We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You,re welcome”
Review of The Cimon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Cimon
Ranked #15 of 85 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We stayed three days and had a great stay.The room was clean and comfortable and the full English Breakfast was excellent.Adam was very helpful and made reservations for us at good restaurants.No problems....well recommended.
Terry &Vera

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IRISHNDAME
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam B, Owner at The Cimon, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2013

Thanks for your review. It's always a relief when people like the restaurants I recommend!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (416)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

232 - 238 of 416 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2013

This is a story of firsts. I have never left a review for any hotel. So it's fitting that my first review will be very easy indeed.

There is a genuine and very warm welcome waiting for guests at this hotel. Unlike some other hotels who a very happy to get them in, fed and out by the a fixed time all accompanied by a fake grin, there is none of this impersonal stuff at the Cimon . You see, Adam cares about each and every one of his guests as he's just a decent bloke who really wants you to enjoy your stay in whatever way takes your fancy. So there's no hint of the corporate meet and greet routine of other hotels. In fact Adam doesn't have to try too hard to make you feel at home as it all comes naturally.

The hotel is centrally located for the myriad of things Torquay has to offer and it is also well placed as a base for trips further afield.

Rooms are clean and tidy and surprisingly have all of the mod cons available at much larger, well established hotel chains. The en suite bathroom in our room was a tad small but it was more than sufficient for our needs. Let's be honest if the main reason for your trip is to stay in a bathroom then perhaps you need to think about what there is to do on the other side of the door. Step away from from the bathroom. There's a whole world of wonder out there beyond the soap and the shower gel.

Breakfasts are excellent. Perhaps I could only have improved my enjoyment of these had I remembered to bring my auxiliary stomach.

Our son found the heated pool more attractive than a moth does an electric light.

So what was negative about this trip?

5 nights wasn't long enough. And this is first for me!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Billy k K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam B, Owner at The Cimon, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2013

Wow, thanks for all that! It's nice to know our efforts are welcome, reviews like this really help to keep us motivated :)

See you again I hope! Please book direct in future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

the cimon hotel was quite and peacefull,clean rooms good breakfast,heated pool nice little bar and lounge,you got a warm welcome from adam and a little tour of the hotel,i must say all the staff were good,its quite central to all the sights and sea,buses trains and local towns, will be back.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jamesthewedge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam B, Owner at The Cimon, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2013

Thank you for the kind review, it's a shame you couldn't stay longer. I hope to see you again - please book direct though for the best rates and availability!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

I was in Torquay for a wedding and stayed at the Cimon Fri-Sun.

The key points:
- great value for money
- the owners are very helpful and make a difference
- staff very nice also
- good breakfast
- wifi worked 100%

Overall nice atmosphere, and the location is convenient, e.g. coming from Torquay station.

You can get here from Exeter airport for slightly less than GBP40 using Torbay Taxis - do ask the Cimon for details.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nanyangSIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam B, Owner at The Cimon, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2013

Thanks for the nice review Okko, I hope you made it back ok. I hope you enjoy work while the boss is on his honeymoon :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

We stayed for two days and couldn't find any fault. On the first night we had problem with the shower Adam sorted it straight away nothing was too much trouble, Adam also told us the best places to eat and drink and had a lovely meal.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank denisethomas60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam B, Owner at The Cimon, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2013

Thanks for the nice review. I'm pleased you reported the problem with the shower, I always do my best to fix any problems straight away! I'm getting quite useful at DIY after a year and half here - much to Anita's amazement :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

We've just got back from a 2 night stay and what a fantastic experience it was! A warm welcome from Adam on arrival who took us on a quick tour of the facilities before showing us to our room. The room was clean and comfortable with great sea views. The breakfast was good with a variety of options to suit all. It was nice to come back to the swimming pool, which provided a welcome relief after exploring the area during the day. We found all the staff to be caring and helpful and would go the extra mile to make the stay one to remember.

We like the English Riviera and visit a few times a year, The Cimon will be the first place we look to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam B, Owner at The Cimon, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2013

Thanks for the kind review, I'm pleased you enjoyed yourselves. Thanks for booking direct as well, it's much appreciated! See you soon I hope!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Booked this hotel based on the great reviews on here and am really pleased we stayed at Hotel Cimon. Everything was nice about the hotel. Clean room, tasty breakfast and nothing was too much trouble for the staff. Also thought the facilities were a nice touch including the Chinese puzzle. Hope to solve that next time! ! Brill holiday, brill weather. Thank you

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brit1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam B, Owner at The Cimon, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2013

Thanks for the kind review. The Chinese puzzle will still be here next time, unless another guest gets too frustrated with it and throws it into the bay!

By the way it's The Cimon - we class ourselves as a 4* Guest House, we aren't a 4* hotel (if only...). Just in case anyone gets unrealistic expectations!

See you again I hope - I'll try to arrange nice weather again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.8 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#22 of 85 in Torquay
3,189 reviews
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Torquay Hotel
0.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#29 of 85 in Torquay
2,548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Belgrave Sands Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
John Burton-Race Restaurant & Rooms
1.1 mi away
The Headland Hotel
The Headland Hotel
#12 of 85 in Torquay
937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cimon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cimon

Address: 82 Abbey Road, Torquay TQ2 5NP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Torquay
#9 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
#11 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range: £63 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cimon 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a 5 minute walk from the beach, town centre and Riviera conference facility, this beautiful Victorian guest house has an outdoor heated swimming pool, free car park (space guaranteed!), free WiFi throughout, and a residents licensed bar with free pool table. We have a reputation for our fantastic breakfasts! Family rooms, sea views and superior rooms available. Children of all ages are welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Cimon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cimon Hotel Torquay
The Cimon Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing