reputation for our fantastic breakfasts! Family rooms, sea views and superior rooms available. Children of all ages are welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Cimon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cimon Hotel Torquay
The Cimon Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing